We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a ***** Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a ***** Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First impressions from the photos in the brochure and on the internet the place looks appealing, after all it is rated as a 5 star hotel. Walking in through reception the staff were welcoming and friendly, we were welcomed with a refreshment and shown to our room on the 3rd floor. Although late arriving at the hotel, the staff accommodated us by providing food from the A La Carte menu. (We had paid for Half board) 5 star a la carte it was not. Back in the room the beds were hard and looking under the beds it looked like the room had not been cleaned for months although the rest of the room was very clean. We used the spa/swimming pool/gym the following day and although the indoor pool was very clean, the jacuzzi was not working, when having a shower the water stunk and if someone was having a shower in the cubicle next door you were left with no water. Half board only includes pool and gym by the way. It was an extra 8 euros for sauna and jacuzzi but on the first day the jacuzzi did not work and ended flooding the gym. On the second day the sauna stopped working.

Moving on to dinner the A La Carte menu for Half board guests left much to be desired. If it were not for the Womens' Canadian and Italian teams staying at the hotel then a buffet would not have been offerred to us. although even the buffet food which was meant to be hot was cold. The customer service provided by some of the waiters left much to be desired from a 5 star establishment; with plates and glasses being slammed onto the tables and staff leaning over customers while they were eating to hastily remove unused plates without apologising to the cutomer. However, not all doom and gloom as the desserts were very good.

The weather was good at a sunny 21 degress and relaxing in the indoor pool pretty much every day improved the holiday.

With regard the area itself the hotel is near a power station and is a 15 Euro taxi ride to the centre of Larnaca. This time of year nothing is open in the vicinity bar a couple of pubs and restaurants and ofcourse the bingo hall which is heaving every night.

Would not return to this hotel because of the poor quality of evening food and the spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    173
    69
    34
    30
See reviews for
143
188
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel is nice, clean, but it depends on which floor/room you stay.
As it is a 5 star hotel you have some expectations... Free WiFi internet it is not on of those. You have to pay 20 Euro/week for free wi-fi which is very poor in connection. You need to stay near your room's door to get a better signal. There is an "Internet Room" with 2 computers, but for me it was not an option. The water pressure is poor, but you have free parking slot.

I recommend taking a room with breakfast and dinner included. The restaurant staff is very kind and helpful, but the meals are average. The breakfast and the dinner buffet are ok. If you don't have it included in you room you have to pay 10 Euros/dinner/person. They have nice desserts :)
Cyprus is a very expensive country. I eat at 2 taverns near the hotel and the meals were poor in both quality and dimensions and expensive. A tavern from Greece is Paradise compared to a tavern from Larnaca.

Overall people are very helpful and friendly and they will help you if you need something. So do ask! :)

Have a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stay here for the night with work. The hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was quiet as it was out of season but i can imagine this hotel is lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. Paula,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at the Golden Bay Beach Hotel; all of our guests’ feedback are greatly appreciated and valued. Indeed, the Hotel is full of life and energy during Summer season, with various entertainment and animation programmes, special theme nights and of course the chance for our guests to enjoy the beautiful golden private beach. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again at your leisure, so you may make the most of our facilities and allow us to offer you the best!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As others already observed, this is not a 5-Star hotel...at least not if you have been to places like Dubai, New York or London. This reminds more of a hotel you would get at an airport when you want to save money and just crash for a few hours. Rooms were clean and staff very nice. Breakfast was terrible, better take short cab ride to the only Starbucks! Internet service was horrible and surprising that they even charge you for the 5-10 minutes per day that you may actually get any connection!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our first family holiday with our three month old and had a lovely stay. The junior suite was great, and as we couldn't go out to eat, we availed ourselves of room service, which was not bad at all! Breakfast was a good mix for all diets..,whether you want to be super-healthy or splash out and be naughty!

Location-wise, it's a little on the disappointing side. There are a loy of unfinished buildings left to rot in the area, and getting into Larnaca is a bit of a fag, although taxis and buses make it possible. If we did it again, I would hire a car, no question.

However - and this is the crux - if you want a good beach, quiet place, great pools and restaurants and have no intention of exploring the island or going out partying, then this is the place to be.

Recommended on basis of hotel and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my second time there. After a surprising upgrade and a courtesy bottle of wine, of course would write a good review, but well deserved.
private beach is excellent. The bar staff are extremely friendly. Theme nights are great. Some great typical english pubs across the road. Not too far from Larnaca. Rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Not that close to Larnaca, but still worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Golden Bay once more and for taking the time to post such a kind feedback; we are delighted to have offered you a pleasant stay, meeting your expectations and making you feel comfortable! It is our pleasure to make our guests feel special and offer the finest services. Regarding the location of the Hotel, Larnaca centre is approximately a 15-minute drive from the hotel, with transportation easily accessed, by public bus or private taxi (fare for the public bus €1.00 per route, bus stop outside hotel entrance).
We look forward welcoming you back again soon.
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have spent an excellent long week-end together with my family in Golden Bay Hotel. The hotel is outside Larnaca ( even they will say different ) but it has an excellent location. The staff is very friendly. We have been updated FOR FREE to junior suite with jacuzzi on the balcony! The food was very good , maybe the buffet could be better. Excellent place , fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Ask for junior suite at first level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear bibicu,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review regarding your visit last November. It is always a pleasure to read positive and gratifying comments from our dearest guests, as we aim to offer the most excellent 5* accommodation! It is a pleasure to surprise our guests in the most positive way with a potential upgrade, meeting every expectation and more; we hope we ensured a memorable and relaxing weekly stay and hope to see you again soon, to make new and more remarkable memories!
Please keep in touch with us through Facebook and keep up to date with our news by visiting our website and keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.
We appreciate your comment regarding the buffet, any suggestions for what would improve it are most welcome! Please do send me a message (guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy) with any ideas you feel would make our buffet more interesting.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla
0.1 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Princess Beach Hotel
Princess Beach Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oroklini
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
20.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 68 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
17.5 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#9 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.