We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
View of the apartment from the palace.  I have circled where the apartment is.
Apartment Building
Living room
Kitchen area and breakfast bar
Monte-Carlo
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
siamese2J...
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spacious and lovely apartment with fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home (reluctantly) from this lovely apartment, it has everything you need and excellent wifi access, the welcome pack was also a lovely little touch. We were very kindly collected from the bus station located at the Jardin Exotique from the ever helpful Karen, what a gem!! On arrival at the apartment we were very impressed with the location, cleanliness, generous balcony and wonderful sea views as promised, indeed all the comforts of home plus the addition of an air conditioning unit in the bedroom which was very welcome at this time of year. I would have no hesitation in recommending this apartment to anyone wanting to stay close to all the action of Monaco/Montecarlo but without the hefty price tag!! and the owners David and Lana were an absolute pleasure to deal with service with a smile :)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EvaS7
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I don't know where to start writing this review. I moved to the apartment end of December in order to look for something else due to my 6 month stay in Monaco. I couldn't leave this place and after a bit I decided to stay. Upon my arrival Karen (who is an amazingly nice Australian woman) showed me in. She explained every single detail of the apartment, from where extra towels are to the heaters or the kitchen equipment. Then I enjoyed my first nights and I was stunned every single morning by the sunrise. The apartment has the perfect altitude. You are not too high for the stairs but not too low so you have the best out of everything. My university was very close and it took me 7 minutes to walk to the stadium. The apartment has everything you need. Even extra light bulbs and all kind of adapters. I had once a problem with the washing machine and it leaked a bit of water. I wrote to David & Lana and they immediately took care of it. All emergency numbers are written next to the door in case if you have a problem. The apartment has even a baby chair and a childrens bed. The public bus stops are very close (its a 1 min or 5 min walk). The parking outside is a bit small but we managed even with a big car to park we just left it with two wheels on the street. The apartment is very quiet. I never heard anything. I had from time to time a guest and they always slept on the sofa bed downstairs. There is a door which can be closed between the floors so you don't hear anything. There is also a small bathroom downstairs so your guests don't have to bother. At the end of my stay David & Lana immediately transferred back my deposit and they were always very reliable. I am traveling a lot and I can only recommend this place. Thank you fort his time David & Lana and thank you Karen for being so nice.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Redtitian
London, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delightful Place & Great Find. We'd Definitely Use This Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife (who is much better than me at these things!) found this place and it was absolutely fabulous! The owner was really helpful and the apartment contained everything we could need. It was quiet, secure, clean, comfortable and everything worked (including the wireless), so what more could we ask for! OK, so it was not really close into the centre of Monaco, but the 10 minute walk was quite acceptable (much of it off-road). There are a lot of steps/hills to climb, (so not recommended for the more fragile!), but this IS Monaco, where hills are to be expected! The upside of this is the view, which was fabulous: the balcony overlooked to Palace.

There is a dedicated but VERY tight parking space (we just managed to squeeze in a VW Golf - anything bigger would not fit) on the roadside. Watch out for low-level protrusions, which would be very unforgiving to paintwork! Most of the time however, we walked everywhere, so having somewhere to leave the vehicle long-term was very welcomed.

Overall, this was an excellent choice for those who want a decent, reasonably priced place to stay within easy access of central Monaco.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment and the view
Liked least: The hilly walk - but to be expected in Monaco!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the apartment, we hope to welcome you back soon :-)

We have now included a picture of the parking space within our photos online. It is a long space but not the widest, although we do manage to get our 4x4 on there with a squeeze. The good thing is that the road is pretty quiet and the parking space is right in front of the entrance to the apartment building.

Thanks again for your lovely comments, we work hard to try and make the apartment a home from home and appreciate all feedback.

Kind regards,

David & Lana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JuliaPBFl...
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apt with an amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This apt was great. Very modern & clean. The welcome pack upon arrival was a nice touch and it was like home from home. The views are terrific from the balcony.....a wonderful place to relax at any time of the day/ evening. David & Lana were very patient in answering all my emails & questions.....perfect hosts!
The private parking is only suitable for a small car....my VW Polo just fitted on. There are numerous steps to and from the harbour & shops......which does take its toll...but you feel much fitter at the end of your hols! Alternatively, there is always the bus :0)
One of my best holidays!!!!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view & all the creature comforts
Liked least: The 176 steps from the harbour & shops to apt.......ok if your fit!!! Small parking space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
si_kpc
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment set on the hillside with great views of Monaco and the Med sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Having arrived in town by bus from Nice Airport, we were greeted by Karen at the pre-arranged time. The apartment is well maintained on a quiet street, there's even a parking space if you choose to drive there.

Upon entering the property, we liked that it is clean, fresh, neutral and non cluttered. It was a nice touch to have some fresh bread and a chilled Rose waiting for us too. We had breakfast and lunch out on the balcony everyday as it is south facing so you get the sun (when it's not cloudy) pretty much all day.

Bedroom and bathroom facilities are perfect for us as a couple. We noticed there was a travel cot too which is handy for those with a small child.
And again, a portable A/C unit is a nice touch as it was starting to get quite warm in July.

Location wise, we loved it because it was near enough to the centre of Monaco so we walked it from the apartment to Monaco-ville in approx. 15mins or you can take a short bus ride. If you don't want to go even as far as that, there is a great selection of restaurants down by the port de Fontvieille. Try the Beef Bar for great steak and wine!

The only thing to watch out for is the first time you walk to town, remember where all the very convenient public lifts are as they can be a life saver when coming back up the hill :-)

If you like some beach action, we'd recommend taking a walk along the coastal path heading west to Plage Mala as it's much quieter than the main beach in Monaco ville. There's also a beach nearer to the apartment (10 mins down the hill) called Plage Marquet.

We'd definitely go back there as it's perfect for a short getaway where the climate is predictably good.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and the apartment itself.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MrsLovely...
York England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

You should book if you are reading this.
We had a great stay.
Every thing is as advertised.
If you hire a car a smaller one is better,parking is at a premium anywhere on the French Riviera and it is easier to manoeuvre on the busy streets.
Many thanks to David and lana for their patience answering my countless queries.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ETtravel0...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was a well presented and spotlessly clean place with every conceivable extra , you need for nothing. Great views over the sea and toward the palace from the large balcony .

The No5 bus stops only 50 feet from the front door of the building and takes you down to the port for 2 euro or buy a 24 hr pass for 5 euro. be aware the service stops at 9pm and it is quite hard to get a taxi back up to the apartment ! the walk is only 10~15 minutes , but there are 176 steps to climb from the lower road and after a meal and a couple of drinks and a warm evening this climb is a killer. So if your fit for walking and enjoy this all the better.

Dealing with David and Lana Beatty was a pleasure as they helped us with our awkward arrival and departure dates without question, and replied really quickly confirming at each stage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: I loved the View from the balcony
Liked least: just the climb up at night
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$157
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
David B
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2013
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 75 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing