We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Loretto Restaurant

Maria Loretto Restaurant
Lorettoweg 54, Klagenfurt 9020, Austria
+43 463 24465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 124 Restaurants in Klagenfurt
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Minehead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After a lovely walk alongside the canal we found this place by accident and very glad that we did. Apart from sitting in the (warm) sunshine overlooking the Werthersee and feeling like we were in heaven, the service was warm and friendly. The food was very good, we only had a snack but it was beautifully presented and served. By British standards it wasn't cheap but the quality was very good indeed. Would go back for the breathtaking views alone !!! Recommended !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great seafood and great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I strongly recommends the fish platter, with 5 types of fish, mussels and king prawn. Fish were fresh, tasty and well cooked. Cost 100euros for two adults and one children but its surely worth for the quality of the food.

Great view of the lake, guarantee an enjoyable lunch / dinner. Altough I found the service can be improved.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Class Dinner and wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My aunt - who is from Klagenfurt - told me about how wonderful the restaurant Maria Loretto is so I took my partner there for a romantic dinner for two.... Woowww - it is truly spectacular.... we were greeted by a very helpful waitress - who was very enthusiastic and happy to explain about the food...The interior is like a beautiful Italian style villa, very elegant but not at all stuffy... and the staff are great ....... Before our starter - we received a "Gruess aus der Kueche" literally a greeting from the kitchen, which was a pre-starter. The meal was absolutely without question the best I have ever had....and everything was lovingly prepared, and the portions more than adequate. The waitress never hovered but not once was a wine glass allowed to become empty and the staff were very attentive but again - without being a distraction.
My Tafel Spitz was outstanding and very much recommended. My lemon sorbet dessert was equally good. The wine list is extensive and many very good Austrian wines from Burgenland and Lower Austria and Steiermark.
I can't wait to go back again...
Not cheap - but worth very Euro as a special treat

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Location and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Title says it all really! The views over the Worthersee are stunning. We shared a beef carpaccio and then Maria Loretto fish platter. Food was very good and value for money. Long leisurely lunch which would be difficult to beat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, gorgeous views of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

They serve trout from their lake! And herbs from their garden! Lovely place. The only problem was strong wind on the upper deck in the evening.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Loretto Restaurant also viewed

Klagenfurt, Carinthia
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 

Been to Maria Loretto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Loretto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.