We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gruner Anger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gruner Anger to your Saves list
Gruner Anger
Lahn 10, Hallstatt A-4830 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Waterford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice little Guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a nice place to stay, great location if you are driving as there is free onsite parking.

Our room was the last available - it was a bit small but suitable. Very Clean. The bathroom was a bit dated but adequate.

The lady on reception gave us vouchers to the salt caves (recommend going), and some basic info on the village.

The breakfast was great, my girlfriend drank about 6 cups of the fabulous hot chocolate.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in Hallstatt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great service from the owner, he drove us to the port as a shuttle service.
Excellent BF, variation of stuff. Ham, sausage, eggs, yogurt, orange juice , etc
Location is walkable to the center and The hotel located near Salt mine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Like the breakfast very much.... It serves the best breakfast among the 5 hotels we lived in during this 15 days trip. Even the location is not in the center of the town, the good thing is very quiet... Hallstatt is very small, so it takes nothing to walk there.
The room is small, but we can understand, you know, you don't have much space in this town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotels in Hallstatt can be full in summer, especially those with great lake views. This hotel is located on the far side of the town, but it is okay to walk to the centre of the town in ten minutes. It is close to the bus station to bad ischl too.

The room is clean and tidy. Wifi is fast and strong. The breakfast is very good, especially the hot dishes. Actually, their dinner is worth too. A soup with salad, plus beef steak and ice cream for just 11.5 euros. The steak is nicely prepared and so does the salad. Their fish is very good too. Consider the room rate and the things you get, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We choose Gruner Anger partly for the ease of the onsite free parking and found it to be a very nice little hotel a short, lovely stroll from the charming town. The room was clean, nice and quiet, wi-fi was speedy, the buffet breakfast (including hot items) was very good. The dining room was closed the night we were there, however, the helpful owner recommended several of his favourite restaurants nearby—we really enjoyed the fresh fish dinner overlooking the old square at the restaurant in Gasthof Zauner.

Do spend time just wandering the streets of the picturesque village and make sure you see the Bone Chapel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Gruner Anger and enjoyed it very much. We learned from Rick Steves' book that the ferry captain could call the hotel for a ride, so we were picked up at the dock. It is an easy walk, but with luggage it was a relief to have a ride.
The hotel is a few blocks from the center of town, but close to a nice public beach and a bit quieter area than other inns.
Our room was airy and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The wifi worked well and breakfast was especially good. We chose the hotel because it had bikes available to borrow and we biked halfway around the lake and took the ferry back across with the bikes. They were well-maintained and we were able to use them ever after we had checked out for the day.
We were also given a ride back to the ferry. Watching the driver navigate the narrow streets crowded with tourists was quite exciting!
Hallstatt is not to be missed and this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The dinner at Gruner Anger was amazing. We had read the other reviews about the food and it didn't disappoint. The town is so small that nearly everything in town is only a few minutes' walk. The rooms were just fine, nothing over the top, but it's not supposed to be a luxury accommodation. It was a GREAT value for the price paid!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gruner Anger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruner Anger

Address: Lahn 10, Hallstatt A-4830 , Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gruner Anger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruner Anger Hotel Hallstatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruner Anger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.