We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Novotel Monte Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Blvd Princesse Charlotte, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The good: fantastic location, convenient, easy to find (if you use the right exit from the station) and you can reach everything in Monaco in a 10 minute walk.

The bad: The price. Are you serious? €200 a night, room only, for a NOVOTEL? This is extraordinary effrontery and as flagrant an example of traveller exploitation as I have seen. While it's true that the majority of finance departments would be unlikely to sign off an invoice from the Hermitage and one must view the cost within the context of a very expensive destination, if you're looking for value for money, this is, most definitely, not it.

The bad, v2: In the name of all that is holy, do not order room service here. EVER. Returning from work events late at night, I made the catastrophic mistake of ordering a club sandwich, which is quite possibly the least pleasant thing I have ever eaten. And I've had a pasty at the top of the Rock of Gibraltar. For €15, an accompanying crescent of supermarket crisps is really not that much to ask. And €19 for a very ordinary breakfast doesn't do much to redeem the situation.

In summary, if you go there and the budget understandably doesn't stretch to a Loews hairpin view at the Fairmont, this is a reasonable compromise. Just don't go there hungry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    575
    147
    26
    19
See reviews for
352
497
70
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Large and clean rooms, very nice bed, not far from Port Hercule using the elevators, informal environment (no dress-code, thanks God !), nice and friendly staff. Only the restaurant could remain open for longer hours (it closes at 10:00 pm). An excellent cost x benefit ratio for Montecarlo ! I definetly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i had been staying mostly in ibis hotels for my 4 week trip around france but decided to treat myself to an upgrade whilst in Monaco for only one night - it was definitely worth it. the hotel is very close to the train station that i could walk with my heavy bag. it is centrally located and within walking distance to most shops and the famous monte carlo casion (although wearing heels is not a good idea as it is a steep descent and climb). the staff were extremely nice and the food at the hotel restaurant was very nice. i was there in the low season so i guess i had a little more attention available but it was wonderful. they also have a lovely pool and the views are pretty nice, even at night - would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms facing the road are quiet and cheaper, but you are facing people's home so if you want a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stay in Novotel's and other members of the Accor group regularly and with the 'copy paste' decor, you can never go wrong normally.

I pre booked at a price of €178 for one night room only, which is a €20 saving vs the rack rate.

The hotel is superbly located only 5 mins from the Casino, Hotel de Paris and Cafe de Paris, as well as only 5 mins walk from the main SNCF rail station (first left then 5 mins walk slightly uphill)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 Nights,could not fault it, within walking distance for train and bus station close to Casino square and cafe de paris a must for people watching!Hotel staff very helpfull and friendly.A memorable experience all for the right reasons,fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is very new and is a great location.
Service was great and the pool area was lovely. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that, Hotel was well signposted from train station and I have to say the location is perfect for explring the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on our travels to Italy. Very good location, about 5 minutes to the casino.. a MUST do!! Very cheap cost compared to other hotels i looked at. Rooms are very modern, spacious and mine had both a bath and shower so there was no fighting when getting ready at night. The hotel staff could not be more helpful and booked cabs and made restaurant reservations with no problem. Have a drive round the race track, window shop and walk along the sea front to see the yachts. Make sure that you take a cab number with you at all times and cabs do not stop if you put your hand out which we found out the first night when we got stuck.. If you do have trouble, ask a bar as they are more than happy to help. Best place i have been to so far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Monte Carlo

Address: 16 Blvd Princesse Charlotte, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Monte Carlo hotel is situated in the heart of the principality, just a short walk from the train station, the Place du Casino and the Grimaldi Forum. It has 218 rooms (including 11 Junior Suites), some with stunning views over the Rock of Monaco and the sea. It also boasts a restaurant, a bar and 12 rooms for meetings and conferences. The Novotel Monte Carlo is ideal for business travel or weekends in Monaco as a couple or with family. A secure public car park is available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Novotel Hotel Monte Carlo
Accor Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.