We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B&B to visit the lovely city (UNESCO) of Graz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Plank

Save Saved
You added Gastehaus Plank to your Saves list
Gastehaus Plank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gastehaus Plank
Mariatrosterstrasse 351, Graz A 8044, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Graz B&B and Inns
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic B&B to visit the lovely city (UNESCO) of Graz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the perfect place to visit Graz, one of my preferred austrian cities with Vienne.
This B&B is located outside Graz but when you get out by car or bus, you only need 15mn to be in the old town.
Indeed, the hotel is located on the Mariatroterstrasse and so you just need to follow that road and you reach the inner city.
There is a bus stop at 50 meters.
In the bus, you can buy a 24 hours ticket for 4,50 euros.
You can use this ticket to take the funicular that brings you to the castle of Graz.
The B&B is run by Gerti. She speaks little bit english and gave us good tips concerning public transport, restaurants and places to visit.
There is a free parking in front of the hotel.
The rooms are very big and comfortable.
Wifi is also available, depending on your device, you may have a better connection in the breakfast room.
Talking about the breakfast, this is a very nice one with salty and sugar food: salmon, ham, fruits, tasteful pastery.
On the last day, we were even offered the possibility to take something from the buffet to make some sandwiches if we wanted.
The coffee is very good (Jura Swiss machine with beans).
For 78 euros the night for 2 persons, this is really a very good quality price.
And once again Gerti is a very welcoming person. She made us at ease, pretty much like at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Gastehause Plank is a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. It is a family managed B&B. Frauen Gerti - the lady of the house, is a nice and capable woman. She is very warm and friendly and takes good care of her guests. We arrived late night and were very tired and hungry. Although there were a petrol station close by where we could by some sandwiches, since we were very tired she offered to make us some sandwiches at no cost!
Breakfast is another highlight of this guesthouse. It is plenty, fresh and good variety of sweet and savoury.
overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Staying at Gastehaus Plank was an absolute pleasure. Gerti, the owner couldn't have been more helpful and even came down to the tram station to pick us up. The tram ride out from the railway station was a delight in itself. Everything in the room was immaculately clean and well maintained. Gerti's breakfasts are amazing with a huge selection to choose from. We never felt we could do justice to what was on offer. Being a little bit out of the town centre was not a problem as the bus and tram service is excellent and the stops are quite nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We wish we had been able to stay longer! Though located outside of the hubub of Graz, it is ideal for those that are interested in seeing the surrounding countryside. It is a quick drive into the city if you want to spend the day, which we felt was enough time. We cannot say enough about the inn and of course, the highlight was Gertie Plank. She is a dynamo! The rooms were HUGE by any standard and very clean. The building we stayed in was 20 years old and you would swear it was new construction. The breakfast was just amazing. All sorts of fresh fruit, juices, coffees, cheeses and meats. Gertie also had homemade breakfast sweets!! This is an ideal place to stay and would highly recommend this to anyone in the Graz area!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We picked this hotel from tripadvisor as usual before we go away, once again I was not disappointed. We were met by the wonderful owner Gerti Plank who was warm and friendly. We used the guesthouse as a base to expolore many of the surrounding areas, it is also a short walk from the tram into the city centre. Frau Plank is a foodie like myself and enjoyed telling us the best and local places to eat, we were never disappointed by her recomendations. Breakfast was very ample with lots of choice, nothing was too much trouble, the room we had was in a new building next to the house and was spotlessly clean for our entire stay. The icing on the cake for our stay was the friendship we have now made with Gerti, I often think of her and the time spent there, never has anyone made such an impression on me in such a short time, I know I will return soon

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York -USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My husband and I spent 8 days at Gastehaus Plank and have nothing but praise and wonderful memories from our visit. The price is very reasonable and affordable. The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. The price includes an ample breakfast. The owner, Gerti Plank, is charming and committed to making sure her guests are fully satisfied. Gerti is a wonderful resource for directions and suggestions regarding activities, and places to dine in and around her native Graz. She can communicate quite well in English, though she doesn't think so.

I would recommend this gem of a place in a heartbeat to anyone planning to visit the Graz area. The value for the money can't be beaten. Though located on the outskirts of Graz, the tram is within a 10 minute walk and it is also located along the bus route. Also within walking distance is a bank, post office, and apothecarie.

We found Gastehaus Plank initially by luck, but will definitely return by choice!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We loved Gerte at Gastehaus plank. It is the only place we would ever stay in Graz! Lovely people, wonderful breakfast, immaculately clean, took care of us even with my horrible German! I highly reccomend this place! Go for it it is GREAT! Bus is a downhill walk takes about 10 minutes to get into downtown Graz on easy transit system. (although and uphill trek coming back ha!)

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gastehaus Plank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Plank

Address: Mariatrosterstrasse 351, Graz A 8044, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Gastehaus Plank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Plank Hotel Graz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Plank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.