We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lordos Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lordos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Lordos Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 40541, Pyla, Larnaka 6305, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is generally a good hotel whether you are a couple or a family or group.
General Cleanliness was fine.
The rooms are small, once you put 2 suitcases there, it becomes very crowded.
The AC did not always work well - the weather was very hot during my stay.
The beds were not very comfortable, quite hard.
There were not many channels on the TV, but it did have BBC NEWS so
that was a relief! The room does not have Tea Coffee Kettle etc nor a mini
bar, unless one is requested (at extra charge I presume). Complimentary water
bottles on 1st day only. Cheaper to buy more from shops across the road from hotel.
The breakfast was negligible, not a lot of vegetarian choices, anything fried was
actually dripping in oils, re-fills were not done quick enough and the tea coffee machines were
way out of the way, so by the time you get the breakfasts items and leave on your table, and go back to get tea coffee etc, the food has gone cold and V V. On many an occasions I had to hang about for re-filing of foods, fruits, milk and by the time you sit down to enjoy, it has gone
cold. I was here for 7 days and I did not enjoy breakfast 1 day because of this. There was spillage on the floor which was not cleaned promptly, because so many tables are crammed
every where and there was people almost bumping into each other, some with hot beverages in their hands and children running about.
The Pool area was the one good thing, with lots of sunbeds and clean. There is one Jacuzzi, but it is COLD, therefore not very popular.
The beach itself, again lot of sunbeds and someone always there to help you get beds and shade. It is a stoney pebble beach, but there are some areas where children can actually play in the sand. The water was lovely and clear, it was shallow beach for quite a distance and there were a few recreational boats and scooters etc too.
Wifi is only available in the lobby area, so you do find this area quite busy generally.

Room Tip: I think most the of the rooms are side ocean view rooms. Odd Numbers probably better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    137
    63
    21
    11
See reviews for
117
131
19
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel was nice, rooms are very basic but not complaints about them. They are clean and had a nice view of the beach. I didnt enjoy the breakfeast but the food on the menu that I eat during the day was lovely. The swimming pool was very cold so used the indoor pool. Staff are friendly and helpful and always happy to call you a cab. Enjoyed the cocktails in the bar and the bar staff were very kind and friendly. Also had a massage in the spa which I really enjoyed. Overall enjoyed my stay in the hotel and would recommend if you are not fussed about leaving your hotel as there is not much around this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A large group of us spent 5 nights at Lordos Beach Hotel for my brother's wedding. First impression of the hotel was it was clean and more of a family hotel. This is not the usual type of hotel I would stay at but it was nice. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a sea view deluxe room as were part of the wedding group. Staff were really helpful and friendly in making sure everything ran smoothly. Our room was nice and we could tell it was one of the newer rooms but we were slightly cramped with all of our luggage. The AC took a while to start working properly which made it a bit stuffy for a while. We had 2 balconies in our room which was nice. The location of the hotel is good with a short taxi ride to Larnaca town. The beach here isn't very nice with dark stony sand. The ocean looked inviting but the beach area was a huge let down. We spent most of our time on sun loungers by the pool which was nice. The food was nice but only when ordered from the menu, we especially enjoyed the outdoor bar food which was much nicer than the buffet food. Overall we had a good stay here and the wedding ceremony was perfect, just as it was planned and the dinner setting etc was lovely. We really enjoyed the wedding and the way the hotel did everything. We managed to do some quad biking which is located a short walk from the hotel which was fantastic. We would personally not return to this hotel but we had no major complaints, it just wasn't the kind of hotel we would choose but is perfect for families visiting Larnaca. Overall we had a nice time here with our family and the wedding was perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor and sea view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was planning to write my first ever one star review for the Lordos. First of all, the hotel itself is excellent. It is modern, clean with all the facilities you would expect of a 4 star hotel. The room we had was at the front so has a wonderful view over the pools and beach. Breakfast was pretty good and the restaurants looked very good. We only had lunch at the beach bar - that was pretty basic.

The pools were lovely - we enjoyed those very much. And I though the beach was good too. It might be constructed, but it was clean and a nice place to be.

Pretty much everything in place for what should be a 5 star review. However, during our visit there was a big problem. The hotel was booked for what I assume was a wedding reception. Nothing unusual or wrong in that. For this reception, the loud music started by 2200 and did not stop until some time after 0230. After that there was drunken shouting until around 0400. We were not able to sleep, even with our room being on the 4th floor. As far as I am concerned, the most important thing for a hotel to do is provide a good nights sleep. Without that, it cannot be a good hotel. The hotel management really need to think about this - it is not acceptable to ruin the experience of guests that have paid for high quality accommodation.

What has saved this from being a one star review is the help and apology from the reception staff. We were given a late checkout which meant we could recover somewhat from the night.

Room Tip: Front rooms might be noisy - see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Lordos is a nice hotel with generally pleasant staff. Rooms are of good size, and well equiped. The bathroom is modern and the air-conditioning good. The food was good but not great. There was a lack of vegetables at dinner and only ever one choice of potatoe (usually boiled/lightly fried, lots of different meats though. The desserts were ok some days but poor on other days, again a lack of choice was the problem some days. The cocktails in the lounge are good, especially during happy hour! WiFi in the public areas also good.

The pools were great, it's nice to have a choice of pool. There were plenty of sunbeds, although at the weekend there was a bit of shortage as the ones on the beach were sold to non-residents. The beach wasn't good at all.The sand was very coarse and damp/compacted. Lots of pebbles on the beach tool. It's like a man-made beach. There are much better beaches on the island.

The location in general isn't great, there is a lot of empty land nearby and a derelict hotel. There are two other hotels next door and a few bars and restaurants, but not really any night life to speak of.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braganca, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and recommend it.
It has a good breakfast, and very nice leisure areas (swimming pool and beach very close).
It's not very modern but good to go with your family.
It only has free wifi connection in the common areas.
Good connection by bus to the Larnaca airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have been visiting this hotel since 2004 on work trips,and when I got married I took my wife there to share the great experience.This year we are also escaping to this lovely hotel.

The service is great, food is greater, and hospitality is the greatest!!!

And to those with high hotel expectations, trust me Lordos beach will exceed your expectations!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lordos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lordos Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 40541, Pyla, Larnaka 6305, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lordos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lordos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordos Beach Larnaca
Hotel Lordos Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lordos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.