We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller Than My Dorm Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City to your Saves list
Hotel City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 3, Villach 9500, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Villach
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Smaller Than My Dorm Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Hotel City is across from the bus stop and train station. If your room faces the street you can rule out getting a good night's sleep. It was hot, but because the street was so noisy, we had to close the windows to try and get some sleep. The room was very small, really just enough room for a twin bed. The carpeting did not smell clean. They squeezed a fold out bed in there to charge us for a double. They had no other rooms available and since there was a festival in town, we had no other hotels to choose from. The only positive comment I can make about the hotel was that the breakfast buffet was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Hotel City guest "justgotravel": Thank you for your comments. We are very very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay for 100%. The time you were here the largest event in Austria was taking place in Villach, as you already wrote. Maybe the next time you come to Villach please inform us before that you would like to have a double room. We now have renovated all rooms - new carpets, soundproof windows, some bigger rooms, tea-coffee-set, LCD-full HD-flatscreen-TVs with 80 channels - radio and TV. Even our breakfast buffet changed and grew - with fresh, regional and seasonal food. We hope that we can welcome you soon in our Hotel City in Villach again and we will do our best to satisfy your individual convenience. Best regards and have a nice time, Karin Strickner and the Hotel City team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
17
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We got stuck by train and had to stay here. The man at the counter was unfriendly, rude and very unhelpful. For being one block from the train station he couldn't even tell us when the ticket booth opened. He just kept saying this was no 1 star hotel, but a 4 star hotel should help you find out the local information you need.
Room was dirty. 1-2 bad tv channels. No A/C. Rude rude rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Mr and family Beachy: your assessment really shocked us! Unbelievable what happened to you in the year 2003 in Hotel City. This is not accuseable and definitely NOT how a guest should be treated in a hotel.
What we found out is that the staff who was working in this period was an alcohol addict. We didn't know. Earlier he has been working for us - then he left for two years - and when he came back he already had this disease. When we found it out he was fired immediately. We are very, very sorry about what happened - thank you for confirming what we were suspecting then - unfortunately too late. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused. If you could let us know if your address is still the same we can send you a surprise overseas. Just to excuse your bad experience here in Villach.
By the way - we now have some rooms with air condition as well, flat-screen-TVs everywhere with 80 TV- and radio-channels and everything has been renewed.
Maybe, Mr Beachy, you could give us a chance to prove the opposite of our hospitality and come and visit us again.
We are very, very sorry Mr. Beachy and wish you all the best! Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2003

My family of four and my father,sister and brother in law stayed at the city hotel.villach.Austria. for 7 days during October 2003. We occupied 3 bedrooms during our stay. All of our rooms were warm,modern and very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was served from 06.30 - 10.00 am A very good selection at breakfast,both hot and cold buffet. All of the staff were very friendly. Villach is a good base to tour southern Austria. The beautifull county of Carinthia. We had several days of warm sunshine and 2 days of snow. We recomend the City Hotel.Villach

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Hotel City guest, thank you so much for your assessment. We really appreciate the time you spent to write about your stay. Our breakfast buffet for example is still "growing". We serve now seasonal and regional products, some directly from the farmers, really loveable. The next time you will stay in Villach we will make sure that everything is enjoyable, clean, warm and welcome again - just as you are/were used to it. There are so many new things in our Hotel City - just as a panoramic lift, a video-controlled garage, new carpets, walls and rooms. Even the breakfast room is new and bigger now. LCD-Full HD flat screen TVs and tea/coffee-sets are in all rooms. We hope that we can welcome you soon here in Villach - Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2003

I have stayed at Hotel City on 3 visits to Villach. The hotel management and staff are warm and superb. The location of the hotel, next to the rail station and a few blocks from the city center can't be beat. Parking is adjacent and ample.The rooms are quiet and exceptionally clean and modern. The feather beds were so comfortable I wanted to buy one! The included breakfast buffet was spectacular and service by a smiling woman made it very pleasant indeed. My family will always stay there when we come to Villach, and they remember you and treat you as a VIP.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Georgia - thank you thank you thank you! For your assessment, your nice words and the time you spent on writing these. We still remember you - although it took a bit of time to answer here - as a warm and lovely woman / family and we miss you so much, really! Hope you are all doing well, business good, family healthy and growing overseas. In our Hotel City so many things have changed since your last stay - our video-monitored garage, a panoramic lift, renovated rooms, walls, bathrooms and floors, room equipment...You would be surprised! Even the breakfast room changed and the wide range of food on the buffet grew as well - maybe you will find some time to come over to Villach again - we are waiting for you and your family and hoping that we can welcome you very soon in our Hotel City again. Wishing you a nice time, yours, Karin (Strickner) and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Bahnhofplatz 3, Villach 9500, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel City offers:*central and quiet location in the middle of Villach*close to bus and train stations, and autobahn exits*free PARKING right in front of the hotel (based on availability)*ground-level GARAGE at the hotel with security cameras*our BREAKFAST BUFFET will delight you with its freshness, regional specialties, selection, and organic and dietary products *free high-speed Internet (WLAN ) throughout the hotel*special offers for cyclists, bikers, culture buffs, groups, and sportsmen*seminar rooms with complete technology and positive working environment SAUNA – small, personal, exquisite LCD-FULL HD-Flatscreen-TV Access for USB Stick and Laptop, interface HDMI KANGEN WATER - Regenerate your body! alkaline balancing - delicious! The best for our guests! E-Bikes and helmet for rent (in summertime) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Villach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.