We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, rustic, peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schrannenhof

Hotel Schrannenhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schrannenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Schrannenhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niedermarkt 17-19, Klosterneuburg, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Klosterneuburg
Brussels
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Charming, rustic, peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Klosterneburg is famous for it's monastery. The town is located 20 minutes by public transport from Vienna. We stayed in the hotel for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are old, blending the rustic with the modern. We had a fully functioning kitchen in ours. The bathroom was spacious with a good shower.
The bed and bedding were of excellent quality and we slept comfortably.
The tv was a decent size with many international channels. Internet reception was excellent.
The breakfast room is situated in the old wine cellar. The breakfast is excellent.
The staff speak English well and are extremely helpful.
The hotel is situated right across fro the train station and there is a bus stop just outside the door that will take you to the metro station.
There're many restaurants and shops in the village. The monastery is a 10 minute walk away and a visit is higjly recomended.

Room Tip: We slept in an annex room. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Right in the center of klosterneuburg. House from the Middle Ages transformed into a lovely traditional Austrian Hotel. Terrific and caring staff and wonderful breakfast served in the cellar like breakfast room. Parking in the "Hoff" court yard. Had a great stay. If you don't speak German, Sabena speaks perfect English and you will love her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Right in the city center, near the train station, with private parking lot inside the building and with beautiful interiors, rooms with canopy bed and romantic court with old furniture and A/C.
That is what you meet in several places in Austria.
What makes this hotel so special is the staff - friendly, helpful and extremely nice. They make you feel home. Showed the room, helped with the parking. Breakfest is served in the old and very pleasurable cellar, is rich (including salmon, premium youghurts or sect). The lady asked me about 3 times if everything is OK and if there is anything else she could do for me. Amazing! I travel lots of hotels but this friendly attitude is what I really appreciate.
In general - this is what you expect when you want to feel at home.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the inside part of the building to avoid traffic sounds - nothing loud, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a pleasant surprise for me to see an very old house transformed in hotel. A good hotel, vintage, "old fashion" in austrian genuine style. Everything was very good; parking, the room, the meal.The staff was very friendly and they give us a lot of useful tips from how to get to Vienna, as to spend time during New Year fest. The breakfast was also with a lot of traditional homemade food.For sure I will come back here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When our GPS said we had reached our destination, I thought it was a mistake. I was picturing an old house on a lot. Instead, it is a part of street of jam packed buildings on a very busy intersection with buses and cars and trains whizzing by outside. The owner who was manning the front desk was lovely and we relaxed a bit when we saw our spacious rooms and heard a little about the history of the hotel. We kept the windows closed and the outside noise didn't bother us. The nice breakfast was served in a lovely cave like room at the back. There was free parking at the back although it was a feat to get in and out. We had driven from Salzburg to Vienna via the Wachau Valley. I think we should have stayed in a quieter town along the way. We did eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant next door. It was the worst service we had in our two week vacation. All of our courses came separately. One of the four would get something and then 15 min later another. Two of us were finished before the other two got their dinner. It was ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a family hotel located in a 15th century building with very confortable and beutiful rooms at a resonable cost, including a good breakfast, private parking and more. The locale central station is just in front of the hotel (surprisingly quite) - thus good transportation to Vienna.
There is no sweaming pool and I'm not sure if the room are air-conditioned (it was winter).

Room Tip: I was shown 2rooms (small suits with kitchenette) both were beutiful - we picked the largest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel deserves its high rating. The building is a piece of history (check out the hotel website) which has been sensitively renovated and upgraded. The staff are very friendly and welcoming we were made to feel at home right away. We slept well on comfortable beds and enjoyed an excellent buffet style breakfast.
A short walk from the hotel will bring you to some very old houses and streets, some of which date from the 15th Century - fascinating.
Public transport is very good. Getting to Vienna starts with a bus ride from in front of the hotel then a train ride to the centre of Vienna - couldn't be easier! Trains and buses are frequent, comfortable and clean.
This is probably not the place to stay if you prefer a noisy, busy city center, but for us, it was perfect!
The Veit restaurant served appetizing Viennese style food with local wine, try the Austrian potato salad.

Room Tip: As all the rooms are different, ask about rooms when booking. Check hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schrannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schrannenhof

Address: Niedermarkt 17-19, Klosterneuburg, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Klosterneuburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Klosterneuburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schrannenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schrannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schrannenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.