We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pretty boring...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Goldberg 2 | 4 Sterne Superior Hotel, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Really pretty boring...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the end of July while at a nearby festival, and I really just didn't get it..

The staff were either useless, or rude. especially one older man who was exceptionally rude and unhelpful.

The only meal I had here was their buffet breakfast, which both mornings had flys hopping all over the food which was just disgusting - so I just had what they describe as being "coffee".

In their defence, they had a really nice spa area, which I didn't get to use.

The phone line in my room wasn't working, there was no wifi in any of the rooms, and the cable they provided a) didn't work, and b) doesn't fit new computers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    42
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
51
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is located up the hill, great if you want to be a bit outside the city. We stayed at a superior double room with a view to the old city of Krems. The view from the room was beautiful, wineyards and the city.The spa is very nice as well as the outdoor swimming pool, however it was quite full. When we got to the outdoor swimming pool only one sun lounger was free. The staff at the reception could be friendlier, we could see they were not very excited having children or a baby around. On the other hand, they had prepared a very nice wood cot for our baby. We are very thankful for it. The rooms were spacy, the matresses were good and everything was clean. We missed however air condition in the room, specially that weekend, it was extremely hot. We also missed a kettle in the bedroom. When I asked at the reception, the reply was that they are not allowed to do it! I've stayed at many hotels in Austria and most of them offered tea facilities in the bedroom. In our case it was specially important for preparing our babie's bottle. Breakfast was just ok for a 4 star hotel, it could be improved. The lady preparing the eggs couldn't be more demotivated, not a single smile when we asked her to prepare an omelete. Such a service it's not acceptable for a hotel of this category. In general, we liked it, the facilities, the surroundings, however we left with a weird feeling due to unfriendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed recently in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean, the location was not bad with a view directly overlooking vineyards. Nevertheless I found it very claustraphobic with no garden the only means of enjoying the outside was a small terrace. The most disturbing factor was when checking in to be told "the room rate includes one night dinner, it would be better if you booked it for tomorrow as we are busy with a wedding tonight". hmmm!
Let me point out the dinner was worth the wait and the accompanying wines were excellent.
The room was small and boxy but super clean, all in all a very average hotel in 80s style ..with good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been staying here for over 14 years, usually fall but spring too. The views over the Danube, only a few kilometers away, are great due to the hotel location. THe hotel is situated on a hillside overlooking the Danube Valley and the medieval towns of Krems and Stein. Vineyards surround one side of the hotel. You could stay in the hotel your entire stay without venturing forth due to its restfulness and facilities, indoor and outdoor pools, spa with great facials, excellent dining, conference facilities, beautiful workout area with trainers available, and great service. We have been welcomed by many of the same staff each year. Our usual room awaits us. Family atmosphere. Breakfast is a wonderful buffet and the room overlooks the vineyards, with lots of windows and a terrace. But you must venture into Krems and Stein with history, medieval buildings, churches, good shopping, pedestrian areas, restaurants and walking paths along the Danube, both sides! Rent bikes or just walk the area. Donau University is close by with different cultural vents as has the town. It is the center of the famous Gruner Veltliner wine but many other wines are cultivated as well and many vineyards have restaurants; also a wine museum is not far. Apricot trees abound along the mild Danube valley. Located 45 min NW of Vienna, accessible by car and train to Krems, it is ideal!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have balconies but most rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors overlook the Danube and are pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

To be frank I did not like the hotel. it is situated in a residential area on the hills far from town, so if you don't spa there is absolutely nothing to do. Food is OK, but not interesting whatsoever. Lobby staff very unfriendly,never saw them smile. What was really upseting is that they don't have wifi in the rooms, not eeven when you are prepared to pay for it! That means one cannot use ipone/ ipads in rooms. I ended up using the cable for 15 Euro for 24 hours. Wifi connection in public areas is good. The rooms size is very good: spacious and modern, good mattress. Flat screen too small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Its a wonderful spa hotel located up on the hills.The room was excellent with all that you would expect from Steigenberger. The food served in the restaurant is for all you to experience Austrian culinary culture.Amazing service, ambience and a feeling of being served as a special being.Breakfast buffet was amazing. You should stay there minimum for 2 nights to experience Krems. We just had a wonderful time there with the family. Theres nothing negative we would comment on Steigenberger Krems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

To start with, since the hotel was booked for me by a colleague in Krems U., i neither chose it myself nor can comment on the value for money.
In almost every way, the hotel provided a pleasant and positive impression. All the spaces, from the entrance to the rooms and saunas are tastefully designed and the rooms make good use of the space.
The saunas are a nice treat and far from crowded. The views on the valley across is an especially nice bonus. Nice chill-out room and three saunas. The in-doors pool is on the small side, but sufficient.
Did not have much interaction with the entrance staff but they are helpful and polite.
Room was quite and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was good and satisfying.
Only 'but' is location: it's about 1km from the town centre and the walk uphill, back to the hotel, could be difficult for people with limited mobility. For my purpose, since i was teaching in Krems U, which is just few minutes away, it was perfectly located and the exercise was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel and Spa

Address: Am Goldberg 2 | 4 Sterne Superior Hotel, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of a hill overlooking Krems, Steigenberger Hotal and Spa is set in one of Austria´s most beautiful regions. With its sun-kissed vineyards, gentle rolling landscapes, and relaxed, laid back culture, there could be no better location to switch off, relax and generally indulge.This country house hotel is a bit of a show off really. With a breath-taking location, four dining venues, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a sauna, a steam room and a beauty centre, it really does have it all. Guests can try a tipple or two on a wine-tasting excursion, walk in the beautiful countryside or simply take in the spectacular view from the hotel´s panoramic terrace.The WLAN is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotel.de, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.