We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Courthouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochmaddy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Courthouse
Save
You added The Old Courthouse to your Saves list
Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Lochmaddy B&B and Inns
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms and guesthouse damp n musty.needs fresh air and redecorated.stayed 2 nights and breakfast on both mornings was cold or chewy.should never be priced at £35.flies in rooms tea n coffee making facilities were poor.i wouldn't waste your money I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was warmly welcomed by Mr & Mrs Johnson and spent two comfortable nights here and slept really well. There was a huge choice for breakfast and it was terrific. When I asked if I could have an early breakfast on the second morning, they were very obliging and said that would be fine. Mr Johnson has an interesting background and is an entertaining raconteur. Enjoyed my stay here with these nice people in their friendly home.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrived after a 40 mile cycle into 30 mph headwinds, and the warm and helpful welcome from Mr Johnston, with a cup of tea and biscuits was just what was needed. I really liked the traditional building and lovely Ercol furniture. The bed was the comfiest of our trip so far, and most welcome after a day in the saddle. Great breakfast to set us up for the day ahead, enjoyed the homemade jam. Perfect B&B for us, would certainly come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Given the earlier reviews we were worried about what we'd find, but we'd needn't have worried. There were 5 of us cycling and the welcome and care from Mr and Mrs Johnson was first class. The place has an old charm and it is quite traditional, but none the worse for that. Everyone thought it was great and would happily go back. Our only complaint was we couldn't linger over breakfast as we had a ferry to catch and a stiff wind to pedal into.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although it was a while ago we stayed her just discovered on trip advisor and though only fair to warn any poor unsuspecting travellers to avoid this place at all costs! Owner was extremely rude and did not even acknowledge us on arrival - we were kept waiting whilst he chatted to a man who had apparently gone to same private school. We were kept waiting at the door soaking wet having cycled all day in the rain. Room very depressing and heating was off. Owners should have given up a long grime ago as obviously not intereted any longer in their business and just going through the motions. The experience was one of the things that put us off travelling through the Hebrides again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lochmaddy hotels

Barrow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having seen one the previous reviews I was a bit concerned but didn't need to be. Maybe the decor was a bit dark on entry but the bedrooms were fine, clean and crisp clean sheets. Breakfast choice from the menu with plenty of toast and homemade jam and marmalade. Would return if in the area again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

A comfortable room in a good location with a tailor made breakfast, including smoked haddock and kippers caught by local fishermen. We were also impressed by the homemade jam and marmalade!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse

Address: Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist > Lochmaddy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lochmaddy
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.