We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annenstrasse 43, Graz 8020, Austria (Gries)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 15%
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Graz
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I really liked the location, we walked to the center, we walked to the trains, everthing you would wish for.
I would suugest to avoid the smokers rooms, no carpet, weird smells but our bedroom was large and so was the bathroom.

Room Tip: As I said avoid the smockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
16
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel does not look like anything special from the outside. It is rather close to the train station, so easily accessible, however, a bit far if you like to spend time in the 'downtown' area of Graz. The hotel has a tiny little reception area and a lift or steps to get to the rooms on the various floors. I had a very lovely room, high ceilings, spacious, very large bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea supplies; however, there is no air conditioning and it was rather hot. When I openned the windows, there was quite a bit of street noise (during the early morning and daytime) and the people living in the building on the opposite side of the street can look directly into the room. Additionally, there was no safe in the room, nor refrigerator. While I really liked the room, I think I would have preferred to stay closer to downtown, and would have at least liked the option of having a fan in my room.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 110 - had really high ceilings; was a very large room but unfortunately faced a rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Hotel Drei Raben (Best Western) is a modestly nice, though fairly ordinary hotel close to the train station in Graz, perhaps a 15 minute walk from the old town. The hotel is on a busy street, with cars, scooters, and trams making plenty of noise (far less at night, though). Some rooms face the street, others face the courtyard, so you'd probably want one facing the courtyard, if possible; there isn't exactly a sweet view of the street – at least, there wasn't much of a view from my room. I checked in at about 15:00 but the hotel was already booked, and I was told all the “courtyard-facing rooms” were already taken.

You can close the windows in your room if you want to keep out the noise, but the hotel is not air conditioned, so if it's hot outside, your room may be unpleasantly hot at night. (There was a fan in my room, however.) It wasn't that hot during my brief stay, so I kept the windows open until I went to bed and the room was fine – noise wasn't an issue. However, I wouldn't risk staying here in the summer.

Some rooms at the Drei Raben are apparently pretty small. I had a “King room” (discount via Costco Travel) which was quite spacious. The room was modern and clean, with a good bathroom, good water pressure, etc. (standard tiny shower for a European hotel room).

The hotel has wireless internet that worked well for me – in fact, it was completely open. No password or even room number was required.

Breakfast was routine but tasty: the usual meats/cheeses/rolls plus pastries, fruits, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. There is a Greek restaurant in the hotel you could try for lunch/dinner, but I did not eat there.

As noted, it's an easy walk from the train station to the hotel, but the hotel is right on several tram lines, and you might find it convenient to buy a 24 hour tram pass (buy onboard the tram from a machine) to use to take the trams to take you from the train station to the hotel and then into the old town and beyond. I was carrying camera equipment and found the tram very convenient and time-saving for my brief stay.

I'd recommend the hotel conditionally: only if not hot outside (summer). I found it convenient because I was staying only a single night, but for a multi-night stay I might look for a different place that cost a bit less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

It has been chosen thinking that beeing a best western and in graz could be a guaranty but the hotel is really bad. The room was small, sad and old. There is no air conditioning and Windows cannot be kept opened since the hotel is located on the corner of two noisy streets. The breakfast is poor and coffee is awful!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrosani
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Drei Raben. It is located at about five minute walk from the centre of Graz, in a nice location, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly, the room where we stayed was conformtable, spacious and clean, the breakfast was good and the atmosphere from the breakfast room was great with nice music on the background. We will choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

...although the receptionist was really friendly I would not stay at the Drei Raben again. My room faced a big street, where some of the main tram lines pass by. From very early morning it got pretty noisy even with the windows closed. Breakfast was ok, but did defenitely not reflect the price paid for the room. The main part of town is within walking distance, but there are other hotels which get you closer to everything and which are defenitely on quieter streets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Its terrible bad experience with this hotel. In reception, they don't know what they are doing. No soap, shampoo or any cosmetics. For everything, we have to use hand wash soap which makes our skin even drier. Its terrible. Better look of other hotels around.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben

Address: Annenstrasse 43, Graz 8020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz > Gries
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location & well suited for the business or holiday traveller; 10 minute walk to train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Graz
Graz Best Western
Best Western Drei Raben

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.