We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay but not 5-star quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPECIAL RATES MAY
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay but not 5-star quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights during high-season. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms and interior of the hotel are comfortable. Also the breakfast was very rich and the room service dining options were tasty and of good quality. The beach was also nice, water is shallow and warm and the hotel arranges water sports. The hotel also offers hair salon services which were quite good. The pool is shallow (1.35 m) which is safer for children.
However...the hotel is a far cry from being 5-star. The level of luxury does not even come close to that of other 5 or even 4 stars hotels elsewhere. The interior and especially the exterior are not well kept and are in need of restoration. The pool is one of the smallest I have encountered at beach side hotels and when crowded there is no way you can enjoy it.
My biggest issue about this hotel was cleanness. Even though the corridors were constantly occupied by the cleaning staff, our room would often not be ready before 3 pm. Also, the room was never adequately cleaned (dirty glasses, strange smell) and the elevators and corridors leading to the pool area were never quite clean-despite the staff's best efforts. Also, there is no free WiFi anywhere in the hotel.
It is worth the stay if you can get a good deal on it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are at a low floor facing the Ouzeri restaurant. The music entertainment organized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Christiana,

Thank you for taking the time to note your feedback and review on your recent stay with us! We appreciate and value all comments, both positive and negative, as each one gives us the opportunity to take steps to improve where necessary and offer nothing but excellence! We are grateful for your kind words towards our staff members, as everyone at the Golden Bay aim to offer their utmost to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay! Should a guest experience any inconvenience or concerns, our members are always attentive and at one’s disposal.
The hotel offers all facilities of a 5-star service; it is important to note that all rooms and interior communal areas have been recently renovated, portraying a more modern and fresh appearance. We would highly appreciate if you could point out what you feel could be progressed, thus assisting us to make all necessary amendments to improve! Please note, we are always open to new suggestions and ideas you may have; simply forward an e-mail to guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Regarding the Wi-Fi, there is a charge of €6,00 for a 24h connection with a coverage of all public areas, including the pool area and seaside. However, the hotel also offers the option of free internet access, with the use of our Internet room, located at the lobby area. This is available 24h for all guests.
In relation to the Housekeeping room service, we do apologize for any inconvenience the delay may have caused; we would like to underline that all guests have the possibility to choose their preferred time of room cleaning, by placing the relevant card on the door knob; priority is given to the earliest, while other rooms are prepared in turns. Had you mentioned this incident to a member of the front desk, we could have resolved it immediately.
Despite these issues, we do hope you had the opportunity to participate in our variety of animation and activities programmes during your weekly stay and enjoyed the Golden Leisure Club facilities and treatments!
We do hope of a future visit so we can offer you a truly relaxing stay and 5-star service.
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
(guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    145
    62
    27
    28
See reviews for
114
161
24
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms are nice with a great sea view, but the hotel over all is a bit old and needs renovation, the pool side area was crowded and children were running every where, the location is ok, just 15 mins to finikoudes street with lots of shops and resaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Samira,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in August; We appreciate and value all comments, as each one gives us the opportunity to take steps to improve where necessary and offer nothing but excellence.
In relation to your remark, it is important to note that the Hotel has undergone a number of renovations and has upgraded its facilities and amenities offered, ensuring excellence and quality to all guests. Regarding the crowded pool you mentioned dear guest, we would like to highlight that the Golden Bay was completely fully booked during your days of stay with us; in no way however did the pool exceed the number of bathers, recommended for safety reasons! Moreover, lifeguards and pool attendants are always on duty, thus kids are asked not to run around the pool; should a guest experience any inconvenience or frustration, our members are always at one’s disposal, to attend to every need. However, your note will be raised to the pool attendants.
The hotel, as mentioned, is approximately a 15-minute drive from the city centre, with transportation easily accessed and at reasonable rates (fare for the public bus €1.00 per route, bus stop outside hotel entrance and €12 for a private taxi drive). During Summer months, the routes are more frequent with the last bus leaving the Hotel at 23:55. Indeed, a ride to the centre of Larnaca is a ‘must’ for all guests!
We do hope of a future visit; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again!
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I really cannot believe this hotel has a 5 star rating! My husband and I are in Cyprus again, we are lucky enough to have an apt here. Every trip we usually go away to visit friends or to have a hotel break and have had some very pleasant ones. Yesterday was our 31st wedding anniversary so we had arranged a one night stay in conjunction with a wreck dive in Larnica Bay.
The Golden Bay is descibed as a modern hotel, but in what decade?
Reception staff very friendly and welcoming and our room was ready although it was 1 pm. The amount of bits of paper given to you regarding towels, loungers, wifi access, lift access was baffling! Anyway off to our room via the miniscule elevator. What can I say we were shocked! A really miserable room. Tired old looking brown curtains. Hard beds with even older looking amber bedspreads. Balcony depressing. Oh well we thought its only one night and its handy for the dive shop.
One restaurant available for lunch across from the noisy overcrowded pool area. Buffet available but opted for a la carte. Wine list... none. Housewine thats it! My husband ordered a tuna pita and I ordered a club sandwich. Simple... It was the sorriest looking club sandwich I have ever seen and after one soggy mouthful I gave up and shared my husbands pita. The friendly waitress was concerned and agreed the club sandwich was not up to standard and offered an alternative which I declined and we were told we would not be charged for the sandwich which was fine.
On returning to our room we checked out what restaurants were available for dinner. Didn't feel excited and upon seeing the room again decided to go home. Unfortunately when we booked the hotel we had a problem with their website so went to another and pre paid the hotel. For a 180 euros a night this hotel was atrocious. We were offered a room upgrade at check out but the damage had been done as we found the hotel facilities poor.
It was a relief to get in the car, we'll just drive the round trip for the dive. I know we all have different standards but 5 stars it' a joke! We laughed about on the way back and spent an enjoyable anniversary at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Erica,

