We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild, Wonderful and Worth doing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wein & Wachau

Wein & Wachau
Kirchengasse 5, Melk 3390, Austria
02752/54987
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$144*
and up
Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine...
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Melk
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Busselton, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wild, Wonderful and Worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We organised this wonderful trip via the tourist information centre in Wien which is a really great place for day trips. We also organised going to Hungry but that is another story!!

The Wachau is the stretch of narrow valley between Melk and Krems through which the Danube flows.

We went to the Opera House and caught the bus to Krems where the boat departed down the Danube and it was a fantastic voyage through the Vienna woods. I took heaps of photos but have only put in a few to give you an idea of what to expect. The scenery was awe inspiring and as I say if you are in Vienna it is a must. The river was very full when we travelled in middle of June 2013.

Once at Melk and entering the monastery church is was just breath taking and the amount of work gone into the inside beggers belief. I was left without words and that is really saying something!! The Library has some of the oldest books in all of Austria -no photos of course but something you need to experience. We also went in to the Stiftsrestaruant Melk and had coffee, soup and Crispy roast pork knuckle and it was beautiful. I must admit that it was also very windy and quite cool, but not too bad.

On the way back we caught the bus and again different views of the countryside was very beautiful. So very glad we did this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
“Cycling tour towachau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nicolette was an awesome tour guide. Have going to see the scenery and the lunch was really awesome.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
944 reviews 944 reviews
733 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
706 helpful votes 706 helpful votes
“day trip bus tour from Vienna not bad at all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked a day trip from Vienna by bus which included a lot for one day--including Melk Abbey, the town of Krems, various churches and small towns along the way. For us, this was the best way to go, as we saw a lot of the countryside around Vienna and were amazed at all that we accomplished that we never would have been able to do on our own. The Wachau region was far better than we ever could have imagined. We wish only that we had more time to spend in this beautiful area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As the terminator said.... " I will be back " !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We thought it was just going to be a boat ride, similar to the many we have been on in Europe. But we were simply amazed at the beauty of the terraced hillsides (vineyards) and towns/castles along the banks of the Danube. We took a bus/boat tour from Vienna, a 1/2 day excursion, about 45 minutes from Vienna. We stopped at a very picturesque town named Krems an Donau, boarded the sleek river boat complete with bar..and top side tables/chairs, and watched in awe, as Durnstein castle slowly went by. Our ultimate destination was the famous Melk Abbey. No trip to Vienna is complete without a trip passing the Vienna Woods and docking at the Abbey. Our next trip will be a "longer" cruise on the famous "blue Danube " !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houstonls
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trip to Wachau Region a Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Absolutely loved the Wachau region. We decided to take the train from Vienna to Melk, bike to Krems, and take train back. From everything I had read the bike ride wasn't supposed to last more than 2-3 hours. Wrong! It took us 3 hrs or so (with a couple stops along the way) just to get to Spitz. By that time the last ferry had left for the day and the train was not running. Lucky for us a kind woman drove us to Krems train station! She was a saint! Just a warning for those who intend to bike the path...it's gorgeous but not necessarily effortless, as the bikes we rented were only 3 speed and some of the inclines were pretty steep. Tiring, but overall an amazing time! Loved the town of Melk...came across local festival with orchestra playing in the town square. Grab a bottle of wine from the Abbey and stow it in the bike basket for the ride! Wonderful route past apple and wine vineyards, castles and cute towns. Go on a nice day and enjoy the area!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wein & Wachau also viewed

 
Melk, Lower Austria
Melk, Lower Austria
 

Been to Wein & Wachau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wein & Wachau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.