We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special to celebrate this is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse

Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse
Hotel de Paris | Place du Casino, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
+377 98 06 88 64
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Monte-Carlo
Price range: $177 - $379
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since its opening, within the Hotel de Paris authenticity and culinary elegance have always been delicately combined at restaurant Le Louis XV.The menu, a Mediterranean and seasonal symphony of a style that Alain Ducasse qualifies in one word as « essential », suggests a wide pallet of exquisite dishes. The wine cellar, filled with 400 000 bottles, is a wine aficionados' dream.Indulge in this elegant room set in light and gold or on the terrace for lunch or dinner.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something special to celebrate this is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have eaten here many time, it is very formal, some say the staff are austere, not my experience, as I tend to be friendly maybe that's the reason, I found the staff just fantastic, they wear white gloves so it's old french. The food has never disappointed, although one of the best meals I have had, hard to rate which I would consider the best

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    53
    40
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

What can one say! A truly remarkable restaurant with outstanding food and excellent service. A must is you are in Monaco.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

To begin with, the lunch menu at Louis XV is an excellent deal, although I am not sure people who dine here are looking to save money.

In any case, the restaurant is well deserving of its three stars and is at the pinnacle of French haute cuisine and service.

The service is completely flawless and while very formal is also friendly. I had a pleasant table and found the waiters engaging but not hovering. The dining room is extravagant in a baroque/rococo style but it is all a bit superficial and generally one is reminded that this is still just a restaurant and one is not ACTUALLY Louis XV dining at Versailles.

The food is magnificent. I am generally somewhat jaded about food, but I found it remarkable that such novel flavors could be coaxed out of such a classic cooking style. There is no molecular gastronomy here. The "three course" lunch menu ended up being really more like several courses, with an almost interminable series of desserts/cheeses/mignardises at the end. I wished I could try more of the mignardises, but by then was so stuffed it was unseemly.

The sommelier made an excellent recommendation for wine, which I greatly enjoyed.

At the end, I asked the waiter to take a photo of me - he offered to take me to the kitchen for a photo with the chefs, which was fantastic.

Overall I had no complaints and this is easily one of the best meals I have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Trois Étoiles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Expectations were high as I prefer Classic French, Michelin over most other styles and surely this has to be one of the best settings in the World for this cuisine! Absolutely amazing from start to finish, service was faultless, welcoming and friendly yet professional.

Okay, so the Waterside inn got me into 'Bag hooks' but the tables here have beautiful, tiny little pink bag stools! The room is absolutely beautiful, service wise we had everything we could have asked for at exactly the right time. Opted for the lunch menu and it was exceptional value, courgette flower crisps, followed by root vegetables appetiser, I selected the lobster soup as a starter and it was truly amazing, the excess was left on a beautiful soup trolley next to us 'Some more Madame?' - yes was the answer! Chose the Guinea Fowl main and although my husband chose the milk fed lamb, which was good, I defiantly chose well! The cheese trolley was, as expected amazing, such an enormous selection, I was struggling by this point! The wine, which was included was great had a 2005 red, which matched our food well. Dessert was beautiful but I began to fall at the final hurdles as the enormous selection of Alain Ducasse chocolates, macaroons and treats came out, if that wasn't enough- toffees, marshmallows and jellies! Damn! If only I had had room!

An incredible experience, will return as quickly as possible! Such amazing value and very thankful to have been staying as we managed to limp up to the room! Only just!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What can I say. Outstanding food, faultless service in one of the most beautiful restaurants! It is quite pricey but thats quite normal for 3 Michelin starred restaurants in 5 starred hotels so definitely worth the experience..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse also viewed

 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 

Been to Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Louis XV - Alain Ducasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.