We are surprised by your feedback and sorry you feel this way; the Golden Bay is the only 5* Hotel in Larnaca, for a reason. It covers all standards of a 5* hotel and is considered modern in 2013. It was built in 1983 and has been undergoing renovations and refurbishments since, with the last wave of renovations completed in 2013. All rooms on all floors are newly renovated with all modern facilities and amenities! The rooms have a different décor on each floor, thus had you given us the opportunity we could have shown you an alternative room, closer to your likings. Our rooms on the 4th floor have lighter colours and a wonderful view; you were also offered an upgrade, since it was your Anniversary as well; however, our proposition was declined. Regarding the crowded and noisy pool you mentioned, we would like to highlight that the Golden Bay was completely fully booked during your day of visit; We feel your arguments are unjustifiable and do not represent the Hotels’ real image, especially since you only spent 1 hour on the Hotel’s premises; Rest assured, should a guest experience any inconvenience or concerns, our staff members are always at one’s disposal, to attend to every need, as long as we are informed in time..
We do hope of a future visit and the opportunity to validate that the Golden Bay has all the modern facilities to ensure a very relaxing and enjoyable stay to every guest and every need.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Here we are my husband and I back home from a paradise on earth. We so wish we could afford yet another week at The Golden Bay Beach Hotel. It'll certainly take us a while to go back to daily routine here in London. We both loved this hotel so much that we are certainly going back next year. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool and the sea. Cleanliness in the room was just perfect - the bath towels were like velvet to me and smelt fresh lavender.

We were on half board terms but on our third day we changed it to full board. The food was so delicious that it can put The Ritz to shame considering the reasonable pricing. We really loved the Cypriot Night last night - it was such a magical experience on our last night and we loved the scents and taste of the local cuisine.

We didn't spend much time at the pool, though - the beach was so inviting!, just a few steps away. But we truly loved ice cold beers at the pool bar and cocktails! We also appreciated the fact that there was no loud music playing on the beach like last year at Rodos Palace in Rhrodes. The service was also very good.

We have been to many 5- star hotels all over the world. The Golden Bay in Larnaca was the best ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and exceptional review regarding your recent stay at the Golden Bay Beach Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great comments which allow us to feel delighted we met our guests’ expectations, as all staff members do their utmost to offer all our guests a welcoming and relaxing stay.
It is a pleasure to see you had the opportunity to enjoy delicious cocktails beside the pool bar under the sun; We do hope you had the time and energy to participate in our variety of animation and activities programmes during your stay and enjoyed the Golden Leisure Club facilities and treatments;
Indeed the Golden Bay Cyprus Festival on Monday was the highlight of the week; everyone had an amazing evening, both staff members and guests! Our Cyprus & Rembetiki nights are very much loved by all guests, as they portray the islands’ superb festivities and dishes!
We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future!
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The service is not the best. But the lady at the reception 'ero' is a lovely person, gr8 help and suggested amazing places to visit.

