We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Pool Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We travel all over the world on both business and pleasure this trip was a combined work and holiday trip for 8 days.
The hotel is classed as 4 star.
I would recommend you take this as a very over rated star rating.2 1/2 - 3 would be more realistic.

The reception area and decor in the public areas is classed as a style hotel approach. It is simple very WHITE but tastefully done and gives a fresh clean welcome.
The bedrooms are basic but reasonably comfortable if somewhat dated. bathroom was very dated.

The Pool area was gorgeous and there are plenty of sun beds for all the guests. The hotel was pretty full whilst we were there.
The bars are well stocked and the staff are welcoming and friendly although they have absolutely no knowledge at all of the drinks that are on the bar menu. They all work there for short terms during high season.
There is hotel entertainment most nights. This is definitely to be avoided if possible. Tunes sung in English by people who don't speak English and all dated from the 70s and 80s... Very painful to listen to.. It was AWFUL
The breakfast is basic with no service at all, it's all self service including the teas and coffees, you usually end up laying your own table as they never quite get round to it!
Over all the hotel really just lacks a room make over and the right staff.
With good management it could be lovely but for an averagely priced hotel (which it is)not bad.
Just don't accept the 4 star rating as the truth or you will be very disappointed.
Requesting a pool view room would be advisable as the rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook the dumping area for all the hotels broken furniture and is a real mess.

Room Tip: Ask to have a pool view as the other side of the hotel over looks the dumping ground for all the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    54
    16
    10
See reviews for
66
88
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel around a lot and have stayed at many hotels so I can assure you this review will be useful and honest.

Here's a run down from top to bottom

Entrance to the hotel itself - very simple, it doesnt have the wow factor as you drive up to it

Lobby - very pleasant, was really impressed, clean and elegant

Reception - Nice staff, very helpful.

Room (executive) - We stayed in the best standard room on offer, the rooms are nice, great view from our room, bathroom not 4 star, that's my only complaint with the room (needs renovating). Very nice big comfortable bed.

Pool area - Amazing pool area, very beautiful, makes you feel like you are in paradise, the beds by the pool are very relaxing and its so peaceful there. Was sad to leave!

Hotel Beach - Didn't spend much time here but its also good, its shared with 3 hotels but you have your own area.

Restaurant - Food was OK, nice selection, nothing too exciting to be honest

We went for a walk to check out the other hotels nearby and Sandy Beach was the nicest in the area, so it was a good choice.

There's not much to do outside of the hotel, few bars and restaurants, so worth considering the all inclusive option.

Overall this hotel is well worth a visit, its very peaceful and the pool and garden area is one of the best I have seen! I'd give this about 8 out of 10, very enjoyable stay, thank you :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor, towards the end of the hotel nearest the beach, around room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Overall our stay has been very pleasant.Bar staff exceptionally nice and attentive,Big it up to the Polish and Bulgarian,Cyprus girls hard workers,always a smile on their face
So previous comment saying there were not interested maybe it was your "presence" or lack of personality or maybe both
You can't fault the staff,entertainment ain't all that but I don't think Mr Cowell will dropping by anytime soon!hahaha
The rooms are very clean and tidy.The shower was bit old fashion
But overall did its job.the water was overpriced I think it must of been specially imported from Nigra falls
Last but least big it up to Our local friendly cyPrus friend Spiros
Local cafe ,great local food and fantastic manner
Peace Xxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ok my review of the Sandy Beach may not mean much to those looking for a holiday. I stayed only one night at the hotel as my airline had cancelled the flight and put all passengers up at the Sandy Beach Hotel for one or two nights.

Check in was very swift and they were well prepared for our arrival. An old fashioned key was handed over and quick rattly elevator ride later and down a corridor which reminded me of "The Shining" and I was in my room. Very unspectacular: newly tilled floors and a lick of paint on the old furniture turned this small room into a minimalist sort of box which was acceptable for a night. I'm not sure I would want to stay longer though.

Strangely the room had only one electrical outlet and that was in use for the TV. So the choice was watching TV or charging the laptop/phone. Very odd.

Internet was extremely expensive and worked via metered system meaning you have to log in and out all the time.

The bathroom did not get a makeover and was in a dreadful state.

The balcony had two plastic chairs and a tiny table. The view was of the courtyard bar and collected debris on the roof. Not nice. And what was worse was the "entertainment" in the evening: an aging crooner performing cheesy classics from the last 50 years at an incredible volume. Be prepared for no sleep or even TV before midnight. Nightmare.

I had one or two drinks at the courtyard bar and the service was disinterested at best.

I chose to have dinner in the main restaurant which is a self-service affair. It felt like a college canteen, both in relation to the atmosphere (none) and food (bland). Of particular note was the bizarre sexist attitude of the older male staff to young female guests. I could have done without the leering looks on show.

Last point, this is at best a 3 star property and not a 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel as a friend of mine was getting married there. The wedding was lovely, the wedding meal good and the staff very helpful.
I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights sharing a room with 2 friends having pre-booked a triple room. The room however was a twin room with a smaller bed in the corner but we charged full rate. The furniture was dated, the room was small and the bathroom very basic with a weak shower. The air conditioning was old and noisy and not very chilled. Breakfast was ok with the usual offerings. The pool area was pleasant. I am from Cyprus and the beach by the hotel is one of the worst I've been to. Parking was also an issue.
I would rate this hotel as a 3-star maximum and 2 nights there was more than enough.

Room Tip: Don't get a triple room. If there are more than 2 people best to get 2 rooms - it costs almost t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Solo diving trip so stayed for two nights.

Check In
I had a very late arrival at 2:30 am. Security staff checked me in. Very quickly and a bit unfriendly but I was to tired to really worry about the check in quality.

Room
Nice and Clean room; a bit dated.

Staff
Nice and Friendly; check in staff the following morning were friendly. The restuarant staff was also very tentative.

Stella was very kind enough to allow me to have a late check out at 8pm. I was very appreciative that they were able to accomadate.


Resturant.
I had breakfast included. Not a massive selection but still the basics ie. full english breakfast. Had to pay extra for fresh orange juice.

Location
A few hotels on the same road sharing the same beach. A cheap 2 euro bus journey to town takes approx 10mins.

Overall
Not sure if I would go back. But a hotel still worthy of staying; as all the basic facilities are good.
But I have to say the staff were very kind in allowing me to have a very late check out.

I would say this is a very good 3 star hotel; and just border line 4 star.
Would I recommend it ? Yes and No its resonable priced for all the basic amenties.

"Was this review helpful?" PLEASE SELECT YES

Room Tip: If you ask nicely you can get late check out if required. I like to mingle with locals and touris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 10 days in the hotel in July 2012. It wasn't bad, but didn't worth 4-star. Nice territory with fantastic pool, good but always the same food and lovely stuff are advantages of this hotel. But we disliked poor furniture and the roar from the Lordos Hotel, because we booked Superior side sea view room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Beachfront Hotel located 12 km from airport. With pools, restaurants, bars, conference facilities, gym and spa, its the perfect place for a holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.