We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPECIAL RATES MAY
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I picked the hotel largely based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is on the beach with great location and amenities: pools (indoor and out), terraces, bars, and clean modern rooms. The fitness room is one of the best for weight machines. The Shakespeare Bar is a bit of old England but otherwise the place is all Cyprus. I hosted a business meeting in one of their conference rooms and we were well served with no interruptions. The hotel staff arranged pickups at the airport and made us feel like we were the only ones there, although they hosted families and even a Persian New Years celebration. Not a “swinging” or loud hotel. Friendly to families and business types but did also see some young honeymooners. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the Larnaca airport which is one of the most accessible for US air carriers. At night you can see the Larnaca city lights on the other side of the bay but the hotel is only 10 minutes from the downtown Larnaca city Promenade and attractions like Lazarus’ Church.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor which was just renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to post such positive feedback! We welcome all comments from our guests and our main aim is to make each customer feel welcomed and comfortable at our hotel. You really have highlighted the great vital aspects of Golden Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Nicole Solomon
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    151
    62
    28
    28
See reviews for
118
165
24
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Faded glory comes to mind-the staff are really helpful but overall the hotel seems to have sen better days. I was here on business for two nights and nothing to complain about but also nothing to get excited about. Very low occupancy out of season which doesnt help but as is often the case when dining room staff have only one table to look after they seem to spend the time chatting to each other-we would have had at least another round of drinks if they had been interested-food was good at dinner and reasonably priced for a "5" star hotel-would be 4 star at most in most places and maybe not that-breakfast was ordinary and staff very slow to clear tables . Wil I come again-probably-location works for my business-prices out of season are very good but certainly no WOW hered

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators and stairs as the area was very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your visit here at the Golden Bay last month. It is a pity you weren’t taken by the hotel’s unique and relaxing environment, however we are always looking at new ways to improve where necessary and your feedback is greatly valued.

With the hotel currently in full swing with the high summer season fast approaching, we are sure to cater for all our customers’ needs, whether they being business related or family orientated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Nicole Solomon
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a few nights at the Golden Bay in Larnaca last weekend. I was a bit dubious about the location as we were driving up to the hotel. Admittedly, we were holidaying out of season, but there was a distinctly downmarket vibe to the area, made all the worse by the fact it was completely dead. The hotel is located on a small strip of shops and restaurants wedged between oil refineries and industrial estates, hardly a beauty spot. The beach is pretty grim too, although the surrounding countryside is pretty and typically Mediterranean. I am always suspicious of European 5* rated hotels, simply because they do not pass muster with international standards, and sadly I was right about this property. I would rate it as a decent 3*, but 5* it is not. Check in was relatively easy, the lobby is light and airy but could definitely do with an update. We were located on the first floor with a charming view of the delivery entrance and bins, as well as dilapidated sunbeds, and general trash. The room was one of the more modern, furnished rooms, but the corridors and door fittings still need updating - there was a big 1in gap at the bottom of our door. Unfortunately, I needed hospital treatment during my stay and the hotel staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast was decent with an OK selection of hot and cold items, juices and hot drinks. One day we wanted to relax by the pool but this as impossible as there was drilling / banging / maintenance work going on which meant the entire poolside was deserted. The in-pool bar was also closed due to being fixed. This was annoying as we couldn't use the outdoor facilities at all, and retreated to our room. Location is outside Larnaca so a taxi will cost you 10 - 15euro to get into town. There are a couple of OK-ish restaurants on the strip outside the hotel. Overall, I would not stay here again - the hotel needs major updating, the location is poor and there are far nicer places to stay in Cyprus. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We really do value all comments – both positive and negative – as we are always looking to make improvements where necessary.

We can understand how you felt about the area seeming rather quiet previously during low season; although located 10km away from Larnaka town centre, the hotel does offer beautiful tranquil surroundings – spectacular in the summer – being situated right on the Mediterranean coast. We would like to clarify that all the hotel’s renovations have now been completed and there is comfort and luxury combined in our refurbished rooms and Golden Leisure Club. Also, the hotel’s outdoor facilities are now in operation, our free-form pool being the centre of attraction and ultimate relaxation in the sun.

Unfortunately, it appears that the side sea view room you booked was located at the rear of the hotel, hence why your balcony view was not comparable with rooms at the front of the hotel facing the sea. However, all of our standard rooms – recently renovated on the top floors – have a side sea view.

Notably, in the summer peak season, Golden Bay is full of energy and entertainment, as there is plenty for our guests to enjoy and a variety of activities, excursions and restaurants we recommend within Larnaka. We really hope of a future visit where you can appreciate the five star hotel at its fullest!

