We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One-day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dachstein Giant Ice Caves

Dachstein Giant Ice Caves
Just outside Hallstatt near Obertraun, Austria
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 238 things to do in Upper Austria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giant Ice Cave – one of the biggest ice caves in the world - extensive Mammut Cave and Koppenbrüller Cave – still traversed by underground streams – are particularly spectacular. A state-of-the-art cable car provides access to this unique nature experience consisting of caves, informative and enjoyable hiking routes on the karst massif and adventure cave tours.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great One-day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited Dachstein world and the Ice cave and the Mamut cave and it was wonderful one-day trip from Bad Aussee. Would recommend to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cold and cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Take the gondola up to the first level and hike about 15 minutes up to the cave. If you are not in good physical shape the walk will be a challenge. It is a steep uphill walk. I found breathing difficult. Once there the cave was all stairs up and down. Not normally a challenge but after doing the hike to the cave, going up the stairs at times was tough.
The caves are beautiful and our guide explained everything in German and English.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very cool!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

i would highly recommend this as it is soooo different and astral like. The ride to the top is nice, but make sure you come with lots of time, as you can go see the other attractions on top of the cable cars. also dress warm, as it does chilly/ Our tour guide was very uninterested in explaining anything at all, but that did not matter, because the caves were fascinating.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a very interesting afternoon, sadly we had not allowed enough time so that we could do the second gondola trip to the 5 finger look out also.
The gondola ride quickly gets you up the sheer rock and forested faces of the mountain, where you begin your climb to the entrances the Ice Cave. The track up takes some effort, it's better to be fit than not! but if you allow yourself 15mins you will be fine.
Our guide chose to speak in Austrian/German only despite speaking very good English. We were given a small printed folder with information on each point of interest, not enough time given to read each page before he turned off the lights, and his description in German was clearly much more informative than what we had in our booklet. I did find this frustrating.
However we are pleased we did the tour and would recommend. We drove the 5km from Halstatt to Dachstein, you can can a bus or a taxi if preferred.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great experience-Lynne A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

An experience of a life time although expensive,well worth the walk to the caves and the 500 or more steps in the cave!Cold inside so warm clothing is best even when it's hot outside.The guide spoke fluent English and German.Hallstatt village is amazingly beautiful and about 5 minutes drive from the ice caves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dachstein Giant Ice Caves also viewed

Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Dachstein Giant Ice Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dachstein Giant Ice Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.