We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva

La Cueva
46 rue du Chateau, Laroque des Alberes, France
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Best French restaurant ever experied in the Catalan region near the Spanish border.
La roque des alberte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

4 years ago we found this restaurant to be exquisit! Pure delight.... So we decided to go back, and what a disappointment! Undercooked and underseasoned meat. Soft and sad vegetables. Raw beef for our daughter, and really poor service.... A huge disappointment. Also we find it peculiar that the custodes cannot order a steak medium done, because the cook will only prepare it raw?? This place Can unfortunately not be recommended....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We visited with family whislt staying in the village on holiday.

This is the second year we have eaten here, and know that it is popular, so booked at table in advance. Taking a punt on good weather, we requested a table in the small courtyard.

The food is very tasty and beautifully presented, without being pretentious. Portions are generous and served on slate plates (seems to be a fad these days).

The resaturant was busy with most people sitting outside in the courtyard as the weather was good. Inside is a cosy "cellar" style.

I'm sure we'll be back next year and am already looking forward to it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely evening in La Cueva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

La Cueva is one of the best places you can find both Catalan and French cuisines on the menu. The food is full of flavours and colours. The service was excellent. La Cueva has a beautiful courtyard which gives romantic atmosphere to the place. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Opted for the cheap menu, and every course was excellent, went there for a celebration, and everyone went home happy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A little bit hidden and away from the village centre but what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Go and hunt for this restaurant - it is on the road that runs around the bottom of the chateau (Rue du Chateau) because it is so worth finding! If the weather is good ask to eat in the little sheltered interior courtyard -you probably need to book for this area as it is small. Wonderful food, good wine list, superb presentation very friendly staff , fairly priced,could not recommend it enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva also viewed

Laroque des Alberes, Pyrenees-Orientales
Laroque des Alberes, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Laroque des Alberes, Pyrenees-Orientales
Laroque des Alberes, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.