We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Mariandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mariandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariandy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road - Pyla, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Pyla
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My stay at the Mariandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First I need to qualify my stay. I was diving on the wreck of the Zenobia in February the closed season, winter if you prefer, in Larnaca. The hotel was having building work done and so when the season starts the hotel could be very different from when I stayed there.

I found all the staff to be very friendly. On a couple of nights I ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and plentyfull.

The room had all that I needed. A comfortable bed, a shower and a toilet. There was a television as well but as I did not turn it on I do not know what it is like. There was a balcony that I spent some time on but as I had other things to do not much time. The view is not spectacular now they have built some apartments between the sea and the hotel but a 100 metre walk takes you to the beach. The room had seen better days but as I say the builders were in so who knows what the rooms will look like later this year. During my stay the room was kept spotless.

Some of the facilities the hotel has that I did not use were: outside pools, gym, sauna and steam room. If you are visiting the Zenobia with Alpha Divers then this is the closest hotel to their dive centre.

For a very friendly hotel near the beach with very comfortable beds I cannot praise the Mariandy enough. It is not the Ritz but also it is not the cost of the RItz.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haapsalu, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First - to welcome, we waiting our room key 1,5 hours. Finally, at 14:30 we take it. Second - it's a worst view ever from the balcon( look at to the picture). Not recommend rooms from first floor. The hotel location is good - 15 minutes with bus to Larnaca Bay (tickets 1 euro and with taxi 10 euros). Dinner and breakfast - nothing special, but ok.Staff was friendly (i mean girls, not hotel manager).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We rested in the hotel from late July to early August this year. For a relaxing holiday at a reasonable price - perfect! The hotel is 15 minutes by bus from the central promenade of Larnaka. I think that it is his huge plus! 5-8 minutes walk to the beach opposite the hotel .... and you are almost alone on a clean beach.
The hotel is not new, but clean. Housekeeping - daily, bed linen and towels - ones every three days.
Breakfasts and dinners are rather monotonous, but tasty. And it is not so much fruits on the tables (( But! If you buy (order) meal - lunch or dinner, the chef prepares great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The transfer from airport was good. Arrived at hotel 9.00pm to hot meal. If you travel half board then expect to pay €2.50 for a cup nescafe and not latte etc! Just powdered coffee, €3 for small glass wine and our spends in three days was €58.00 and thats just for few drinks!! Buses into town are random and you will wait an hour or more. Bus shelters are open so expect to burn in the heat while you wait!! The evening meals are set and you will just be handed a plate and will have to accept whats on it! Breakfast is the same every day and there is no choice at all. I come from Cyprus and overall I rate this hotel very poor indeed, having stayed in many hotels across cyprus and this is the worse. The beds are rock hard, shower doesnt work and the TV is unuasable. The bath was nice and deep but emptied itself while you were in it!, Luckily we are only here for a week so not too much of a loss but overall this
hotel is a bad mistake!
You heard the saying- you get what you pay for? well in this case you certainly do not!!

Room Tip: Tell the owner you want beach facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godollo, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my brother from 2th till 9th August this year.

This hotel has 30 rooms of which 27 have a view to Larnaca Bay and 3 open to the land. We were accommodated in one of the 3 side rooms (see the uploaded photos). The hotel is located in Larnaca Bay which is about 7-8 kilometres from Larnaca which is within easy reach by bus (the bus stop is only two minutes from the hotel on foot). The hotel is surrounded by private apartments but there are some larger hotels (Lordos Beach, Golden Bay) rougly a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There are some restaurants and shops in front of those hotels. The beach is 200 metres away.

The hotel has two small pools, one is for children and the other one is for adults (depth ranging from 0,9 metres to 1,5 metres).

The hotel is open for non-residents who have to pay for sunbeds which are free for the guests of the hotel. Despite the fact that anyone can come in and have a swim, the pool area never gets crowded.

If you are a fussy eater then do not expect too much from this place but the quality of food was good. Breakfast is the same every morning, including sliced bread, two kinds of ham, two kinds of cheese, boiled eggs, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, some fruits, jam, butter, tea and orange juice. It is served in buffet style. Dinner is usually one kind of meat dish, pasta, side dishes (usually made of rice), salads and fruits (melon, peach or grape) also in buffet style. There is an opportunity to have lunch at the hotel, you can order burgers, steaks, snacks etc. or they offer "all inclusive light" service which includes breakfast, lunch (one type of dish, no choice), dinner and two drinks for each meal, so the consumption of drinks is not unlimited. The quality of lunch was always good, it was served to the table with salads and fruits.

