We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their kitchen...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Senec, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love their kitchen...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lets say so.... It is definitely no a 4 star hotel. But visiting Cyprus already the second time, you want get anything better for that money. Ther rooms are bit old and the fridge works every second day, butbthe rooms are clean and big enough.they have two pools and a nice beach.
Beachtowels and sunbeds are included. Two bars and 2 restaurants. The food there was soooooo delicious, thet we couldt wait until noon and evening to go for a dinner. Stuff is very friendly and the hotel is safe. The public amenties are renovated. Got a nice beach with a good entry into the water. Located 15 minutes by bus from Larnaca.

Room Tip: Choose a romm with side seeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    123
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
74
109
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family stayed for one night as close to Larnaca Airport. It was our second visit to the hotel and as before we were happy with the hotel. However there were a couple of small points worth noting. The bar proces are a little high, however there is a happy hour where you get two drinks for the price of one. The terrece bar area seating was wet as people sat on the seats with wet swimwear. This year there was a charge for some sunbeds on the beach, which un-surprising were not occupied.
The rooms were good and clean, bed comfortable. Lobby area excellent to sit and have a drink. Pool clean with life guard. Beach a little dirty, but sea clear and warm.
Hotel well positioned for the main town and surrounding villages.
Would stay again if paying the room rate of £80. We paid this time, which included an excellent breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Travelling a lot around the world and working in a tourism as a professional I must say the hotel doesn´t complies four stars.
Hotel – according to the internet should be refurbished – the only refurbishment is that everything was painted or made in white color, the hotel as a whole is very simple almost sterile, the furniture is used up, the furniture outside is even falling appart and peeling of. Everything is made from a very cheap material (some things bought in IKEA) and so on.

Staff - very kind and general; special note about the staff taking care of the beach follows

Rooms and bathrooms - big, clean but definitely outdated, they need renovating, again they are only white, the diference between normal and executive rooms is that in the ER you have some colored pillows, few pictures on the wall and one socket more (normally there is only one), bathrooms have the same look in both kind of rooms – and they are very very old. If you are going to ask for a triple room you are going to get only additional folding bed but you´ll be charged full rate .

Pool area – looks amazing from far, but from the closer look – old tails gluing off, check the tidiness; beds with blankets and pillows not being changed for two weeks, you can imagine how many people were resting on them!
Hotel Beach - the worst beach I have ever seen in Cyprus in my life. It´s shared with other three hotels, but the hotel has its own space….but again but. The beach was so dirty – plastic cups, straws, butts everywhere, papers, cans, ashtrays full of butts, glass cullets and other things and no one to clean it!!!!
Plus the beds on the beach – there are two kinds of beds – old blue ones – for free. Old, damaged, without roundlets, foxy bedsore mattrasses!!! And new ones – in white color again, and white umbrellas and white tables – for these you have to pay. And for the big ones even 20 EURs. And there is no written note about it and no one is telling you that!!! There are two guys – staff in white sitting there all day and waiting for those who are willing to pay for them. This is their only job. I saw them cleaning just the seeweed and not the rubbish covering the sand. No to mention that the white sunbeds were most of the time empty. But they could get whatever drink at the beach bar and to smoke in front of clients.

Food – breakfast very basic, without any invention, every morning from the brad to the last egg same. You had to lay your table very often. Regarding lunch or dinners – nice but very small selection, nothing to be excited of.
Bars - good stock, friendly staff, but without knowledge of the drinks, because they were only part-timers. Drinks quite expensive – all of them.

Hotel entertainment - there is one every night and terrible (maybe except the Cypriot evening) Old songs sung by people who doesn´t speak English or even don´t know how to sing. Outdated songs. And the whole entertainment is very very loud. And the same you can hear from the near by Golden Bay hotel. Like a competition who is going to sing louder. This awfull. You can´t get decent slep before midnight and when you have children with you ….. To get a room towards the Lordos hotel doesn´t help either. You get the same roar plus the view of the old furniture or kitchen equipment thrown out behind the hotel.
Unfortunately this hotel can´t be rated as a 4-star hotel. The maximum with closed eyes are 3 stars. No wonder that the hotel was half empty (not even 60%) and honestly I am afraid that the hotel will look like a close by hotel Beau Rivage – once a famous hotel now being a ruin.

