We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good option in the centre of graz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eckstein

Eckstein
Mehlplatz3, Graz 8010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 458 Restaurants in Graz
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good option in the centre of graz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the location is phantastic - just in the centre of the medival 1st district of graz.
the menu offers a mixture of austrian and mediterranean dishes.the wine list is focused on austria wines. the service is pretty good. compared with the restaurant price leel in graz in general, eckstein is on the high end. however, it is a safe choice if you come with customers like i did several times.
Make sure to reserve in advance if you plan to come for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    56
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent contemporary eats in Graz' old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Eckstein is situated at Mehlplatz in the old part of Graz, and also in the area known locally as The Bermuda Triangle (because so many spouses go missing there, it is the nightlife centre of Graz.)
We booked in on a Sunday evening at 19:30; the restaurant was half- full but by 20:00 all the tables were full. In between we saw them turning away people so it must have been booked- out. Very few restaurants in or around Graz are open on Sundays. There is a bar (smoking) and the seating areas are nicely partitioned to give a warm feeling. If your table is near to the bar, you will get smoke, so if that is an issue for you, ask for a table in the "upper" (one step difference) area and at or close to the window.
The food was superb. Super- fresh salads, excellent soups, and the mains were great. Saibling (a white, fresh- water fish) was perfectly cooked. Two of our party had Steak Tartare and loved it. I had the filet tips stir- fried in a wok with pasta and razor- thin sliced veggies. I've only had beef that tender outside of Japan a handful of times. All the beef is "almo" which means Alm-Ox (an Alm is a high meadow where the animals are taken for the summer) and it's all bio (organic) and mostly local. Anyway, the dish was very tasty, I will definitely order it agin next chance.
The wine list was extensive, but I didn't get past the first page - there were a large number of local wines, all VERY reasonably priced. 22EUR for a very good local white and 26EUR for a super cuvee. My spouse got started with a local Moscatello Prosecco, it was excellent - on the dry side and subtle bubbles.
Service was very good, we had their attention any time we wanted it and they got everything right at every step.
The atmosphere was upscale and at the same time relaxed. The other guests were obviously not hurting for money. Everything from jeans to a couple of suits but the jewelry and poise gave it away.
All things considered, it is a very good value, maybe even cheap for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fusion cooking in old town Graz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Recommended by the concierge at our hotel, we were lucky to score a table at this highly popular restaurant, which features a large outdoor dining area on a small open plaza, right near the Glockenspiel Square. The menu is not typically Styrian, but offers a delightful mix of fresh and local fish and meat, and market ripe produce, in a more fusion based offering. After a delicious salad, we had an array of entrees that were all equally well conceived and executed. Though we had no room for dessert, we admired the highly original ones delivered to tables near us. Service was very professional and smoothe, excellent English, and very attentive. We never felt rushed or pressured, even though there was a waiting list for tables. Overall a high quality experience, and worth the slightly higher prices than the neighboring restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location, upscale and posh, yet very cozy atmosphere and good service. In spite of the fact that we didn't have a reservation and the place was full, Ecstein let us in, provided that we promised to be gone at 8. That gave us a little under 2 hours to wine and dine and that was no problem. Quick and kind service and we had our 4 monthsold baby sleeping in their sofa with no problem. The restaurant has a good atmosphere, cool and up bit bar and very happening!
Also my boyfriend seemed to think that one of the staff was good looking, but I didnt think much of him ;-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great dinner our first night in Graz -open Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at our hotel in the old town section of Graz at a little after 7 pm on a Sunday evening, only to find out that the vast majority of restaurants are closed on Sunday (and often Monday) evening. Our concierge recommended two places and we walked from the Mur past the "triangular square" to find the first of the recommended two was actually going to be closed both Sunday and Monday this week. Just across the way, we saw this restaurant and found just the experience we were hoping for.

We ate indoors (looks like the outdoors is a popular place to eat for many of the restaurants in this area, but it's deserted in the evening on Sunday). The decor is hard to describe -- euro minimal with industrial touches -- and there's a bar drawing a crowd. We liked it.

There was a nice selection on the menu and a list of daily specials with English translations for the standard menu. My husband had the asparagus risotto and I had the grilled filet with vegetables. The food was delicious and well prepared.

We asked our server for a "house red" hoping for an inexpensive Austrian red to try and we quite enjoyed our first taste of that.

Some of the other reviewers mentioned the smoke. The tables are close and when a smoker decided to smoke three cigarettes with her dinner at the next table, this was not enjoyable. It doesn't seem fair to complain about this though as we observed chain smoking by a significant number of patrons-enough to be affect the air quality significantly - at literally every place in Graz that we went through in our search for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eckstein also viewed

 

Been to Eckstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eckstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.