We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallstatt and Altausee Salt Mine

Hallstatt and Altausee Salt Mine
Hallstatt, Hallstatt, Austria
00 43 6132 200 2400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$92*
and up
Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and...
Ranked #4 of 7 Attractions in Hallstatt
Type: Historic Sites, Mines, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you in the area (it's near Salzburg, Austria) take an overnight stay and visit this beautiful old quaint and very picturesque town on a lake surrounded by mountains.
In my opinion by car is best if you can,
People are nice, price including hotels are reasonable given that it's a tourist area.
We stayed across the lake at HOTEL AH SEE with a view of the lake- AWESOME.
Luckily for the invention of the digital camera as we took hundreds of pictures.
Lot's of walking but the town is not too big.
Enough said- just check out other reviews, look it up on YOUTUBE and you'll be hooked,

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    103
    31
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Getting there is half the fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The weather wasn't kind to us in Hallstatt. It was a cold and blustery day, with occasional light rain. But if you're in town you just have to do it. So up the funicular to the top where the rain was colder and not quite so light. We would have liked to linger and take in the view, but the weather put an end to that. There's a lift at the top of the funicular that takes you to the little restaurant and, we presumed, the salt mine. Unfortunately, the salt mine was some 20 minutes walk up a path that was very steep in parts. Why, we mused, would you put in a lift when there's still so much uphill climbing to be done.

Once we reached the mine, and put on some protective outer clothing, the tour started. It was interesting, informative, and the guide spoke both German and English. Now this is a very old mine. According to our guide, the oldest working salt mine in Europe. It's also still a working mine, so tours have to be balanced against current operations. Being so old you would expect a fairly dry history lesson type tour. Well yes and no.

To me the tour seemed unsure of its direction. You toured the carved out chambers. You rode the old wooden slides that the miners used to get to the lower levels (great fun!), and you got your history along the way. But the tour also had a fairly hefty video and audio component at various stages along the way. This just didn't gel for me. It seemed like they wanted to be a historical site, and Disneyland at the same time. This was particularly evident at the underground lake, where a laser light and sound show was played. it was entertaining, but we could have been anywhere. And the actual lighting was so low you couldn't make out the lake itself, which probably without all the pizzazz was truly beautiful in its own right.

The further you went the closer to the current workings you got. A very good display on how they now mine the salt was given at the final stages. In the same area the tour went down a low, narrow passage to the next chamber, but just beside this passage was a wide corridor used by the current mining operations, and going to exactly the same place. Right at the end a mechanical miner acted out a little cameo. The German speakers amongst us were probably amused, but for us English speakers it was incomprehensible. The train ride to get out was a lot of fun though. I left the tour thinking that while it was great, the mix of modern glitzy displays and old historical mine workings was somehow way out of balance.

It could have been excellent, but trying to spice up the tour with modern technology actually detracted from the whole thing for me. And we emerged from the mine into heave rain, knowing we had a 20 minute walk back to the funicular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was fun to tour the salt mine and especially slide down the wooden slides. The tour is OK and you see a few interesting things but the funicular ride and the view from the top is fantastic. We had just a light dusting of snow so it was beautiful. A note to older folks, there is a fair amount of walking up and stairs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hallstatt Salt Mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic and worth every pennt. The slides and train ride were fun and worth the death defying trip up the mountainside!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Exciting and interesting and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a brilliant trip. I returned to experience it after forty-two years. (I was very very young when I first visited!!!!!!!) Allow plenty of time - approx two and a half hours. Take the funicluar up to the 'dusembarking level'. Then allow approx 15-20 minutes to walk upto the Mine - there is much information en route. It is a vrey steep climb however. The views are fantastic - have your camera at the ready. When you reaCH the Mine, then make sure you change into the protective clothing - believe me, you will need it. The actual tour of the Salt Mines takes approx one hour and thirty minutes. The Guide we had was brilliant - she gave an Explanation in German at every stop, and then (albeit a little shorter) in English. BE WARNED!! There are two slides to whizz down. Two strips of polished wood. You sit, legs splayed over them, leaning backwards. You are warned not to touch them with your bare hands - or they will burn. As I am in my 60s I was a little unnerved - thought I would tip off. However, when you have done it, it is a case of 'Great! Glad I did it) The Underground lake and the light and sound show are both superb. You are finally taken back by a 'train'. You are presented with a small phial of salt. The shop is full of wonderful salts. Great experience. BUT WEAR SENSIBLE SHOES!!! Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallstatt and Altausee Salt Mine also viewed

 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Hallstatt and Altausee Salt Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallstatt and Altausee Salt Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.