We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Larnaca but that's not saying much......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Pyla
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Larnaca but that's not saying much......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 6 times over the last 4 years. I do keep going back as it is the best of a bad bunch. I have family in Larnaca so it is imperitive that I am close to them when I visit, I just wish somebody somewhere could meet the markets requirement for a five star hotel in this town.
The pool area is nice but service around the pool is challanging.
The rooms are clean and i have always been given a free upgrade to a pool facing room which has been nice
The breakfasts are boring and lack imagination
The room showers have very little pressure and if you chose to shower at 7pm sort of time you should brace yourself for a tepid wash
On my last visit I left my electric toothbrush in my room upon checkout which I didnt notice until i had arrived at my second hotel in Protaras later that evening. I called the hotel (they didnt call me) and they advised me that they had thrown my toothbrush in the dustbin but could try and retrieve it if I wanted??!!?? Thanks but no thanks!
I shall no doubt return again to this establishment but I can only hope that one day there will be somewhere else to choose.

Room Tip: choose a high floor at the end of the corridor as the hall area has a timber floor which can be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    68
    50
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
75
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Sandy beach, it's a bit far from Larnaca's city centre so you need to take a taxi which will cost you around 15 euros... The hotel is nice but could be improved, the service was fine, the food was average, Check in was easy. You are allowed to swim at night which we really enjoyed :) We also loved the huge white sunbeds by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a fresh clean look often found in fine boutique hotels . The view to the beach through the pool area and gardens is excellent. Our stay there was very pleasant and we will be returning soon .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangasala, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can recommend this! I was very positively surpriced, the Sandy beach hotel was very good! The staff was friendly. The hotel restaurant wasn't that good (quite expensive, average food, but the waffles was delicious!), but there were several nice tavernas near the hotel. The pool area was lovely and the beach was also good. Only toys in a kids' playroom were worn and partly out of order but our son still enjoyed to play in there.

A taxi from Sandy beach to Larnaka city was about 15 euros and to Oroklini village 10 euros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent two days at Sandy Beach Hotel with colleagues before attending a meeting in Nicosia. It was just perfect what we wanted for: staff is friendly (in general Cypriot people are very nice), food is great, beach is close, pool area is cosy and you have sun even during breakfast on the resto terrace. I would not recommend for a long stay as public transport is not the best from there (every 2-3 hours). But taxi is quite cheap to go to Larnaca for example. Spa and beach is forgettable. I would rate this hotel between 3-4 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel directly on the beach! Friendly staff! Breakfast very nice but the same every morning! Only very very hard boiled eggs! Very clean room every day! Local bus from hotel to centrum and airport nbr. 431 to the airport, nbr. 430 to Larnaca main street, Larnaca centrum every 30 min directly outside the hotel! Only Euro 1,- pr. Person - take the Local blue small busses!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We travel all over the world on both business and pleasure this trip was a combined work and holiday trip for 8 days.
The hotel is classed as 4 star.
I would recommend you take this as a very over rated star rating.2 1/2 - 3 would be more realistic.

The reception area and decor in the public areas is classed as a style hotel approach. It is simple very WHITE but tastefully done and gives a fresh clean welcome.
The bedrooms are basic but reasonably comfortable if somewhat dated. bathroom was very dated.

The Pool area was gorgeous and there are plenty of sun beds for all the guests. The hotel was pretty full whilst we were there.
The bars are well stocked and the staff are welcoming and friendly although they have absolutely no knowledge at all of the drinks that are on the bar menu. They all work there for short terms during high season.
There is hotel entertainment most nights. This is definitely to be avoided if possible. Tunes sung in English by people who don't speak English and all dated from the 70s and 80s... Very painful to listen to.. It was AWFUL
The breakfast is basic with no service at all, it's all self service including the teas and coffees, you usually end up laying your own table as they never quite get round to it!
Over all the hotel really just lacks a room make over and the right staff.
With good management it could be lovely but for an averagely priced hotel (which it is)not bad.
Just don't accept the 4 star rating as the truth or you will be very disappointed.
Requesting a pool view room would be advisable as the rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook the dumping area for all the hotels broken furniture and is a real mess.

Room Tip: Ask to have a pool view as the other side of the hotel over looks the dumping ground for all the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Beachfront Hotel located 12 km from airport. With pools, restaurants, bars, conference facilities, gym and spa, its the perfect place for a holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.