The size of our room was adequate but the bathroom was small.

They have daily room service but bed linens and towels are changed every three days. Towels were not always clean. When we arrived we found that the air conditioner was not working but the staff was quick to repair it and we did not have any problems with it during our stay. Sleeping quality is relatively good but sometimes people make some noise by shutting the doors (mainly children) and if you book this place, take into account that it is located next to a main road which also creates some noise (even at night). Tha safe costs 2 EUR/day. Every othes item is also charged (dairdryer for eg.).

The staff is very friendly, if you have any requests they will act immediately. They are in good command of English and do everything for your pleasant stay.

The hotel offers some additional services which are not characteristic to a two star hotel (sauna, jacuzzi and a gym). I cannot give you any information on them as we did not use them. What I am sure of is that they are not free, you have to pay for using them.

On balance, this is a good hotel if you take into account that it has only two stars. Since the quality of food is already good, if they can make any improvement on the choice and offer a more appropriate room service (meaning the daily change of towels for eg.) they will certainly deserve one more star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view to Larnaca Bay, the side rooms do not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed here 20-27 March.We were on halfboard basis.Continental breakfast was good with ham,cheese,bread,boiled eggs,cereals,coffee,orangejuice and fresh fruits.Dinner was served to the table(changed to buffestyle in the end of week when more guests arrived)always with a salad and a dip,bread ,water and fresh fruits.If you like to go out and eat there are lot of restaurants in both directions from the hotel.We ate at Vlachos Tavern a couple of times.Good food and great service.
Goodsized room with large balcony and seaview.Close to the beach.Next to main road so it was a bit noisy at times.
The bathroom was very small with a showercabin.We later discovered that most of the rooms have a bathtub and i believe they are a bit bigger.Our room was next to the elevator and it made a lot of noise so ask for a room away from it.
The poolarea was closed but it was no problem to get out sunbeds if you wanted to.We even got service out there from the bar inside.I dont know about cleaning of the pool but i took a svim and it was warm enough for me.
Bus stop to Larnaca just across the street but since we have been to Cyprus before we went to the city only once,by foot.Took about 1 1/2 hours one way.
You can also take a taxi,costs 10 euro.
The beach is mostly sandy and about 5 km long.
We would go back to Larnaca Bay and Hotel Mariandy is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant,Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding(september 2005), and could not fault a thing, staff were more than happy to help with every whimper. service to pool side was superb also, taxi drivers were 'scaringly quick' and cheap compared to the uk. Hotel was what I would call well above average for a 2 star hotel of this calibre,certainly better than most 3 stars in the uk. We had an incident were the 'local' ambulance service was needed,however they were not that local at all.turned up and did not seem like the drivers knew what they were doing considering the person we were with was in need of medical attention.All this said I could not dault hotel one bit.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariandy Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road - Pyla, Pyla, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariandy Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariandy Hotel Our hotel is a two stars hotel and is situated to the tourist area of Larnaka 200 meters from the beach. The hotel consists of 58 rooms and is completed with many other facilities that can make us proud for its category. It has been fully renovated and refurnished so it can provide a luxury, relaxed and joyful holiday to its clients. Additionally it meets the European standards and demands in the field of tourism in general.The secret of our success is the hospitality and family atmosphere we offer to our clients. In our rooms we can provide you with TV and satellite channels, music channel, fully air condition and safe box service. Also we can offer to you the chance from your room to surf in internet and combine holiday and work by upgrading your room in to business room in some hours. All rooms are sea view and with their own balcony. In our hotel you can find bar and restaurant to relax with a drink and enjoy a delicious meal. You can combine the above by enjoying also the Cyprus Sun in our swimming pool area were both children and adults pool is provided. In addition to that give some joy and fun to your holidays by joining us to the aerobics session we organize every now and then. You can also improve your body figure by using our facilities for gym, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath. In general we also add some entertainment nights in the hotel like Cyprus Nights with traditional food and music as well as some disco nights. Also we can undertake for you any organized group holiday and provide you with all kind of services you will request. By closing this small summary for our hotel the only thing we can say and promise is that we know how to give you a pleasant holiday so you can try us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mariandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.