We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Monte-Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Monte-Carlo to your Saves list
Columbus Monte-Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was very impressed with this beautiful property and it's rich decor, luxury, cleanliness, level of service was absolutely wonderful. Staff were very hospitable, friendly, and attentive. This is easily the most personal & impressive hotel experience I have ever had the pleasure of indulging in. The rooms are quiet, spacious and immaculately presented. Overall, this is avery classy hotel in a great location with flawless service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for these kind and appreciative comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and our staff attitude. Very rewarding for us. We hope to welcome you again at Columbus. Kind regard. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    280
    95
    37
    16
See reviews for
82
296
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel Columbus is a good option to visit Montecarlo. The pros: it's right by Monaco's helipad that connects the principality with Nice's Airport, so if you can pay 120€ per person per trip to the airport by helicopter, the Columbus is a good option. The cons; it's right by the heli-pad, so depending on when you have your room facing, you may hear the helicopters landing or taking-off from time to time. The truth is I didn't hear anything, maybe because my room faced the other side of the building, but also because the helicopters take off and land taking a route opposite to the hotel. The breakfast was good and the personnel correct. The rooms are a little small and the wifi non-existent. I had no wife coverage in my room, so I went walking all my floor just to see that the signal was very weak in all areas. If you need conectivity to work, you will have problems in this hotel. The other problem might be the distance to the city center. Montecarlo is a small city, but even so, you will need to walk up to 40 minutes, for example, to the Grimaldi Forum or the Casino. You will need a taxi, but there're really problems to get taxis in Monaco. They simply don't come or come late most of the times. Be prepare to walk if you go to the Columbus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea and the gardens (not the main entrance) not just for the better view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for forwarding your comments and for mentioning that you did not hear the heliport when you have a room facing the sea and the Monaco old town. Sorry to hear about your WIFI problems, this happens sometimes but that is not a usual rule, you seem to have been particularly unlucky on your stay. Next to the taxis, we also have a free shuttle bus to take you downtown (upon request at the conciergerie) and the bus stop is just around the corner and the bus schedule is very regular and considering the small Monaco territory, this is a very convenient way to get to the Grimaldi Forum. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

If you've been to Monaco you'd know it's built for the richest people in the world (in which I am not one of them)

It's hard to find good quality places at a reasonable price unless you go over to beausoleil. But even in beausoleil you won't get the quality.

This has everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. And it's a stone throw from the helipad that takes you to the airport (a Monaco must experience)

I would gladly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind comments, may I just add that we are not a 5star hotel, but a 3star, our future guests might be disappointed once they find out. with best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Columbus for two nights as part of a 21st Birthday present and it met all of our expectations. We had a slight problem during our stay, as we left some expensive sunglasses at a restaurant near the Casino and cannot thank the Columbus Hotel's concierge enough for going out of their way to retrieve them for us. Every aspect of the hotel was brilliant and we were even upgraded on arrival as a surprise. The suite was lovely! The only slightly negative point was the distance of the hotel from the Casino Square, however that is reflected in the price you pay at the hotel, and there are taxis, buses and the hotel even provide a shuttle to take you to that area if you don't want to walk. Overall EVERY SINGLE member of staff that we came into contact with were completely professional and friendly, and we will definately come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your birthday present. Great comments, many thanks for taking the time to forward youir appreciations. And that 's very smart from our conciergerie to have been able to retrieve your sunglasses. See you again very soon at Columbus. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 for 3 nights and found the hotel absolutely wonderful.

Finding it is no problem at all - it is right near one of the bus stops, or alternatively on the other side of the Helipad. Which leads me in to location - couldn't be better. You are right on the main bus route, and only minutes walk to Fontveille Centre where you will find all sorts of shops, a shopping mall and a supermarket. Walk the other way (turn left with your back to the hotel) and you can follow the port around until you get to Fontveille Harbour - lots of cafes here and it's really quite lovely on an evening to walk around and have a drink. Yes the hotel is in a residential area, but it is by no means too far out at all. The night bus stops just near the hotel if you wish to party all night at Port Hercule, so there are no issues.

Service at the hotel was wonderful; consiege were brilliant and so, so helpful. Every day when I went to ask about how to get around and where to go, the girl stood with me and showed me on a map various routes and gave me places to visit on my way. Really helpful and will try their very best to assist.

Check in and check out was effortless. We stayed in a Deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the Rose Garden. Whoever says the rooms are small needs to have a good think - certainly not small! Very spacious, modern inside, and really lovely bathroom. Room was cleaned to a very high standard every day - no issues at all.

The bar is really sweet - relaxing atmosphere and really good drinks. Of course a premium but a) you are in Monaco and b) you are in a hotel. Therefore, a premium is to be expected. If not, don't come to Monaco - simple. Ladies I suggest you go on Thursdays as it is half price drinks on Ladies Night and try the Princess Grace cocktail. only sold at this place, and I think it is pink Moet. You get little nibbles (olives etc) to eat too.

Restaurant was really good. Breakfast - continental, your usual suspects but this was fine. Waiters were very attentive and filled up teas and coffees regularly, and were extremely chatty if you so wished to chat. Evening - pricey food but very nice. You get what you pay for. We had the burger and it was really beautiful. As I say, pricey (and you can get some dishes in Cafe de Paris cheaper!!!) but the quality was fabulous. I see they do a business lunch menu now and i am looking forward to trying that next time.

All in all, a fantastic hotel with brilliant staff and perfect location. That perfect, we are going back again. Thanks to all the staff who helped our stay along last time and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Keep up the good work.

There really isn't many negatives I can say about the hotel (I am trying) - the main one would probably be price of food and drinks but again...expect it. And it's certainly not bank shatteringly expensive.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Rose Garden if you can, as it's really pretty to look out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, this is a very detailed, informative and kind report about your stay at Columbus and we sincerely thank you for giving so many information and feedback to our future guests. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and generally speaking in Monaco and hope to see you back very soon to Columbus. The Business Lunch is really a good deal with a dish, a dessert, a soft and coffee at 23 € during the weekdays. with warmest regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked the two bedroom suite (904). Three balcony's and very clean and organized boutique hotel. The concierges, Patrick and Vanessa were awesome. Booking three dinners at great restaurants, arranging for a Jet Ski outing for two 20-somethings (Wow!) and making the hotel van available to all who asked for a ride.

Room Tip: All suites are on the 9th floor. Only 1 two-bedroom (includes a large living room with desk and wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind report. The 904 Apartment (the only one in the hotel) includes 2 large bedrooms (one twin-bedded, one large bedded) with 2 bathrooms and a lounge inbetween. The terraces have loungers and you can use large walk-in wardrobe. This is our largest suite. The 9th floor has only Suites and larger one with a door between the bedroom and the lounge, but we do have one Suite on each other floor with direct seaview and terrace. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Monaco and hope to see you back at Columbus at some point. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Columbus is certainly one of the best value for money places to stay in Monaco. The hotel is modern, comfortable, and has all the facilities you could need, including a shuttle into Casino Square which is useful considering it is not located right in the heart of Monte Carlo. The most outstanding thing about this hotel is definitely the service, nothing is too much trouble. Not only did the staff make reservations for us in Monaco and get us onto the guest list at a venue we wanted to attend, they also helped to get us onto the guest list for a club in Cannes a night before we even checked in, the staff really went the extra mile to make our stay all it could be. We will certainly stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward your nice comments to Tripadvisor. They will be very useful to our future visitors. We have forwarded your appreciation to the staff as all messages provided, it's very rewarding to see the guests appreciate their efforts and the service given at the hotel. Many thanks and we hope to see you back to Columbus in the near future. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Monte-Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.