Kind regards,
Nicole Solomon
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Spend one night there.
staff was nice and helpful.
I said I'm getting married, and they sent champaign and we got a late check out.
did not use the pool or spa.
The location is a bit far from down town. taxi cost 10-12 euros to get there (16 minutes ride).
breakfast was ok, nothing special.
views from the hotel were nice.
the hotel is old, but in good condition. you can see the 80's style in the marble floor. but at least it is clean.
the renovated new room are ok. tv with 40 channels. a/c.
bathroom is small and very basic.
not sure this place worth the price we paid, but i know there are not many good places in Larnaca.
wifi cost 6 euros which is too much. they have a pc that you can use for free with internet.
one thing that was missing - Hair conditioner. I had to go out and buy it for my spouse...we did not bring one because every hotel provide it....not this one.

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms (first floors and now i think also 2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post your comments. We hope that as a wedding couple, you both enjoyed your stay her at the Golden Bay.

With all renovations now completed, all rooms on each floor are modernized and well-furnished – with parquet wooden flooring – and they provide the amenities and comfort needed by all guests.
We would like to mention that the shampoo provided has a conditioning agent; should there be anything missing in the room, our staff is present to meet all your requirements and make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Nicole Solomon
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was very pleased with the service and excellent staff. The hotel is OK but rather old. The locattion is good. Though there was a surprize for an hotel of this class regarding the SPA. You need to pay USD 80 per person to access sauna, hamman and jaccuzi. Being a guest gives you only access to the swimming pool and the gym.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback! The Golden Bay Beach Hotel has been fully renovated recently with the last of the renovations just finished this month. We would like to clarify that there is a charge of EURO 8 per person to use the jacuzzi. steam room and sauna, not USD 80 as you have mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards, Nicole Solomon, Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel is located on a beach some 20 minutes by road from the international airport and a little further from Larnaca. It is on a broad sandy beach with the expanse of the Mediterranean sea in front.

Although it's an old hotel, it is well maintained, and my room appeared to have been refurbished. It was a cosy room with wooden floor and a balcony with a view of the sea. All the modern amenities of a 4-star hotel were there - flatscreen TV, shaving mirror in bathroom, bedroom slippers, toweled dressing gown, etc. I found the room comfortable, well-maintained and restful.

The dining room has a view of the sea and the buffet for breakfast and dinner were generally excellent. Staff were friendly and attentive with good service when I asked for skimmed milk, which wasn't available at the buffet breakfast.

There are a few shops near the hotel but otherwise it's in a quiet area with other hotels and residences nearby, so it's ideal as a beach getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor - the views of the sea are very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We hope that you and your friends enjoyed a relaxing holiday here at the Golden Bay; our 5 star hotel is most definitely a place of tranquillity and beauty and our main aim is to ensure all guests enjoy the comfort and luxuries we offer.
With the hotel now having finished its last wave of renovations, it is assured that the finest modern facilities are provided for all our guests at the newly refurbished leisure club and in the well-furnished rooms, all with modern parquet flooring as you've mentioned.
The hotel has restaurants and shops nearby and Larnaka town centre is just 10-15 minutes away by car and with regular transport available, one can explore the wonderful sights and surroundings of Larnaka itself.
We hope to welcome you back again at the Golden Bay! You can also find us on Facebook if you search page for 'goldenbaycyprus'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Went here with my other half, we chose this location as a friend was getting married nearby. When we arrived the room we was given looked nothing like the website, was very dated and looked like something out of the 70's! I went and complained and was given one of the newer refubished rooms, which was fab!

There was always space by the pool the beach was at the back of the hotel and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very standard but we had no complaints, the room service and restaurant menu were great.

The only downside to this hotel was we felt a bit isolated, there are three hotels and a few shops then nothing for about a 20 minute walk. Larnaca town was only a short bus journey and not too expensive (do not try and walk it like we did lol) so this was not a major issue but for those who would like something a bit more buzzing this is probably not the place for you. As our first holiday as a couple though it was perfect!!

We will never forget this place and still always rant on about it! Hoping to return in about 20 years if its still standing!! :)

Room Tip: We had side sea view and it was fine, make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmeserlian, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Although Golden Bay is located away from Larnaca town centre, it has all the facilities and luxuries one needs to have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday; as well as a newly refurbished leisure club, rooms on the last floor are now being renovated and will be finished and in service by the middle of February, so all rooms are now more modern.
The staff is more than happy to help advise where the best sights, shops, restaurants and cultural heritages are in Cyprus, many being close by in Laranca itself! Taxi service from the hotel costs just 12-15 EURO and takes only 10-15 minutes to get to the town centre. Or, buses as you’ve mentioned, are cheap and regular so one can easily get to and from Larnaca.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so you can appreciate Golden Bay at its fullest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.