Room Tip: fifth floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well, when you arrive to this hotel first you'll think, "Am I sure I wanted to come over here?" But when you enter, and don't see the building then you'll feel yourself a bit better!
We booked an executive room, overlooking the pool & sea.
In some parts our room I felt like, just flew back in time. :))) I've never stayed in a hotel which used a real key to enter the rooms. The AC is noisy, you must pay for the in-room safe, the bathroom needs to be renovated, but still the hotel has some charm and we didn't care about the above mentioned things. Our bed was comfortable and big, our room have had one of the best sea-view.
The breakfast was tasty. The breakfast "room" was huge, even had chance to sit outside. The staff extremly friendly, they been smiling to us at all the time, looked after us in every second. The pool & the beach area were clean as well as the rest of the hotel.
The spa area wasn't looked that nice like on the pictures, and was even closed. We couldn't have any chance to use those facilities, but who cares when you have a beautiful beach?
The sunbeds were comfortable, the beach towels were soft, the coctails were sold on a reasonable prices.
I'd go back, anytime, even they've a time machine in their rooms. :)

Room Tip: Executive sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not bad at all!!!

We live in Limassol and wanted a relaxing weekend, we chose larnaca for that reason, found the sandy beach at a very good price for this time of year. We chose the all inclusive package and as a chef and restaurant manager I try not to expect too much from a hotel buffet, specially for a 4 star, BUT food was exceptional! Not too much choice but for 2 nights it was perfect, all the meats were beautifully cooked and clear to see the chef had a passion for sweets also, fresh cakes like banoffee pie and strawberry pavlova were 5 star! The only reason for my lack of 5 stars on the review was the drink package was very limited, I didn't expect to get Gordon's gin but would expect to get a frappe as all inclusive!!! Not good! Cocktails were so limited not worth offering, a shame! But other than that a nice weekend and Clean modern place to stay, abit like an ikea showroom but nice decor ideas

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After much deliberating as to which resort and location to base ourselves, we opted for Sandy Beach Hotel, near Larnaca and couldn't have been happier! There were 10 or us in our group - 4 mums and 6 boys! It was a short half hour taxi trip from the airport and is actually about 20 mins away from the centre of Larnaca.
Firstly, the room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The swimming pool was huge and refreshing! Plenty of sunbeds to go around and loved the large double ones where you could have a snooze in the late afternoon. The beautiful gardens led down to a safe and sandy beach where the water sports hut was based. This is where our kids spent most of their time. The boys loved the parasailing, pedalo and I think tried everything there was on offer. They wore life jackets when parasailing but were not offered them for all of their water sports. The mums enjoyed walking along the beach each afternoon then coming back for sundowners at the bar!
I could not fault the staff. They were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Right across the road are some small shops to buy water and other supplies plus some super local restaurants. Had a great trip to Ayia Napa Water Park but decided to get a taxi as with 10 of us, it was easier. Plus, we would need to take 2 buses to get there. Had another evening day trip to Larnaca on the bus where we walked along the Strip and had ice creams, shopped and had dinner before catching the bus back to the Hotel at 10pm.
If you want a relaxing, unpretentious hotel with excellent service and food, then you won't go far wrong. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea and pool. The further away from Reception area the better. Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay in this recently refurbshed hotel and it was spotless from the Reception area through the bars, restaurants, pool areas, the rooms, corridors everywhere in fact, excellent! I was very impressed. The staff, the majority of whom spoke at least 2 languages, were very friendly and so very helpful even to the couple who jumped into one of the pools in heir wedding gear, the bride in her gown, veil and all, nothing was too much troulble. Breakfasts were of the usual kind but if there was nothing suitable on the evening menu, then I would say that it was unusual, the asparagus soup was the best and the tzatziki............. The beach was a very short walk (and I'm Disabled) through the hotel gardens and there was a breakwater 150 yards (max) out so that even I who cannot swim, felt very safe. Local buses into Larnaca ran from outside the hotel next door and the return stop was on the opposite side of the road. Driving is on the same side of the road as here in the UK, and the roadsigns show the English place hnames. The ONLY downside to all of this was primarily at weekends, when local people pretty much overran the beach area having first gone through the hotel and its grounds. Having travelled ?thousand miles and spent ?£ to stay there, both my husband and I felt quite aggrieved, and I know for certain that we were by no means the only ones who felt this way.

Room Tip: All rooms have a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Beachfront Hotel located 12 km from airport. With pools, restaurants, bars, conference facilities, gym and spa, its the perfect place for a holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.