We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of boutique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlossberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schlossberg Hotel to your Saves list
Schlossberg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser-Franz-Josef Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The epitome of boutique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff is the best, so incredibly friendly. It's super clean and the room is perfect, not overtly fancy but just right.
They parked my car and I got a nice room, the hotel is a perfect combination of old and new, the best of both. Old charm and everything works exactly as it should. But with a new kinda quirkiness, lots of art, without being fake hipster and 'gadgetty' like so many places that claim to be boutique now. The place is so cozy and comfy, it reminded me of The Gallery Inn in San Juan, PR. It's so refreshing to come to a place like this that is not part of a chain and is actually so much better for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    71
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
159
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We attended a wedding in Graz during August 2012. We had the good fortune of selecting the Schlossberg. The staff was exceptional in helping us in absolutely everything in preparing for the wedding. They did it all seamlessly and perfectly. The hotel is charming in the middle of Graz. Rooms are exceptionally furnished with a nice fitness center. The breakfast was outstanding. Parking was tekn care of by the hotel. Very very clean .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent one night here while travelling. The hotel is located next to a tram line, just a short walk from the city centre. Parking could be a problem but for €16 per day the staff whisk your car away once you have unloaded it and quickly return it when you need it. The hotel building is obviously quite old but has been tastefully renovated and the reception and public rooms are modern and bright and have an eclectic collection of art of the walls. Our room (204) was more traditionally decorated and had an unusual layout with a small bathroom across a hallway. However, it was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent and there was a good WiFi signal throughout the hotel. The staff are outstanding and could not have been more friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants and booking a hairdresser for my wife. Would certainly return but would ask for a different room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location is perfect--around the corner from the lift to the Schlossberg, and minutes from the heart of the old town. We enjoyed the art and the architecture of the place. The staff deals with all contingencies with grace and style in multiple languages. The hotel has this surreal but extremely clever and efficient automatic parking box; you essentially deposit your car in an elevator, close the door and take a ticket with which to claim it later--we read the instructions about 45 times to be sure we were not abandoning our car! We later learned you can pull up right in front of the hotel entrance (the parking garage is across the street) and they will take care of everything for you. Much has been made in the other reviews of the cost of breakfast, but it is actually good value for money and probably one of the the best breakfasts I have ever had. If paying 17 Euros for an elegant breakfast isn't your thing, there are many cafes just yards away; you needn't be inconvenienced in any way by not breakfasting in the hotel. We are rather loud Americans who checked in late enroute from Croatia, freaked out by our first encounter with a car elevator, which was made more unsettling by this loud buzzing noise of unknown origin, which turned out to be my husband's shaver going off in our luggage! In other words, we were quite a spectacle at that time, to be honest, and the staff did not bat an eye. They graciously laughed along with us and made us feel right at home.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked at this location after reading the many positive TA reviews, and as always, the customers were right! This wonderful hotel is located a few short blocks from the Old Town, and nearly across the street from the beautiful wide river that bissects Graz. Built into a number of old historical structures, this four star hotel combines wonderful amenities, unique rooms, and the type of service that most hotels can only aspire to.
Our double room featured two separate beds, one in an alcove that created a great sense or privacy, with a modern, large bath. Traditional furnishings were in excellent condition, and the cleanliness of the room was a real plus. Perhaps most importantly for guest comfort, the AC worked better than any I encountered throughout our tour of Germany and Austria, managing to cool the room to a comfortable level in spite of an outdoor temperature of 94 degrees F!
Another plus are the outdoor terraces and small pool built into the hillside behind the property, with large umbrellas for shading and privacy.
The staff were all exceedingly helpful, making reservations for dinner, and even helping to locate and reserve bikes for our group. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a first class experience in the beautiful city of Graz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When I arrived, from the exterior I thought it would be a pension-level hotel, but once inside, you can realise immediately that this is not the case. The common areas are elegant and large. The breakfast room(s) also. The room itself was classic, but thankfully not the bathroom as this had been renovated to a very high standard. I was facing the street, but the double-glazed windows kept out most of the street noise, Staff are extremely courteous and very helpful.

Wireless is free with a very good signal throughout the hotel.

Located on the river and within a short stroll to the old city centre and the mountain stairs and elevator to the Schlossberg, this is a great place to stay if visiting Graz. I don’t often give 5/5, but I will in this case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We happened upon this little gem at the end of our road trip through 8 countries and it was definitely our favorite! Located perfectly at the edge of the center and practically beside the funiculare up to the town's iconic tower, you can easily walk throughout the beautiful old town and enjoy lots of great shopping, dining, historic sites, etc. Artistically decorated and with many paintings throughout, we were offered a choice between a charming but sizeable room sculpted with arched ceilings and stairs leading down to a huge, luxurious bath and a back door to a lovely sitting area outdoors or a very modern apt. across the street with nice views. We opted for the first and were quite comfortable. The only complaint is that this fabulous room is adjacent to the dining area, so we heard early bird diners at breakfast through the window just a meter or so from our bed. There is a tiny pool on a terrace up top where you can relax, cool off, order a cocktail and gaze down at the gorgeous old city below. The breakfast was included in our stay and offered a large variety of fresh, delicious regional foods and attentive service. The entire hotel staff was among the best I've experienced in Europe, truly standing out in their genuine care to make you feel comfortable and welcome and always with a smile. I hope to visit Graz again, perhaps in a different season, and though I prefer to always seek new experiences in my travels, I would definitely choose to stay at the fabulous Schlossberg Hotel again!

Room Tip: We loved our room except that it was situated right next to the dining area and could hear early din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlossberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossberg Hotel

Address: Kaiser-Franz-Josef Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#1 Spa Hotel in Graz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#1 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlossberg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Schlossberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossberg Hotel Graz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlossberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.