We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Steiner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Steiner to your Saves list
Hotel Steiner
Roemerstrasse 45, Obertauern 5562, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Obertauern
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel Steiner for one week, travelling as a couple both interested in skiing and chilling out in the evenings. Staff were extremely professional, the bedroom was nicely decorated and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely- underfloor heating and great shower, no bath. The food was very good with lots of choice, fresh food always and a wonderful lady making ometlettes and eggs cooked to order every morning.
The ski room is great with plenty of space for all our gear, we rented from gloria rental and did not have to drop skis back when we were leaving as they collect them. The snow was wonderful when we were there and we had 4 sunny days, some of the lifts are covered and one even had heated seats (things have moved on since i was skiing last!) .you literally just have to cross the road to get on the slopes from the hotel.
We did not have children with us but it looked like a very child friendly place. The pool, suana area is big and always clean.
In summary, it was a great holiday and the choice of hotel was a huge part of that.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
55
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been there the 5th time for skiing holloday at Obertauern. Family Steiner an theyr employee are all frindly, helpfully and attentively in most dimensions. This winter, they have changed the breakfast and lunch time in an ALL INCLUSIVE buffet time. So you can take a little rest between the skiing an have some fine lunch in the Hotel without ski shoes. The kitchen is also highest Hospitality. Also vegetarian can enjoy the wunderfull dinner. We went there with our three kids, but we saw many couples, wich enjoy the silent in the restaurant and also in the Spa. Family Steiner, made an extra Family Sauna, so relaxation is given in the wunderfull and very clean Spa Area. We would like to congratulate Andrea and Thomas Steiner to the tastefully hight Nivou Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rungsted, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Steiner in Obertauern this year for skiing. The location is good, and the facilities fine for this four star hotel, which obviously sport welness, spa, pool and what have you ...if you need it. The "hardware" was fine ... maybe except the wifi, that although free .... did not have good reach and capacity, and the codes had to be entered each and every time a device was to access the wifi. The biggest dissapointment was the service level in the resturant at dinner. This is a "breakfast and dinner included" hotel, so it is not obvious to go to another restaurant. Maybe that is the reason for the complacancy. The staff is very young ... and forget orders, forget taking orders from the childrens table .... and has to be reminded all the time. Also the owner seems complacant. He is around walking the floor and greeting the guests when he is not at his family table eating. Last night the service was really poor and we addressed him to have a chat. He responded "gleich" (soon) ... 24 hours later he had still not approached us. This will not be a repeat for us. The skiing was generally good, very good snow, but the resort is small. The high difference is not great, and the length of the runs is generally poor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Panorama suite which is fine for a family of 4. The main bedroom is parted from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South West
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Recently visited this excellent hotel for a 7 night skiing holiday. Firstly the location of the hotel is excellent, just off the main centre of Obertauren and across the road from a piste down to the main lift system accessing the runs to the whole resort area making the hotel an ideal ski in and out choice. The public rooms are tastefully decorated in a classic Tyrolean style with an excellent pool and spa area and a ski locker room of the highest quality with individual allocated room lockers. The bar area is very pleasant as it the restaurant. The service throughout the hotel was attentive, especially Susie & Anna in the restaurant who were always cheerful and helpful. The choice at breakfast was excellent with something for every taste and the evening dinner menu quite frankly was of a standard you would find in a top restaurant and to be able to serve the large numbers in our group with the consistent quality achieved is no mean feat! Our room was spacious with everything needed for a restful stay, the en-suite facilities were also modern and of good quality. One very nice touch was the owner of the hotel, Thomas Steiner, welcomed us all on arrival and was very accessible each day if there had been any problems or comments to make, not many hotel owners put themselves in the firing line like this and was very reassuring. Overall, an excellent choice and would not hesitate in the slightest to stay at this excellent hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The double aspect rooms are very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to the Steiner Hotel in Obertauern. The service and attention to detail here is second to none. The new Food times mean that you don't have to eat in any other place. The food is delicious and varied. The rooms are spotless and the amenities for relaxation great. A lovely pool plus Saunas and massage treatments. Easy access to the ski runs and returning. Great hotel, go and visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but higher rooms get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Notts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This ski in - ski out hotel is excellently appointed and eminently suitable for both large and small groups. The quality of service, supported by Herr Steiner's personal welcome, was excellent - as was the food in the spacious restaurant - where one evening the meal was a seven course tasting menu to rival many highly rated venues in the UK. The room we had was clean and serviced very well every day. The boot room is one of the best I have experienced in 20+ years of visiting the Alps. Difficult to find any fault at all. I only hope that a smoking ban in public areas becomes law soon.

Room Tip: Try for a double aspect room looking down and away from the village centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Steiner provided a lovely comfortable base to stay while skiing in Obertauren.
Our room, top floor, rear view, was massive & spotlessly clean. We were glad not to have paid extra for a front facing room, since our view was nice enough anyway, & most of the week it was white out conditions.Although next to the lift, we experienced no disturbance.
Reception staff friendly, welcoming, & helpful with any queries.
Public areas nice.
Location - Cross the quiet road & a 2 min easy climb puts you on the piste.Returning the same way can be tricky to locate in poor visibility & novice skiers may not find it easy. An option involving a short walk could be taken instead.
Ski locker room lovely with boot & jacket warmers. If concerned about security, take a padlock with you. Staff worked hard to keep the area clean & dry.
Swimming pool- unfortunately always busy in the evenings with a lot of children. The hotel does provide an excellent child friendly environment, so is going to be a popular family choice.
Spa area-nice with all the usual saunas & steam rooms. Quite busy at times.
Food is now full board.
Breakfast-All you could wish for although service could be slow for coffee.
Lunch is buffet style in the bar area. A very nice touch & it only takes moments to leave your stuff in the ski store.A soup of the day is always available, along with hot dishes kept in warmers, salads, fruit & cakes.
Afternoon tea- the waistline suffers! Sometimes, though, a bit irritating as keen skiers to return at the end of the day to empty bowls & serving plates which had been raided by those returning earlier. This to be fair, is a problem we have often encountered & we never went without, we just didn't have much choice.
Dinner-Lots of small courses soon add up to make you full.
Fairly average Austrian hotel style menu, although it seemed strange there was no weekly gala night.
Bottles of wine are quite marked up, starting at around 21 Euro & no caraffes of house wine are available, so we tended to drink beer with our meal at 4.10 Euro. Tap water, though, is not charged for which we have experienced in other hotels.
Service in the early part of the week was excellent, but towards the end of the week, it became chaotic & no-one seemed to be individually allocated to our area which resulted in confusion & delays.
Skiing here is lovely- what we could see of it! A free trip included on your lift pass, on the bus from outside the bank, to the area of Grosseck Speireck is highly recommended. it only takes about 20 minutes. The pistes are all very quiet & the skiing fairly easy compared to Obertauren. Its good to have a day resting your legs from the moguls of Obertauren. A couple of the long pistes from top to bottom are very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Steiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steiner

Address: Roemerstrasse 45, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Obertauern
#2 Spa Hotel in Obertauern
#2 Best Value Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Steiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steiner Hotel Obertauern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Steiner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.