We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service staff are a credit to the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service staff are a credit to the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Cyprus. the staff are first class they are there for you as soon as you arrive at the reception desk and what we liked was all the staff seem so happy which made for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was a treat first class and we could have sat on the veranda over looking the bay all day.
Now just two criticisms the drinks are very expensive which makes for an expensive holiday if you stay with the family kids etc. We would have liked to have tried the restaurant a couple of times in our stay but it just didn't seem reasonable to charge the children who are over 12 the same price as the adults 30 euros ahead we went out every night as their is a good selection of restaurants with in walking distances of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear valued guest,

On behalf of the Management and Employees, I extend a very special thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure receiving your positive review, allowing us to continue for even greater delivery of our Services.

We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. In addition to the Theme Buffet nights you have referred to, a variety of courses is available for A La Carte orders in our Restaurants; moreover, there is a Kids Menu available during Lunch & Dinner, ensuring that even our younger guests are satisfied.

Thank you again for choosing us for your accommodation and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Please do keep in touch by following our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.

Best Regards,
Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    165
    66
    32
    29
See reviews for
134
179
26
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My organization has held multiple, week-long conferences at this hotel and we have been completely satisfied each time. The staff never says "no" and each day our conference rooms were in perfect condition and well supplied with all materials needed. The Food and Beverage Manager, Anthos, was especially accommodating.

It is a lovely location with great food and clean facilities. Prices for room and board are very reasonable. We would not hesitate to use the Golden Bay Beach Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dearest guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is always welcome and highly appreciated.

We thank you for your excellent comments and feedback and hope to welcome you again in the near future; perhaps your next visit to Larnaka will be on a lighter note, allowing you to experience our Hotel’s facilities to its fullest and relax under the warm Cyprus sun with a signature Golden Bay Cocktail, by the swimming pool!

Please do keep in touch by following our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.

Best Regards,
Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I have just arrived at the hotel for my one night stay with my girlfriend . As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a smile and very friendly service . Once we got to our room we had flower petals and swans made out of towels in a love heart shape on the bed . It was beautiful . 5 minutes later there was a nock at the door , it was two very friendly members of staff with a bottle of champagne on ice for us . 10/10 hotel people . Don't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Billy,

On behalf of the entire Golden Bay team, I extend our appreciation for your kind words and encouraging review regarding your recent stay with us!

I am very pleased to see your special time spent at the Golden Bay was a memorable one for you both.

Thank you again for choosing us for your accommodation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Please do keep in touch by following our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.
Wishing you all the best,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Golden bay is the best that larnaca can offer. Service, restaurants, swimming pool and the best beach of Larnaca. Do not settle for less, as you can get the best in competitive prices.
I always use hotel for my clients for service level.
Many thanks to Anthos for his kind and helful assistance into our best vacation ever!
If you need to make your trip magic, golden bay is the entrance to your perfect Holiday in Cyprus!!!

Room Tip: Sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear THOMOPOL,

On behalf of the Management and Employees team of the Golden Bay Beach Hotel, I extend our sincere appreciation for your motivating review! It is a pleasure when our efforts are recognized by our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty and comments, which will undoubtedly be passed on to the rest of the Golden Bay team.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back, during your next holiday ‘escape’ to Larnaka!

Wishing you all the best; until next time, please do keep in touch by following our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.

Best regards,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A bit outside of larnaca. But very beautiful beach, nice food, Great People, overall Great Location to relax ;-)
Transport from the Airport via Taxi costs about 25/30€. It is possible to book tours to travel along the island (e.g. Go to nicosia). Very beautiful

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael,

On behalf of the Management here at the Golden Bay Hotel, I extend our warm regards; Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation during your visit to Cyprus and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Please keep in touch by following our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.

Best regards,
Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights from 18th to 27th June and we could not have chosen a better hotel. The facilities were outstanding, so many choices at breakfast, the access to the beach, the swimming pools and the fitness centre. Each evening there were themed events and the food complemented the entertainment. The choice of food was very good.The rooms were excellent, comfortable and clean and we had a sea view with balcony. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated away from Larnaca itself which we preferred as it was quiet and not overcrowded. But from the Hotel we were able to travel anywhere on the island to Nicosia, Limassol and Pahpos as well as the mountainous area of Troodos visiting both Stavrovouni and Kykkos without any problem and back within the day. We hired a car but there are bus services with bus stops outside the hotel. Just across the road there are shops and restaurants and even car hire facilities. Free WiFi in rooms and thoughout. We definitely would come back to this hotel and already are thinking how soon we can do this. Thank you to all the staff and management at Golden Beach for a fantastic and memorable stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very good. Most of the side view have views to the sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mr. David,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Golden Bay Hotel. It is a pleasure when guests validate our efforts to assure them a comfortable and satisfying stay.

I am happy you had the chance to visit several areas of Cyprus, escaping from the coast to mountains, from modern to tradition within a day, giving you new experiences and memories to treasure!

Thank you for choosing us as your hosts during your holiday in Cyprus. We are delighted to see you are already making plans to return! Our aim is to ensure a comfortable holiday and top facilities to our Golden guests and make new friends along the way.

On behalf of the Management & all team members, I extend our sincere appreciation for your kind words and look forward to welcome you back, soon!

Best regards,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is not even a 4 star, I stayed in a renovated room that was a hashed job. The bathroom door was missing a hinge which made the door unsafe. The wardrobes wouldn't open' the paint work on the door frames didn't go to the floor and just stopped 3 inches from the floor. The bed valance was filthy and the chaise longues was filthy and scuffed with food residue down the creases.

The cleanliness of the room was appalling, the shower door was stained from the previous guest. The floor was not clean and the mini bar was so dirty it was full of crumbs and sticky stains from the previous guests that was not cleaned for my entire stay. The night before my departure I wanted a vodka so opened the mini bar and took it out to find it was already opened and the vodka was replaced with water, I had been there for 5 nights and it hadn't been cleaned or checked.

When the inadequate air conditioning was on it smelt of pee.

The pillows were hard and it felt like the feathers or sponge was matted.

The corridor on my "renovated floor" was dirty, smelly and badly lit, the lifts were always dirty. There was no attention to cleanliness. There were never any cleaners through the day ensuring the public areas were up to 5 star standards. As you walked through the hotel there was an underlying smell. The staff in the breakfast area and Thallassa restaurant are made to wear black polyester clothes which is totally unsuitable for a holiday resort, the uniforms were old and all looked dirty, faded and uncomfortable which made me uncomfortable.

The cleaner in the breakfast area had holes in her shoes and her uniform was faded and old. The pool manager was very pleasant but how a 5 star hotel allows someone that works with the guests, "front of house" if you like to have a nail that is an inch long is beyond me, someone who deals with food and serves drinks should not be allowed to grow the nail on his little finger! It begs the question of what goes on behind the scenes ?

I have been to cleaner 3 star hotels. I would not recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't go there I'd you want 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. Mellie,

Your review and personal thoughts regarding your recent stay with us are most appreciated and welcome. It is without a doubt very valuable to have our guests’ point of view, so we can, as a Management team to resolve all matters and ensure a comfortable stay for everyone.

I am sorry to read you were unsatisfied during your stay at our premises. Had we received any of these issues during your stay, we would have had the opportunity to make amends and ensure you a comfortable and worry-free stay.

All your points and comments will be taken very seriously and acted upon.

Please, do contact me directly, so we can discuss these matters further.

Once again, thank you for your notes and we wish you all the best.

Best regards,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla
0.1 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Princess Beach Hotel
Princess Beach Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oroklini
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
20.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#6 of 68 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frixos Suites Hotel apts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.