We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlossberg

Schlossberg
Am Schlossberg 7, Graz 8010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43 316 840000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 459 Restaurants in Graz
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

In all senses of the word, this place is hard to top. For one thing it stands upon the highest point of the city, with a stunning view from the huge plate-glass windows. For another, the food and service are for its class (on the pricey, upscale end) almost unbeatable. Reservations are a must and I would recommend reserving an early table, as of 18.30 or even earlier, for best service. I was here shortly after their re-opening for a Matura ball and it was overcrowded and not ideal for the purpose. But my husband and I ate here afterward twice, once as part of a coupon deal (which was excellent) and once on our own, and both times were very impressed with both food and ambience. If you want to "pop the question", take your girl here. If you want to impress visitors, take them here. Be prepared to pay for it, but know it's worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    19
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice setting, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The restaurant is located within a medieval castle on top of a mountain. It's about 300-400 metres above city, which of course makes it a great place to get a good bird's eye view on Graz.

Our party of five got a table (without reservation) next to the panoramic window with ease. Some of the staff struggle with English, but in the end we all got what we wanted.

It is an upscale restaurant so it's advisable to wear something other than sweatpants and a fanny back. Pricing was OK, not the most inexpensive choice but you didn't got robbed either.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In accordance with its name, this restaurant is situated on the top of Schlossberg. It's a very convinient to get there using Schlossbergbahn. The entrance to the restaurant is located right around the corner of upper Schlossberg-station. I and my colleagues had a table in some distance from a window; thus we could not enjoy a nice view over the town in same degree as other visitors who sat near the window. The atmosphere was between formal and informal, but in my opinion a little bit closer to formal :-), in a positive meaning. The service was OK but it was a little bit chaotic and with a hint of "fast track". I and my colleagues were very-very happy about our meal; I really enjoyed it! We had some local wine, not very expensive but it tasted very good. I would recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“View is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very nice loaction to get an astonishing view of Graz. the way to the top is not very long. We had a local drink called "Sturm" and enjoyed the view. The area is always a good place for a walk and explore the nice plateaus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
“Wedding dinner was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had our wedding at the Schlossberg Bar & Restaurant.

The food, drinks, service, location and attention were outstanding. Some guests were saying it was the best food they had in a long time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlossberg also viewed

 

Been to Schlossberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlossberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.