We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but what a view!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seehotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seehotel Gruener Baum to your Saves list
Seehotel Gruener Baum
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktplatz 104, Hallstatt 4830, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expensive, but what a view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel definitely has one of the best views we ever had! It is very well located, and we had a nice stay. We splurged and got a studio with a huge terrace – we were happy we did, because it rained both days we were there, so at least we could stay on the terrace and enjoy the view (the terrace above acted as our roof). I think we were on the 1st floor (which would be considered the 2nd in US).

Breakfast was good, but not great. There was wi-fi in the lobby (although both of their computers were not working). One thing that needs improvement: the bathroom. There is no shower curtain, so the water gets all over the place, especially because there is no hook for the shower head; you are supposed to hold it in your hand.

We had dinner one night at the hotel, and it was ok (we had a much better – and cheaper - experience next door, at hotel Simony). One night we only got pizza from across the street and a bottle of wine, and just enjoyed the lake view form our terrace – and we loved it!

The hotel is situated in a pedestrian only area, but if you have a hotel confirmation (email is fine), you are allowed to drive in and drop off the bags. Not sure I would recommend it, because the shuttle from the parking lot outside the pedestrian area is great (and free).
The hotel is expensive, and you definitely pay for the view, but we are glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    63
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
47
130
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here last August 2011.I know the review date shows October of 2011, but I was unable to choose my actual travel date. This was a spur of the moment side trip so we had no reservations and found this place. Bar area, restaurant, and patio area were very nice. Not so with the room. Not sure which floor we stayed on, but it was a large old room with a very large balcony area. The bathroom was not very accomodating, but we're accustomed to European bathrooms, however this one failed in regards to the bath tub being poorly placed. The room itself was just okay and while the balcony is huge, you share it with your neighbors with only a canvas type curtain separating you from your neighbor. Suffice it to say, it offers one no privacy whatsoever. The views from said balcony are great and the setting couldn't be better, but for the price, this places fails miserably. I would not stay there again at the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a lovely room for 4 nights with a private balcony overlooking the lake. Be aware there is no elevator, so it can be a workout getting up to your room. Our primary complaint is that there is no wifi, even though they advertise it. The one room that they claim to have wired has a PC with a permanent "Out of Order" sign. Multiple attempts to connect to a wifi network via my ipad failed, and two different employees told me to link to two different networks (linksys and something else). The posted name/password signs were ambiguous... and we were never prompted for a name or a password. Finally they told us the wifi would be fixed the day we were leaving. We pushed them on this and were able to use the computer at the front desk for 5-10 minutes at a time, but they were clearly grumpy about that and unpleasant. Finally I walked to the upscale hotel next door and used their wifi. Bottom line, if you expect to have wifi access do not book here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel. No lift. No wifi but was promised there would be. Hallstatt is lovely and this is right on the square so you can be in a more central spot. Seconds from the ferry boat so don't have to drag your suitcase far to get to the boat/train. Large room. No amenities in the bath. Comfortable bed/sheets. Breakfast - average. Front desk lady a bit short for what you Re paying to stay there. Incredible view of the lake and that is what you are paying for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We splurged here but not necessary in our experience.  We  did only stay one night and it rained the whole time, so it was nice to have the large room given that we were in it more than we expected to be.  They advertise it with a "private" balcony, but the only thing that separates it is a tough to close canvas drape. We woke up with our teenage neighbors on our balcony taking pictures.  The wifi is free, but only available in the lounge.  Truly the saving grace of our stop here was the very sweet bartender who gave us a bucket of ice and a corkscrew to enjoy a bottle of wine in our room.  The hotel restaurant was good with great service from the sweet bartender.  I think Hallstatt is beautiful and we would have appreciated this room more on a longer visit. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite a few days ago for 2 nights. Fourth floor, no elevator, although they told me that they will be putting in an elevator in the next year. The view and patio was wonderful However, the roof leaked (it didn't drip but there were 2 wet spots) to the point that some plaster fell on the floor. The ceiling paint was peeling where the leaks were when we checked in so, it it clearly was not the first time it had leaked. We told the front desk about the leak and plaster on the floor and they said they would come up and check but they never did, so they never even cleaned up the plaster, not the rest of that afternoon or evening or the next morning, when we checked out. There was a closet but there was no clothes rack in it so you couldn't use it to hang clothes, although there were some shelves. Instead, there was a plastic frame and cardboard rack near the door. We hung our clothes on it (and nothing heavy, as it was wobbly and didn't look like you could do that) but the next day when my husband bumped it, it fell down. We put it back together (it was just hollow plastic tubes in a plastic frame), but really, what would it cost to just put a wooden rod on holders in the closet so you could hang your clothes? The bathroom looked new but the shower in the wall did not work, it just dribbled water from the shower head, and leaked badly at the bottom. There also was a flexible tube and shower head on the wall connected to the tub, which is fine, and found in many European hotels, but it was placed in the corner next ot the controls for the non-working shower, so you could not get under that showerhead, which had poor pressure.

It was a shame. The room was 260 euro per night for 4 persons, and would have been lovely if they would just do some basic maintenance. The food in the hotel restaurant was very good, and the restaurant service was also friendly and good. The only internet is in the hotel restaurant, which was a pain, but we knew that when we reserved. I think that they also should have told us that this was on the 4th floor when we booked. Fortunately, all of us were able to climb the stairs, but it was very inconvenient. Do not stay in the junior suite unless they tell you they have fixed these things, and also ask them what floor your room is on if you do not want to climb a lot of stairs. Remember that if they say 1st floor, it is the second floor of the building, as the lobby floor in Europe is called floor 0.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasne, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The toughest thing to deal with at this hotel is the fact that you have to bring your luggage from a remote parking area. We thought we would be able to bring the car to the hotel and then move it after unloading the stuff. Not the case. But there are shuttles available. We chose to walk it because we had rolling luggage and just a couple of backpacks. Was not too inconvenient.

The town is very busy with tourists, including lots of bus loads of tourists, especially from China. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Our room had a huge balcony with a table and chairs. A large bed and sofa in the room. The bathroom was ridiculously large and the tub doesn't have a shower. There is totally enough room for them to fit a stand alone shower in this bathroom and for the money - they really should make that accommodation available.

Other than the lack of a real shower the hotel was very nice and we would come here again. The breakfast buffet was part of the room and was very good. Don't expect to sleep late. The church is right next door and the bells ring at 6:00 a.m. - not the usual 7:00 that we experienced throughout our vacation.

Room Tip: Probably most rooms have a nice view so you can't go wrong. And I don't think there is any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seehotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Gruener Baum

Address: Marktplatz 104, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Gruener Baum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seehotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hallstatt
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hotel Hallstatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehotel Gruener Baum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.