Service could be better.
Sea, pool and leisure are gr8. Food and beverage are nice too.
The activities inside the hotel are quiete engaging. But if you are going for night life and fun , golden bay is far from that. You will need to take taxis and buses

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to note your feedback regarding your recent stay with us this August; It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests as we are always open to new ideas and suggestions as to improve and offer the best experience and a relaxing stay!
Your special regards to our Ero are sincerely appreciated; she has received your comment! Rest assured, that should a guest experience any inconvenience or requires information, all our Golden Bay team members are at one’s disposal, attending to every need.
We hope you had the opportunity to participate in our variety of animation and activities programmes during your stay and enjoyed the Golden Leisure Club facilities and treatments;
The hotel is approximately a 15-minute drive from the city centre, with transportation easily accessed and at reasonable rates (fare for the public bus €1.00 per route, bus stop outside hotel entrance and €12 for a private taxi drive). During Summer months, the routes are more frequent with the last bus leaving the Hotel at 23:55.
We would highly appreciate if you could point out anything you believe could be progressed regarding the service, thus assisting us to make all necessary amendments to improve! Please note, we are always open to new suggestions and ideas you may have; simply forward an e-mail to guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
We do hope of a future visit; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again!
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit Sahur, null, Palestine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

hotel looked great, but service is not of a good quality, beds are terribly un comfortable, bathroom ropes are very old, torn, and a spider came rolling out of one of them.
the air-condition had to be fixed three times until it worked, and not so good either.
restaurant is without air conditioning, in august you cannot even eat in the heat and high humidity.
we learned that you book your umbrella and seats around the pool, so you find people booking best seats for 8 days without even showing up, while others cannot find ones to set on.
hair dresser is terrible, not professional and my hair didn't last until I reached the room.
when you book a massage, they tell you sorry fully booked, come tomorrow, well ... am leaving tomorrow, they just say sorry.
food is not of a good quality, and not much variety we visited a 4 star hotels that serves better food.
staff not so friendly and not so cooperative.
we will definitely not visit again.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Golden Bay. We appreciate and value all comments, as each one gives us the opportunity to take steps to improve where necessary and offer nothing but excellence.
Please rest assured that should a guest experience any inconvenience or concerns, our staff are always at one’s disposal, to attend to every need. Accept our apologies for any incidents and misunderstandings may have occurred during your stay. We assure you that this will be reviewed.
In regards to the massage occurrence, unfortunately on those specific days the hotel was fully booked, so was the massage appointment book; it is always advisable for all guests to make arrangements in advance when requiring Leisure Club treatments and massage; we do apologize for the inconvenience!
Regarding the reservation of sunbeds and umbrellas, this is mostly received as a ‘plus’ factor from all our guests, especially during the busy summer months, when the hotel is fully booked; in this way, each guest can hold on to a specific sun-bed throughout their stay, so as to avoid confusion and any inconvenience. Pool attendants are present throughout the day should a guest require assistance or has any inconvenience; additional sunbeds may be placed if required and requested.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, promising you an even more enjoyable stay!

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I have been to the Golden Bay Hotel from 5/7/2013 to 8/7/2013. The hotel is a bit far from the center,you can't find a lot of things next to you,but the hotel has a wonderful relaxing clean beach and a big pool. The rooms are renovated but there cleanless should be ameliorated.The bathroom and the shower are a bit old so when you take a shower all the floor will be wet.
The breakfast was more than excellent, a big variety of international food and good taste.
Lunch was not very tasty so next time I go to Cyprus I prefere eating in a restaurant!
The only thing that I didn't like was the reservation of the beach chairs and umbrellas.the satff are very friendly and helpful! I will certainly go again to this hotel in my next trip to Cyprus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Rizkallah,

Thank you for taking the time to note your feedback regarding your recent stay with us this July; It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests as we are always open to new suggestions to improve and offer the best experience and a relaxing stay!
Indeed, the hotel is approximately a 15-minute drive from the hotel, with transportation easily accessed and at reasonable rates (fare for the public bus €1.00 per route, bus stop outside hotel entrance and €12 for a private taxi drive). During Summer months, the routes are more frequent with the last bus leaving the Hotel at 23:55.
We offer the reservation of the sunbeds and umbrellas as a ‘plus’ factor for all our guests, especially during the busy summer months, when the hotel is fully booked; in this way, each guest can hold on to a specific sunbed throughout their stay, so as to avoid confusion and any inconvenience.
We are delighted you have plans to return and visit us once again! It would be a sincere pleasure to welcome you and your family back.
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.