We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Hirlatz

Save Saved
You added Gasthof Hirlatz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Hirlatz
Malerweg125, Hallstatt 4830, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very clean, comfortable and simple rooms. Beds are comfortable and sheets extremely clean. Breakfast was really fresh and delicious, with a great variety for different tastes and diets. Rooms had awesome views, some rooms have balconies. Great value and service!

Room Tip: Cash or check only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights on our way down to Slovenia. Warm Welcome and swimming pool only for ourselves. Great Garden and Sunbathing area with very clean swimming pool. Clean room. Very good value for money. Walking distance from the Old Hallstatt and all the tourists pouring out of coaches.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This B&B is nice and quite with a very homely feel, wonderful staff (family run) and has the comforts you need to relax. It is starting to date, but that adds to the Austrian charm and the feel of the place to be somewhere different. It is a 5 minute walk in to town, but mind you the walk is excellent along crystal clear streams/river and mountain backdrop all around you. I would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this family run pension, Kate is very helpful & nice. The half board dinner is very delicious & worth more than Euro 14. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We arrived late for our one night stay and the staff was very nice and accommodating. Hallstatt was beautiful and definitely worth the stay. Our room was adequate, but looked a bit dated and worn, could use some fresh paint and carpet. Normally I wouldn't say anything about that but I felt we paid a pretty high rate to stay there so I expected a little more. We had a standard double room, but because our daughter was with us we had to pay an additional 48 euros, making it the most expensive room in our whole European vacation, but yet it was probably the last in quality. I probably would choose a hotel on the lake for the views if we return to Hallstatt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel itself is very charming, the owner is very lovely and helpful, room is clean and breakfast is nice.
The location is a bit far from the center and the main lake. depends on what you want, if you want to have the lake-view feeling, this is probably not the right one, but if you are looking for quiet time, this is a great location.

Room Tip: We choose the king-size bed one, it has a lovely balcony facing mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Gasthof Hirlatz is a charming family-run guesthouse in Hallstatt. There are four generations of the family living and working at the premises, which makes it a real family home with a charming atmosphere. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming, and make time to get to know their guests, and to give them helpful advice and assistance.
The Hirlatz is on the edge of the village, but Lake Hallstatt is only ten minutes' walk away, and the hotel is just by the scenic Echerntal with its walking and hiking trails. The setting is very peaceful with a mountain stream running nearby.
The home-cooked food is always excellent, especially the game, which is a speciality of the region, and we can see that it is prepared with loving care and attention.
The rooms are fine for our needs, and the view from the balcony is magnificent. There is also a well stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar.
We have been coming here regularly for ten years, and hope to come back this year and for many years to come.
Peter and Jane.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Hirlatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirlatz

Address: Malerweg125, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gasthof Hirlatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Hirlatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.