We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stifling in summer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Linz

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Hotel Linz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Linz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Winterhafen 13 | 4020 Linz, Linz 4020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 hotels in Linz
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stifling in summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of an unexpected holiday hiccup. It was 30 degrees each day and the same temperature in our room each night. Although the fan was turned up to full speed, it barely caused a ripple in the room. The room was large and clean but in need of an update.
The service at the bar on the first night was non existent and then chaotic. We were desperate for cold drinks and had real trouble just being served.This may well be a good hotel in winter, but it is to be avoided in summer unless you can score an air conditioned room on an upper floor.

Room Tip: In summer, insist on a room on a floor that is air conditioned. I think that the 6th floor was ok fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    29
    16
    2
See reviews for
7
22
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was there last week and I have to say the staff of the hotel is very nice, helpful and professional.
The room was pretty big, clean and nice. The view in the river is also another good thing.
The price is not very cheap but is ok for a 4 stars, I just can't justified the € 15 euros for the breakfast (if you decide to book it at the arrival, otherwise is € 17!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stopped by this hotel for one night on a cycling trip along the Danube. It was along the bike path and not to far by cycling in the town square. A business hotel, it was pretty busy but staff were efficient. The room was adequate with a Hollywood touch and we got James Dean and Casablanca. As the weather was nice, we enjoyed dinner outside with the river view. Dinner and breakfast were both nice. There was suppose to be a gym but we couldn't find it...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is located to the east of the city in what appears to be growing tech business park. It is also close to the Danube and as result there a good walking and cycling routes near by. It's a 20 minute walk from here into the city centre.

Inside its very much a business hotel. Our double room was a reasonable, but lacked adequate air conditioning. In the end we had to open the window, but as the hotel is close to some very busy traffic routes the noise levels were almost unbearable.

On the first floor the hotel has an attractive open air terrace with views across the river. Noise levels on the terrace were high due to the close proximity of the main motorway bridge,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

i enjoyed my experience at steigenberger linz. it was an excellent value for the price i paid (via booking.com). the rooms are simple but nice, many with a view of the river. staff was friendly and spoke excellent english. the weather was terrible during my visit but they have an outdoor terrace cafe/restaurant with river views that i wished i could've visited. the location is not right in the center, but maybe a 15 min walk along the riverside path, which was actually quite a nice walk home from the city at night.
the unique river location and the price definitely made it worth it for me for a simple overnight city break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

the rooms where nice with some old Hollywood touch, in this occasion I got Humphrey Bogart and the movie African Queen deco, nothing extra just enough
the service was good, sleeping nice and room well equipped all working find.
the location could be the issue but by car only 10 minutes from centre. Breakfast good choice and good quality, the view from the restaurant nice and peaceful with the terrace

the rooms are a little priced

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel is located on the bank of river. You can see it from your room window. Rooms are good. Breakfast is included in room rent. It is very close to railway station. There is good path way on bank of river and it makes easy to take few trips using river route. The hotel is also value for money and have good variety of breakfast for bith veg and non veg lovers.
The river view from restaurent makes it special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Linz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Linz

Address: Am Winterhafen 13 | 4020 Linz, Linz 4020, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Linz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view of the Danube and the mountains has a particular charm which you can only experience from the Steigenberger Hotel in Linz. Here, the guest will find comfort and cosiness throughout the whole of the hotel. In the restaurant, on the Danube terrace and in the bar the culinary emphasis lies on regional dishes. The conference area is ideal for first-class seminars, and medium sized events and conferences can be catered here for excellently. The wellness area with sauna and steam bath provides a perfect close to a long day. The waterside promenade running past the hotel is ideal for jogging, Nordic walking or short cycle trips. You can reach the old city centre of Linz easily on foot or by local public transport in comfort. The usage of WiFi is free of charge in the entire building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Linz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Linz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.