We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We intended staying 2 nights; BUT !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Weisses Lamm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Weisses Lamm
Save
You added Gasthof Weisses Lamm to your Saves list
Dr.-F.-Morton-Weg 166, Hallstatt 4830, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“We intended staying 2 nights; BUT !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As other reviewer's have noted the entrance to this Gasthof is a little confusing as there is no designated lobby/reception area and there are a couple of entrances to choose from - we like others chose the entrance that leads to the kitchen and stairs to the rooms. We entered and were met by perhaps the most unfriendly reception we have experienced so far in our travels - really felt as though we were intruding.

Once having sorted out the formalities and handed a room key (19) - 3rd floor - still in the presence of the management representative Alexander HOLL - we turned to climb the steep - tiled staircase - even though my wife refuses to accept any offer of assistance with her luggage - no assistance was offered.

Having settled into the room we set out to explore beautiful Hallstatt - usually hotels/pensions have a selection of pamphlets/brochures in the reception area - which are frequently handy to gain an insight into the area. The Gasthof had numerous brochures available - unfortunately - they were all in German/Austrian - no help to Australians.

That evening we ate in the Gasthof's restaurant - service was efficient and friendly, provided by a guy with very limited English - but very willing to please. My wife ordered the set prix menu for the day - I ordered the grilled trout. The trout was excellent - the main course for the set prix menu was nothing more than a batter covered flattened frankfurt. Both meals served with a small but excellent salad and accompanied by an excellent Reisling.

The room was huge by any standards - with 2 balconies - and partial lake views from one. Bathroom was large, clean and modern. Corner of the bedroom had a sofa and coffee table.
Bed was large - king size and turned out to be comfortable, however, the bed had two pillows - which resembled flattened pancakes - thin, soft with no structural integrity.

I approached Mr. Alexander HOLL - nominally the person in charge of the Gasthof and asked him for two additional pillows - his response was " Sorry, it is impossible, the owners are not here, maybe tomorrow "
I thought that there may have been a language issue - leading to a mis-understanding so I asked again, slowly and gesticulated with my palms together under my ear - to try and make myself clearly understood.

Mr Holl responded and repeated " Sorry, it is impossible, the owners are not here, maybe tomorrow "

Needless to say; we spent a very uncomfortable night with the available " pillows" doubled and tripled over - and checked out the following morning !

Weiss Lamm was the first stop in Austria after Italy, Slovenia and Hungary and our firt impressions of Austrian hospitality were not positive. However, I am writing this from the fantastic Hotel Weisse Taube, Salzburg - where we have received really great hospitality - see reviews on TA - friendly efficient staff - very good tourist information and attention to detail and we have just requested two additional pillows which were delivered to our door within minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
20
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at Gasthof Weisses Lamm. One night is all most people would likely need in Hallstatt.

Hallstatt is small so the hotel was really easy to find. The hotel doesn't really have a front desk per se, so we just hung out in the entrance until we could catch the attention of the owner in the kitchen. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. Room prices were very reasonable.

Our room faced the mountain behind the hotel, and came complete with a balcony, nice bathroom, and free WiFi connection. The rooms are recently renovated and were very nice inside. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very typical breakfast fare (breads, jams, muesli, egg, meats & cheeses).

The main dishes in the hotel restaurant looked and smelled great, but we never ended up eating there (wish we had!) The hotel also has a sauna and gym but we never used any of it.

The only hiccup during our stay was when we were checking out and paying our bill. The hotel credit card machine was down, and as we were leaving that morning for the Czech Republic, we were out of Euro's. We ended up having to go to a bank machine to withdraw money, so it cost us a little bit more when accounting for the bank fees. A minor inconvenience though, and the staff was very apologetic for it.

Overall, a recommended place for a stay in Hallstatt!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Not a lot of extras, but what they do, they do well. Our room was very large, recently renovated and clean. There is a small, but functional and chic fitness room with treadmill, stepper, sauna and steam shower, open 16:00-20:00 daily. The breakfast is basic but offers something for everyone- muesli, yogurt, rolls/bread, meats, cheeses, local spreads, eggs, tomatoes, basic fruit salad. Friendly hosts who were able to answer or questions. Only gripe was the pillows--lumpy foam. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. My husband and I really liked this hotel. Great clean rooms with lots of space and a nice balcony. The only thing I didn't like were the mattresses. They are very very very hard. Not super comfortable, but we got used to it. Not a huge deal breaker, we would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was wonderful, and owners/staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Sc
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and found this lovely spot. It does not overhang the lake but our room at two decks (33) one which allowed a view of the lake over the rooftops.

The was the biggest, newest, nicest room of our trip.

The breakfast was fantastic.

The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all good. Ask for a view and maybe something not over the outdoor cafe if noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and would highly recommend staying here. We were told that there were non-lake view rooms that had been booked, but we had an amazing view of the lake regardless! We were on the top floor, and it really wasn't an issue that there was no lift, the room and view made it worthwhile! The rooms were very clean, fairly spacious with a balcony, airy, but had shutters on the windows to close to keep heat out, so the room stayed fairly cool. Bathrooms were nice and modern, and wifi an added bonus. Breakfast was good, quite a lot of choice.
Parking up in town and using the free shuttle bus was easy and fuss-free.
Be aware that there's no escaping the early morning church bells wake up call anywhere in Hallstatt. We would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was the perfect stop off on a journey down to Italy. The town is stunning with a lovely lake, and the guesthouse is nicely appointed with good sized rooms. The owners are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is a good spread. If you're staying in Hallstatt (which I would recommend you do) then this is a lovely place to stop.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Weisses Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Weisses Lamm

Address: Dr.-F.-Morton-Weg 166, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Gasthof Weisses Lamm Hotel Hallstatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Weisses Lamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.