We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm fond of this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zum Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zum Dom to your Saves list
Hotel Zum Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buergergasse 14, Graz 8010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I'm fond of this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A stay here occasionally on business. The location is excellent, right in the middle of Graz, but on a quiet side street. It's a stone's throw into the heart of the town for restaurants etc.
The rooms are large and comfortable. They can be a bit warm. The A/C was a big free-standing unit that I didn't turn on as it didn't look like it would be quiet, but opening a window was fine.
Staff are very friendly, and really helpful. The reception desk really try to help. The breakfast has lots of choice, and there's a steak restaurant open most nights (and loads of other restaurants nearby).
The internet, at least in the room I was in, is a bit slow, but at least it was free.

Overall: friendly, clean, nice rooms (though might be a bit warm in the middle of summer), good location, really helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    85
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
84
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

was expecting a bit more based on the reviews. Hit a fairly hot day and noticed no A/C in room- a top rated hotel with no A/C? Super quiet place which overall is not bad but to me it was creepy quiet. I wasn't expecting Las Vegas, but it felt like I was the only one staying here. Little privacy, room faces what looked like apartments and I had to keep the blinds closed as people were literally a few feet from the window in these units.Shower was very small, I am a thin person and had a difficult time getting in and out. Handle on sink wouldn't move from hot to cold unless you tugged on it.- definitely a worn place a bit that seems to need some renovations- location is good ( although I must say there is virtually nothing to do in Graz and the Graz experience for me was very disappointing) the three stars I rated it are for being centrally located and the young ladies at the front desk were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Hotel Zum Dom is located in an old palace just in the centre of Graz. I was given a very quiet and comfortable double room. Good breakfast. I would suggest to supply paper slippers in the room, as most of European hotels; and to serve coffee in a pot at breakfast. The self-service machine detracts something to style and does not allow to pour the desirable amount of milk in the coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Zum Dom while visiting Graz for a business trip. I was quite pleased with the staff and accommodations. The hotel is quite centrally located and convenient to the major shopping and tourist areas. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to an enormous suite without request – the rooms were quite large and nicely decorated in period pieces.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I’ll be honest, I was put off by the 1990’s looking advertisements of the hotel and rooms, plus considering the reasonable price and perfect location I was sure I would get an old crappy room. So i went and viewed it in person and was so glad I did. Our room was enormous with tall white and gold baroque decorated ceilings, a beautiful black modern desk, interesting massive modern wall art, clean wooden floors (though a little squeaky) and a history.The Lobby offers a great self-serve espresso machine along with smiling faces ready to help. The location just can’t get better. You walk out and you’re just a few steps from the Clock Tower, the best shopping streets, St. Katherine’s Church, the Mausoleum, and a giant beautiful park filled with ancient trees and picnickers. Below the hotel is an always bustling Steakhouse, which surprisingly held a benefit for vegetarians like us - the generous and kind staff was always willing to pack away prime A T-bones for the dog for the cost of a smile. Perk!

And breakfast, well it was Fantastic. They pamper you with local organic specialities such as chestnut honey and pumpkin oil, the breads are various and piping hot, the soft boiled eggs met the test of Gordon Ramsey - everytime, teas were fit for the Queen of England, the coffee machine made everything including special lattes, their homemade cereals were tasty and wholesome, numerous healthy options (crazy I know in this region of ham and cheese), fresh fruits and special desserts. Plus you dine in a sun-lit glass ceiling french bistro patio setting. The staff made you as comfortable as possible, never rushing you and always refilling each dish to look untouched as if you were the first to arrive.

We have a service dog .The management, staff and settings made us not only feel welcome, but certainly at home. I would come back to Graz just to stay at this hotel again. It met my high expectations in service and gave me more quality that I have experienced in Europe in a long time.

Room Tip: room 4, inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

i recommend everyone to stay at this hotel. cozy rooms, friendly staff, excellent service and great location right in the center of the town near Altstadt. the place is really cozy. the parking lot is very close to the hotel. you can walk everywhere!

Room Tip: the forth floor rooms has a lot of character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Oxana!
Thank you very much for your kind recommendation of our hotel!
Such nice words mean a lot - they boost the motivation for the entire team! Thanks again and all the best, hope to see you again in Hotel zum Dom!
Charlotte Estberger, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great breakfast, comfortable rooms, lots of character. It is just a few steps from the central walking district, the cathedral, and the castle. The upper floors have exposed beams from the 14th century construction of the hotel, some which come right through the middle of the room. The only sore point is the internet speeds. It was very slow when we visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest! On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for your recommendation - it is our best reward to get such positive feedback from our guests. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again in Hotel zum Dom!
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zum Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Dom

Address: Buergergasse 14, Graz 8010, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#3 Business Hotel in Graz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, stylish, and anything but conventional: at Graz’s Dom Hotel the guest resides in the colourful, artistic ambience of a time-honoured city palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Zum Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Dom Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zum Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.