We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the price and the photos we expected sonething good but we were disapointed. Not satisfied with the rooms ( dirty and torn curtains). No sea view even that the booking said so. A cute beach near however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    116
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
72
105
24
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The bed in the room is the best thing in this hotel.

The room is OK but for sure not a 4* grade.

The breakfast is very poor. Barely anything, I was happy to have my yogurt and fruits. The rest was not edible.
The food at the restaurant was horrible. Potato wedges are so hard you throw at the wall they bounce back at you. Fish not edible, salads are ok.

The pool is very nice only I couldn't believe that it is actually open to the public, so over the week end the hotel pool and beach is flooded by people who are not guests of the hotel. I couldn't believe it. I was there to relax and it was such a disappointment.

One person reserved 5 seats that stayed empty all day for a family that arrived at 3pm and who are not even hotel guests, while some hotel guests were lying on the lawn cos they ran out of seats.
I booked my sun bed from 8am to make sure I get one.
The non-hotel guests came in with their food and drinks and I felt like I was in some picnic area. It was horrible and chaotic, thank God I wasn't there for longer than a week end.

Reception staff, some were helpful, some were rude.
My flight was later in the evening so I stayed at the pool and had a shower at the spa. It was OK.
The reception lady confirmed that she called a taxi for me. I believed her of course. One hour later, turned out she went home and didn't call anybody. Her colleague had to call a taxi urgent for me to get to the airport.

Way too expensive for what we get. Why would I pay so much money for no privacy?
I definitely never go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I don't know about good rooms but I know one advice for sure, do not eat at the hotel, the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you need a do-nothing-for-5-days-but-laze-by-the-pool vacation at a resort with friendly staff, Sandy Beach is the hotel for you.

If you’re part of a group looking for entertainment, a fabulous spa or for a magical beach with endless views, Sandy beach is NOT for you. This is not a luxury hotel but it is airy and nicely decorated.

I came here for the former option after 6 months straight living in Jerusalem and the West Bank. As a solo traveler, I hoped to find a welcoming atmosphere, quiet pool area and the possibility to meet other singles. I found all that and more. Everything but a great spa, that is.

This hotel is advertised as a spa resort but there is only one clinician on duty and it is nearly impossible to find someone to make a booking with (the clinician is also the receptionist) and b) find an open spot during one’s stay.

This is, of course, a management (not staff) problem and must be addressed. I called on my second day and could only get a massage 5 days later. I was promised a call back if something else opened up but never got one. Friday rolls around and I found out that the receptionist took down my room number incorrectly. I ended up getting a mani/pedi at Petya’s in town isntead. Great choice – again, not at all luxurious but clean and fun.

The hotel spa itself is nothing special and even if more people were working, I wouldn’t give it more than 2.5/5 stars. Major upgrades are needed in this area to bring it up to par with the rest of the hotel.

That said, other things made up for that initial disappointment.

Clio (lobby bar) went out her way to make my stay really enjoyable (and it was!). Athiina (pool bar) was also really friendly; both ladies epitomized the generally relaxed nature of staff.

The food is very bland and I was glad to have opted out of the all-inclusive option. There are plenty of tasty restaurants close to the hotel (Masala for Indian and Vakos for Greek/Cypriot); leaving for the evening also makes for a nice change of scenery.

In sum, here are the high and lowlights:

Highlights:
1)Evening bar is a great place to meet other travelers – I met a bunch, ranging in age from 30 to 55.
2) Even with many kids roaming around, the pool was big enough for a silence lover like me to enjoy comfortably. The pool guard will turn a blind eye to night swimming if you’re quiet!
3) Rooms are quiet and nicely renovated (with the exception of the bathroom).
4) Great, kind staff!

Lowlights:

1) You have to pay for the beach beds right outside the hotel property. This is pretty ridiculous considering that a) the beach is an extension of the hotel and b) it is not at all spectacular. The hotel has blue beach beds further to the right but this is an inconvenient option.
2) There was only ONE plug in my entire bedroom (again ridiculous). I had the choice of either watching tv or charging my phone or computer. Poor.

If this is your one and only beach vacation for the next 5 years, I’d go somewhere else (even in Cyprus) for a much better coastline. If you’re like me and live close a city with a stunning beach (Tel Aviv) but just need a getaway, then pop on by this place!

Room Tip: Best to get a poolside room. The opposite side has a view of the next hotel over. Check and see whet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senec, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lets say so.... It is definitely no a 4 star hotel. But visiting Cyprus already the second time, you want get anything better for that money. Ther rooms are bit old and the fridge works every second day, butbthe rooms are clean and big enough.they have two pools and a nice beach.
Beachtowels and sunbeds are included. Two bars and 2 restaurants. The food there was soooooo delicious, thet we couldt wait until noon and evening to go for a dinner. Stuff is very friendly and the hotel is safe. The public amenties are renovated. Got a nice beach with a good entry into the water. Located 15 minutes by bus from Larnaca.

