We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stay here for the night with work. The hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was quiet as it was out of season but i can imagine this hotel is lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. Paula,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at the Golden Bay Beach Hotel; all of our guests’ feedback are greatly appreciated and valued. Indeed, the Hotel is full of life and energy during Summer season, with various entertainment and animation programmes, special theme nights and of course the chance for our guests to enjoy the beautiful golden private beach. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again at your leisure, so you may make the most of our facilities and allow us to offer you the best!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    156
    62
    30
    29
See reviews for
125
172
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As others already observed, this is not a 5-Star hotel...at least not if you have been to places like Dubai, New York or London. This reminds more of a hotel you would get at an airport when you want to save money and just crash for a few hours. Rooms were clean and staff very nice. Breakfast was terrible, better take short cab ride to the only Starbucks! Internet service was horrible and surprising that they even charge you for the 5-10 minutes per day that you may actually get any connection!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our first family holiday with our three month old and had a lovely stay. The junior suite was great, and as we couldn't go out to eat, we availed ourselves of room service, which was not bad at all! Breakfast was a good mix for all diets..,whether you want to be super-healthy or splash out and be naughty!

Location-wise, it's a little on the disappointing side. There are a loy of unfinished buildings left to rot in the area, and getting into Larnaca is a bit of a fag, although taxis and buses make it possible. If we did it again, I would hire a car, no question.

However - and this is the crux - if you want a good beach, quiet place, great pools and restaurants and have no intention of exploring the island or going out partying, then this is the place to be.

Recommended on basis of hotel and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my second time there. After a surprising upgrade and a courtesy bottle of wine, of course would write a good review, but well deserved.
private beach is excellent. The bar staff are extremely friendly. Theme nights are great. Some great typical english pubs across the road. Not too far from Larnaca. Rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Not that close to Larnaca, but still worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Golden Bay once more and for taking the time to post such a kind feedback; we are delighted to have offered you a pleasant stay, meeting your expectations and making you feel comfortable! It is our pleasure to make our guests feel special and offer the finest services. Regarding the location of the Hotel, Larnaca centre is approximately a 15-minute drive from the hotel, with transportation easily accessed, by public bus or private taxi (fare for the public bus €1.00 per route, bus stop outside hotel entrance).
We look forward welcoming you back again soon.
Please keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have spent an excellent long week-end together with my family in Golden Bay Hotel. The hotel is outside Larnaca ( even they will say different ) but it has an excellent location. The staff is very friendly. We have been updated FOR FREE to junior suite with jacuzzi on the balcony! The food was very good , maybe the buffet could be better. Excellent place , fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Ask for junior suite at first level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear bibicu,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review regarding your visit last November. It is always a pleasure to read positive and gratifying comments from our dearest guests, as we aim to offer the most excellent 5* accommodation! It is a pleasure to surprise our guests in the most positive way with a potential upgrade, meeting every expectation and more; we hope we ensured a memorable and relaxing weekly stay and hope to see you again soon, to make new and more remarkable memories!
Please keep in touch with us through Facebook and keep up to date with our news by visiting our website and keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus”.
We appreciate your comment regarding the buffet, any suggestions for what would improve it are most welcome! Please do send me a message (guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy) with any ideas you feel would make our buffet more interesting.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on business, in Nov so the hotel was partly closed - no restaurant choice etc.
Rooms large, clean and a good bed - basic TV, nice balcony space shame everyone smokes so much making it a necessity to shut the balcony doors. No decent chairs to sit and type on a pc in the rooms and its dark in there.
Irritating 6 Euro a day charge for wifi but decent connection.
Food very average - breakfast uninspired but nice ot eat outside in the autumn sun.
The hotel is 16km from the airport - and taxi fares are extreme - this time of year there are very few local restaurants so its eat at the hotel or hire a car.Would reccommend staying in Larnaca for this alone.
Car hire in Cyprus a rip off from start to finish look out for the full petrol tank scam even with the multinationals, and can you find a fuel station which is manned - NOPE - so you have to guess the fill level.
Someone told me this is 5 star - but I cannot think how, other than the price - its UK equivalent good 3 star.

Room Tip: Aim high, ask to look away from the bar / restaurant to minimise the smoke and noise form below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just spent four nights at this hotel and in general had a good time. However, the hotel in my opinion is in need of redecoration and is a bit tired in places especially the bathrooms and some of the bedrooms. We had a large room with a huge balcony and private Jacuzzi which was a bit tacky, but my family still enjoyed it. The walk in shower in the bathroom leaked badly whenever it was used, so a great deal of mopping up needed to be done after useing it. The sink in the bathroom was also blocked and took ages to run away. The staff in the main though were very helpful and honoured our requests when necessary.
I was a bit disappointed by the fact that the hotel claims to have several restaurants but they don’t say that there’s only one open at a time and as it was late in the season and lacking in customers the restaurant was dead! with no atmosphere at all and a bit canteen like. The food wasn’t bad but not you’re normal five star quality. It was my son’s birthday during our stay and the hotel did provide a cake and a free bottle of champagne which was quite generous of them. The half board is also not what it seems as we were not told that it didn’t apply to the pool bar dining, so we wasted our money not going to the restaurant in the evenings.
They also claim to have entertainment and show different acts on the notice board, but the only thing we saw was a pianist in the bar, who was playing to an empty space.
The other room occupied by the rest of our family had a shared Jacuzzi with a smaller patio area. The bathroom was in the same condition as ours and I noticed what looked like dry or wet rot on the door surround, which you don’t expect to see in a five star hotel. They also had ants in their room and had to have it sprayed which left it smelling very toxic, so we had to have the baby in our room until it cleared. The hotel itself looked and appeared clean although we found a pair of socks under the couch in our room.
The maid also threw away some microwave bags for sterilising baby’s bottles, which was a bit annoying as we had to go out and buy a sterilising until that cost 25 euros. The hotel did give us the money for it in the end but as it was too big for us to take back, we had to leave it there anyway. They were not forthcoming with the cost of the taxi which we had to get to buy it though.
Having said all that the staff, especially room service were excellent and delivered our requests quickly and efficiently. The bar staff were also very attentive too.

Room Tip: go for the private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka City 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.