We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievablely well preserved piece of history...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauthausen Memorial

Mauthausen Memorial
Erinnerungsstrasse 1, Linz 4310, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Linz
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Unbelievablely well preserved piece of history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

With €15m spent at the Mauthausen Memorial site already and more planned, this is a must see for anyone remotely interested in WWII.

You get the feeling it is in a transitional period with the map & audio-guide feeling a little old (some parts listed on the map are now inaccessible) and the ultra modern museum with photos displayed up until last year but it doesn't take away from the experience.

I can't get over why it's only a €2 entrance fee, it could easily be more.

To really absorb all the information and tour the complete site, this is an all day attraction although 4 hours would be adequate.

Note it's not in Linz, it's about 20km from town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    57
    7
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Emotional Must-See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stopped to tour Mauthausen as I was traveling by train from Melk to Salzburg. It was a little complicated, but it turned out to be easier than I had expected. When I arrived in Linz, I asked the train station attendant to call a taxi for me, and I made arrangements with the driver to pick me up in time to catch my next train, about 3 hours later. Judging by the narrow, twisting roads, it might be a bit tricky to find it in a car on your own. You are able to check your bags in the ticket office.

The museum is excellent, a lot of fascinating information about the history and the operation of the camp. I wish I could have spent more time in the memorial gardens, but it was raining at the time. Each country who had citizens who were interred here has a section, and it overlooks the Stairs of Death. You can take the stairs down to the quarry if you like, though it is quite a long ways.

Seeing the camp is emotionally difficult. The barracks were haunting -- for me, it seemed intensified by the fact that the surrounding area is such beautiful countryside. I will never forget how I felt when I realized what the shower-like room I had just stepped into really was. The execution building was one emotional punch after another. It's not for the faint-hearted, but I'm the sort of history-buff traveler who firmly believes that I should see the ugly as well as the beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very deep incite of what happened to innocent people during the war”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was very interesting to see where a lot of innocent people spend their last days (if they were lucky to only spend a few days) in this death camp. Prisoners of war thinking they were only going to a camp to held until the war was over got the shock of their lives.
The Audio guides are necessary to give you an of what happened here. This is not for the faint hearted but certainly worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mississippi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A sobering reminder of lessons we must never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I admit to never having heard of Mauthausen before planning our trip to Germany and Austria. Auschwitz, Dachau, Bergen-Belsen, Treblinka, and many others, yes. But not Mauthausen, the last concentration camp to be liberated. I did a bit of research before going, but after our visit there, I found this account of an American officer confined there only shortly before its liberation to give a succinct and horrifying account of life at Mauthausen: http://www.whale.to/vaccine/jack_taylor_oss.html

We drove here on our way from Salzburg to Vienna, going to Mauthausen and then on to the camp. It is not well marked, and perhaps we should have gone from the direction of Linz instead. Parking is free for 4 hours. There are bars across the parking area, but just drive up, take a ticket, and the bar will lift. There is a video (about 30-40 minutes) in the visitor center area that you should see before you take the audio tour. There are restrooms there, as well as some sort of place to get drinks, snacks, or perhaps pizza, but from what we saw of the eating area and the time it took to get anything to eat, I'd suggest you forgo that.

We did not walk down to the quarry area with the nearby "Stairs of Death," but we could see it from the route we took to actually enter the camp site. There are a number of moving memorials to the people of many nationalities who were murdered there. I found a heart-wrenching plaque in one of the buildings expressing grief and remorse from US soldiers over the US citizens for whom liberation day came too late. Mauthausen stands as a grim reminder of how government-sponsored sadism can exist for years when others are willing to pretend that such cruelty and inhumanity either doesn't exist or is acceptable because groups of so-called inferior people do not deserve better.

I'd suggest spending at least 3 hours here if you plan to include the video.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great tour, very informative. Sad but a site to see. You will learn more than you know. Definitely recommend if you're in town

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauthausen Memorial also viewed

Linz, Upper Austria
Linz, Upper Austria
 
Linz, Upper Austria
 

Been to Mauthausen Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauthausen Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.