Room Tip: Choose a romm with side seeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family stayed for one night as close to Larnaca Airport. It was our second visit to the hotel and as before we were happy with the hotel. However there were a couple of small points worth noting. The bar proces are a little high, however there is a happy hour where you get two drinks for the price of one. The terrece bar area seating was wet as people sat on the seats with wet swimwear. This year there was a charge for some sunbeds on the beach, which un-surprising were not occupied.
The rooms were good and clean, bed comfortable. Lobby area excellent to sit and have a drink. Pool clean with life guard. Beach a little dirty, but sea clear and warm.
Hotel well positioned for the main town and surrounding villages.
Would stay again if paying the room rate of £80. We paid this time, which included an excellent breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Travelling a lot around the world and working in a tourism as a professional I must say the hotel doesn´t complies four stars.
Hotel – according to the internet should be refurbished – the only refurbishment is that everything was painted or made in white color, the hotel as a whole is very simple almost sterile, the furniture is used up, the furniture outside is even falling appart and peeling of. Everything is made from a very cheap material (some things bought in IKEA) and so on.

Staff - very kind and general; special note about the staff taking care of the beach follows

Rooms and bathrooms - big, clean but definitely outdated, they need renovating, again they are only white, the diference between normal and executive rooms is that in the ER you have some colored pillows, few pictures on the wall and one socket more (normally there is only one), bathrooms have the same look in both kind of rooms – and they are very very old. If you are going to ask for a triple room you are going to get only additional folding bed but you´ll be charged full rate .

Pool area – looks amazing from far, but from the closer look – old tails gluing off, check the tidiness; beds with blankets and pillows not being changed for two weeks, you can imagine how many people were resting on them!
Hotel Beach - the worst beach I have ever seen in Cyprus in my life. It´s shared with other three hotels, but the hotel has its own space….but again but. The beach was so dirty – plastic cups, straws, butts everywhere, papers, cans, ashtrays full of butts, glass cullets and other things and no one to clean it!!!!
Plus the beds on the beach – there are two kinds of beds – old blue ones – for free. Old, damaged, without roundlets, foxy bedsore mattrasses!!! And new ones – in white color again, and white umbrellas and white tables – for these you have to pay. And for the big ones even 20 EURs. And there is no written note about it and no one is telling you that!!! There are two guys – staff in white sitting there all day and waiting for those who are willing to pay for them. This is their only job. I saw them cleaning just the seeweed and not the rubbish covering the sand. No to mention that the white sunbeds were most of the time empty. But they could get whatever drink at the beach bar and to smoke in front of clients.

Food – breakfast very basic, without any invention, every morning from the brad to the last egg same. You had to lay your table very often. Regarding lunch or dinners – nice but very small selection, nothing to be excited of.
Bars - good stock, friendly staff, but without knowledge of the drinks, because they were only part-timers. Drinks quite expensive – all of them.

Hotel entertainment - there is one every night and terrible (maybe except the Cypriot evening) Old songs sung by people who doesn´t speak English or even don´t know how to sing. Outdated songs. And the whole entertainment is very very loud. And the same you can hear from the near by Golden Bay hotel. Like a competition who is going to sing louder. This awfull. You can´t get decent slep before midnight and when you have children with you ….. To get a room towards the Lordos hotel doesn´t help either. You get the same roar plus the view of the old furniture or kitchen equipment thrown out behind the hotel.
Unfortunately this hotel can´t be rated as a 4-star hotel. The maximum with closed eyes are 3 stars. No wonder that the hotel was half empty (not even 60%) and honestly I am afraid that the hotel will look like a close by hotel Beau Rivage – once a famous hotel now being a ruin.

Room Tip: fifth floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well, when you arrive to this hotel first you'll think, "Am I sure I wanted to come over here?" But when you enter, and don't see the building then you'll feel yourself a bit better!
We booked an executive room, overlooking the pool & sea.
In some parts our room I felt like, just flew back in time. :))) I've never stayed in a hotel which used a real key to enter the rooms. The AC is noisy, you must pay for the in-room safe, the bathroom needs to be renovated, but still the hotel has some charm and we didn't care about the above mentioned things. Our bed was comfortable and big, our room have had one of the best sea-view.
The breakfast was tasty. The breakfast "room" was huge, even had chance to sit outside. The staff extremly friendly, they been smiling to us at all the time, looked after us in every second. The pool & the beach area were clean as well as the rest of the hotel.
The spa area wasn't looked that nice like on the pictures, and was even closed. We couldn't have any chance to use those facilities, but who cares when you have a beautiful beach?
The sunbeds were comfortable, the beach towels were soft, the coctails were sold on a reasonable prices.
I'd go back, anytime, even they've a time machine in their rooms. :)

Room Tip: Executive sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Beachfront Hotel located 12 km from airport. With pools, restaurants, bars, conference facilities, gym and spa, its the perfect place for a holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.