We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and average food, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage House

Heritage House
Landungsplatz 101, Hallstatt, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Hallstatt
Cuisines: Austrian
Restaurant details
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good and average food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Only place in town that opens for dinner at 5 instead of 6 like everywhere else. The chicken was very good, and every thing else we ate was ok.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bad Ischl, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cake & Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location on the lake side near where the ferry comes in from the Hallstatt railway station.
Show your ferry ticket and get a €1 discount on a cake and coffee/tea.
Small range of cakes and nice tea and coffee. In the summer sit out on the terrace and admire the amazing view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Avoid this restaurant. The food is really poor, and the worst I had on my vacation so far. I got the Hallstatt fish, which was ok, but the risotto with it was cold and probably a day old. The sauce with it was poor, and the vegetables were greasy. They give you this appetizer of overly salted and garliced white toast, which was really bad. Best part of the dinner was the fairly good decor, red wine, and pleasant hostess. However, when I explained that my dinner was not good, she did nothing to remedy the situation. As far as food goes, the hot dog place on the walk back to the hotel looked more appetizing having been in there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food in an unexpected place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I'm going to have to completely contradict the review before me, we had the following dishes here:
Chanterelle cream soup with black bread croutons
Hallstatt white fish medallions with grilled vegetable and rocket risotto
Veal escalope with chanterelle risotto

All the above dishes were amazing and the prices were quite reasonable (5 for the soup and ~18 for the mains)

The chanterelle, veal and fish are all fresh and local, I don't know why you would go to Hallstatt and order chicken.
Service was also very friendly and efficient, the waiters and fluent in English and they have english menus if you have horrible German like I do.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid the restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is only a review of the restaurant, since we didn't stay at the hotel... we ordered a breaded boneless chicken with potato salad, thinking that in view of the significant higher prices that were charged at the hotel, we would get a refined version of this classic dish... what a mistake! not only was it standard fare, one of the "boneless" chicken pieces contained 3 bones... The german waiter said it was a translation mistake and that the german word "ausgelöst" meant separated pieces of chicken (which is of course rubbish). Anyways, if you want to pay 50-70% more for uninspiring food, you will be most welcome there :-)

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage House also viewed

 

Been to Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.