We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Student Hostel, way overpriced for facilities.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Graz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Graz to your Saves list
B&B Graz
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Annenstrasse 60, Graz 8020, Austria (Gries)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Graz B&B and Inns
vendee france
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Student Hostel, way overpriced for facilities.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Arrived at a dimly lit doorway at the most unwelcoming 'hotel' I've ever come across. Cracked the code and got inside, picked up the key which anyone else in the building could have taken before us and made our way to our room.
The room was a reasonable size but furnished cheaply. There were stains on the carpet and although the bathroom was fairly modern, it smelt bad and had noisy macerator type toilet with a brown stained crust of lime at the bottom - no excuses, clean it off!! The toilet seat was loose.
The bathroom light was very dull and there is no hairdryer. The only 'luxuries' we had were two paper serviettes and two throw away plastic beakers. Dirty towels were changed daily but I don't think we got a complete set of clean bed linen any time during our week long stay.
The curtains were two small for the windows and couldn't be fully closed.
They should be prosecuted under the trades description act for calling it a bed and breakfast when there are no facilities to make a cup of coffee, never mind have breakfast! We didn't see a member of staff all week.
We visit Graz at least once a year as our son lives there. We couldn't get into any of the hotels we've stayed in before on this occasion, but will happily pay more to stay somewhere else next time. This place IS NOT VALUE FOR MONEY!
Cheap and nasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent a night in this hotel and it was just - OK.

At the time of visit (October 2013) it was among cheapest hotels in Graz (53 EUR for a double room) and that was the reason why we stayed there...literally just for a night.

Be aware that reception works only till 1530 - if you are comming later please read your e-mail with code which is a must if you want to enter the building...we didn't read and were supprised with the fact that there was no receptionist and that code is a must :-) There is no breakfast so don't be fooled with the name.

The place itself could be much cleaner...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

for 35 euro per PERSON for a double standard room (including private bathroom) i really do expect more - also from the pictures you expect a lot more.

negative:
our room smelled very bad like old stale smoke - and i am a smoker.

there is not really a reception - we wanted to complain to someone in person (f.e. to get another room), but...who do you complain to when there is no one there.
getting in the house is tricky.. and then - as another reviewer already mentioned - you find your room key in an envelope on a table. kind of strange.

the house has no charme at all. it felt like we were on a schooltrip. a cheap one.

our room did not look like the very nice pictures on the internet suggested. very disappointing.

at night it was quiet, but around 6:45 it started to get really loud - other guests (walls are extremely thin) and also the tram.
and additional our door did not have a sealing.. it was bumping when there was the slightest movement.

the bathroom was ok, the shower new and good. but a lot of the tiles were cracked.

we also didn't like the foam mattress. and the tv cable made an annoying noise, so we had to unplug it.

we knew that there was no parking available through bnb and breakfast was not included in the price. but it should have been for that price.

positive:
we had a balcony (althoug the one bed was almost blocking the balconydoor).
the shower was good.
the room had a good size.

the location is ok. the tram stop is right there.

all in all.. i would NOT recommend staying there - unless they change the price to maybe 20 euro maximum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

B&B Graz was a good place to stay. And ya, not having the breakfast was a big no-no but there are tons to see in and around the place and the trams run almost every minute to the town center and it was great to make use of them.

The rooms are great and big and they upgraded for us an extra bed (not that we could use) for our honeymoon. Which was sweet of them. You get a head on view of the road in front of you.

And the main OBB station also is very close and you can drop off the key anytime after the office has closed, but please make sure, you have taken everything with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So normally when a place has B&B in the title, you think it will resemble someone's house and they will serve you breakfast. Not so fast B&B Graz..... This place was more like a hotel. And get this, there was no breakfast! How is there no Breakfast at a Bed and Breakfast!? Granted, they adjusted our rate to make up for that fact, but I was still a little baffled.

Also, there didn't seem to be any employees at this hotel. You have to know a code to get inside, which is emailed to you the night before. If you are traveling around Europe and don't check your email all the time, it will be hard to know that this place requires a code to get in. Once you crack the code by following someone inside, you will find your room key in an envelope on a table. Not joking. There are notes/clues explaining what to do along the way, but it was all just really odd. It felt like we were trying to solve a mystery to find our room. This would have been fun if the title of this hotel was Graz's Mystery Motel, where you solve a puzzle at every turn... or something along those lines. We just weren't expecting all this from a simple "B&B".

The rooms were recently remodeled, which was good and bad. The bathroom was huge and the bed was pretty good, but you shared a balcony with the people next door. We got kinda freaked out when we saw 2 people standing in our window a few minutes after we arrived. The other weird thing is that I think the door to these rooms were made of cardboard or balsa wood.

The location was decent. It was right next to the train station, which puts you in a semi sketch area of town, but convenient for the train, the main tram line, and sex shops (if you're into that sort of thing).

In conclusion, I would probably not recommend this hotel to anyone I am friends with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Graz

Address: Annenstrasse 60, Graz 8020, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz > Gries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Graz 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently in 2012 opened Hotel B&B is situated in the heart of Graz and is in walking distance (3 minutes) of the Grazer main train station. The inner city, with the historical old town (unesco world heritage site) and all of his sights, like the "Kunsthaus", the "Zeughaus", the town hall and the "Schlossbergbahn" of Graz are reachable within 10-15 Minutes by foot. By taking the bus or the tram, which frequently stop at the front of the hotel, you can reach all of the sights even faster. If you travel with your private car, you will be able to find several parking and inexpensive underground car parks in the nearest area from the hotel. The Hotel B&B Graz is the ideal starting point for your city tour to Graz. We also have special offers for business guests - just ask us. For the younger ones we recommend a visit in the children museum or a tour with the Schlossbergbahn. Conclusion: It doesn't matter if you are travelling alone, as a couple, with the whole family or if you come as a business traveller, we are offering you a clean and modern accommodation, to a good value and with a friendly service. The Hotel has high and bright rooms with Flat screen TV and free of charge W-LAN internet access in the whole hotel. Our sitting room and the vending machine, with coffee and non-alcoholic drinks, are next to the reception desk on the first floor. On our website we offer you best prices for your stay and always current information to the city and our hotel. Our hotel advantages for all visitors of Graz and guest of the Hotel B&B Graz: Qualified & friendly staff - family atmosphere - the ideal starting point for all kind of travellers. Uncomplicated stay with free of charge W-LAN in the whole Hotel. New and modern rooms in Graz opened in 2012 with best price-performance ratio and 3 different room categories. Perfectly situated - just some walking minutes to the city-center and the main train station Perfect transport links: With the S-Bahn to the Airport and the nearest area or discover Graz with the tram or the bus. 24 hours supermarket at the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Graz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.