We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adlerstrasse 1, Wels A - 4600 , Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 20%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here in December with my aunt
As traveling from Germany
Nice rooms , loved the bathroom
We had a twin room
Really clean as well
Would say that this hotel is Really good value
As well breakfast was nice
Not too much selection but was plenty
As well they accept pets which is what made me pick the hotel from the beginning
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
8
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Business trip it is a very modern and nice hotel looking forward to going back again in the future. Staff are very friendly rooms are very clean and large. Breakfast and food in the hotel is also very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I enjoyed a 4 day stay in this hotel which was rather recently renovated at least in some areas. The rooms are tidy, the cleaning staff does a good work. Romm layout and design is good, too. The lobby could be improved though. The atmosphere is disappointing and more than that you can smell smoke almost every evening.
The restaurant is OK as well, but nothing that you will be loving. Prices there are on the higher side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel. It is not even close to being one in my opinion, but by Austria requirements it is apparently. U can realize that the moment u step in to the lobby. Staff is polite and helpful although they lack on explaining correctly about some additional charges and recommendations in the city.

I traveled here for a business trip with my colleague and we asked for and booked a twin bed room. Well bed was a twin bed but they were joint together and you cant split them apart so basically it is a king size bed with two mattresses and they sell it under a twin bed room. Minibar in the room is an empty fridge almost. U have 4 different drinks. it is really poor. (look the picture).

Breakfast is also not at a 4 star level. I know u can't make many things when it comes to breakfast but the choice should really be wider as well as the quality of the food.

Another minus is that there is no room service in this hotel. Not even the basic one. My colleague sprained his ankle and we called reception if the yould send us ice to the room, but we were told that if we want ice we need to get to the bar and pick it up. Anotehr thing that u can see in the descritpion that this hotel has wellness. Well only part of wellness this hotel have is sauna which is also not so good.

Hotel have one restaurant (steak house) which is pretty good if i could judge by the number of ppl in the restaurant. Only problem is that they are not working over weekend so if you are there over weekend u will not be able to try their food.

Last thing is that hotel is very understaffed if you ask me. Same person works at the bar and at reception in the evening so you can see him running through the lobby all the time.

All in all this could be a good 3 star hotel but not a 4 star. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel you should look somewhere else in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at the Amedia Hotel in Wels for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel has a very good location, close to the centre of the city and to the main shopping area. The façade and entrance are not very nice but do not be decived by them as the hotel is really very nice. Fully refurbished recently, it is modern and clean, with wood furniture and a pleasant use of the colour red.
Rooms are fully equipped. On the negative side, towels are not big so it is not easy to use them after a shower. Moreover (if one is interested), there is no Italian TV channel available despite a very big choice of other channels.
My room was in the back so it was very silent.
Staff is reasonably nice - not very smiling - but helpful and efficient.
Breakfast is good and varied.
It is unfortunate that smoking is allowed in some parts of the property as the smell sometimes reaches the floors of the rooms.
There is a big supermarket just a few meters fro the hotel (but one does not see it as it is under ground)so this could be conveniente for small food and beverags.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nothing special but a good Business Hotel. Stayed for one night, arrived late at night. Dinner at Bar was ok but nothing special. Breakfast average, selection rather limited and breakfast room not really appealing. Staff friendly and willing to assist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Came here for an agricultural exhibition from London.

Breakfast was good.

Woman at reception were smoking in the back office. Never smiled once until they got a tip for the gin and tonic.

No air conditioning in the rooms.

Wifi in rooms (asked to change) did not work.

Hotel decor looks like it's stuck in the 1980s.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels

Address: Adlerstrasse 1, Wels A - 4600 , Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Wels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Amedia Hotel Wels is the perfect solution for your stay. The hotel is directly located in the heart of Wels, only two minutes to walk to the old town of Wels. Near the hotel you also find the "Messe Wels", one of the biggest exhibition areas in Upper Austria. The hotel offers you also a FREE MEDIA system, that means free telephone calls to 24 countries in Europe, high-speed Internet, wireless Internet, and video on demand - and all completely free of charge. The hotel offers four modern meeting rooms with all equipment needed and professional and friendly staff, they will take care of your well-being. If you have got time to relax, you can visit our wellness area on the first floor. The hotel offers you a restaurant called IL FRESCO, which serves international and typical Austrian food for dinner. We would be very delighted to welcoming you in our BEST WESTERN Amedia Hotel Wels. Short Facts of the BEST WESTERN Amedia Hotel Wels: -107 design rooms with bathtub or shower/toilet, minibar, flat screen, vanity mirror, hair dryer and safe -Free highspeed WLAN in all areas, free telephony in 24 countries and video on demand -Wellness area with finish sauna, steam bath, whirlpools and an external patio -Hotelbar and restaurant -4 conference and banquet rooms up to 250 persons with modern technology and roof terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.