We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely but 3-star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Sandy Beach to your Saves list
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely but 3-star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 10 days in the hotel in July 2012. It wasn't bad, but didn't worth 4-star. Nice territory with fantastic pool, good but always the same food and lovely stuff are advantages of this hotel. But we disliked poor furniture and the roar from the Lordos Hotel, because we booked Superior side sea view room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    124
    56
    19
    14
See reviews for
74
111
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I bought a 4 nights stay on Groupon, flights transfers and half board, and went in Nov 2011.
First impression: hotel is very nice when you walk in, all white and clean. We arrived at 5am but were not allowed to get into our room so had to wait 5 hrs in the hall before they finally let us go at 10am (bit frustrating, but the sun rising on the beach was a nice thing to see :). The room was ok but nothing exceptional for a 4 stars hotel, clean with 2 comfy beds (what they call double room which can upset some but I kind of like my own space) but very flat pillows :-s. Bathroom was ok and clean but could do with refurbishment. I would have been more fussy if this hadn't been an affordable groupon offer. However, we were promised a "sea view" and yes, you will "see" the ocean if you bend over from the balcony! But mostly, we had view on the car park and bins containers.
Otherwise, the buffets were very nice, we especially enjoyed the breakfast served until 10am, which offers a large choice of food and drinks. How pleasant to drink your tea outside in the sun. We went first week of Nov so the swimming pool was frizzing and so was the sea, but luckily the weather was around 20-25 °C (windy most of the time). We absolutely loved the mattresses around the S-P to sleep and relax after breakfast.
Service in diner room was ok but terrible at the main bar. A couple of barmaid who don't pay attention to you when you talk to them and barely look at you when they serve you a £8 half pint of lager.
The most disappointing bit is that we chose this hotel for its advertised spa, inside pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. In November, we thought it would be nice to get away fro, rainy England and feel warmness and cocooning inside the hotel. Well we found NO SPA, NO JACCUZZI, NO SAUNA, a 3 equipments gym and a 15sqm inside pool with view on the "in progress spa construction" and I can see from more recent comments that this spa is still not ready!! Sorry but they should not advertised something they don't have on site... To sum up, trust the travellers pictures, not the professional ones, don't go if you are desperate for a massage or a friendly and smiley face, but if you want peace and quiet for a few days, relaxing by the pool/sea, it can be a pleasant short break!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My partner and I got allocated to here because our original booking at the Louis Beach Princess (via travel republic) was over booked! We paid and booked in advance for all inclusive so it was carried forward to this hotel.
The hotel itself is very clean and contemporary. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The food is nice.
The service however is a different story - especially when you feel second class because you have paid all inclusive which should not be the case ... The bar staff are ignorant-in the meltemi bar- rude and seem to pay more attention to paying guests and the locals. Our holiday was put on a bit of a downer as our hotel was not the original we paid for - we at least expected to be treated at least equally. Disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at Sandy Beach hotel this week for one night, which was the first night of our wedding (which took place elsewhere). When I called to book the room, the reservations were very polite, and they even agreed to let us stay at the room until 3pm the next day - as we would arrive around 5am in the morning. We booked one of the executive rooms for 154 euros with breakfast. Having visited the hotel several times for wedding receptions and had pleasant experiences, and having booked one of the expensive rooms our expectations were high. However, when we arrived at 5am (still in wedding dress and all) we were greeted grumpily by a very sleepy receptionist who barely looked at us, let alone wish us something for the wedding, and who simply passed the key to us and told us 'third floor'. Needless to say we had to carry our stuff on our own to the room which was quite disappointing for an 'executive room'. It seems that when the hotel was renovated a few years ago they chose the cheapest materials (for example all lightings were from IKEA) while they left the bathrooms the same. There was only shampoo, shower gel and soap provided (I really needed the hair conditioner that night) and there was absolutely nothing complimentary in the room for newlyweds - not even a card! We were woken up early in the morning by maintenance people shouting at each other in the corridor, asking each other for tools from one room to the other! Breakfast the next morning was also disappointing - despite the variety it was not 4 star quality. It is served in a white decorated restaurant downstairs, which may look nice in photos but again has a much cheaper feeling than a 4 star restaurant. We were out by 10am the next morning as we were so disappointed we didnt even want to use the pools. Though it was clean and generally OK, it was simply not worth the money we spent and they definitely didnt treat a newly-wed couple as they should have. We are not going back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked a double room at this hotel, but upon arrival was given a twin room which I have stayed in 2 star hotels that have 10 times better. I was absolutely shocked to be told by the duty manager that a double room comes with twin beds!! Upon quizzing him what is a twin room? He replied a room with two beds?! And the a double room aparrently you have to request a double bed! At which point I pointed the difference only to be told "we can talk about is all evening but it won't change anything"

Absolutely disgraceful behaviour from a duty manager. Motel standard rooms, at 5 star prices.

Avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms unless they pay you to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

One of three similar hotels on the beach strip, the Sandy Beach has a classy lobby and garden which is not quite matched by the small rooms which are somewhat faded. Still a pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is a big resort hotel, nicely decorated with good service (appart from the pool restaurant!)
There are 2 nice swimming pools and access to the beach- the beach area is poor, small and ugly.
Rooms are nice and big.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Beachfront Hotel located 12 km from airport. With pools, restaurants, bars, conference facilities, gym and spa, its the perfect place for a holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Sandy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.