We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Columbus - great value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Monte-Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Monte-Carlo to your Saves list
Columbus Monte-Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Columbus - great value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed for one night pre-cruise at the Hotel Columbus and were quite satisfied with the accommodations and the hotel staff. Everyone was courteous and worked hard to please us. Our accommodations (KIng Suite Sea View) was generous in size and with breakfast and shuttle included, a bargain for Monte Carlo. Unfortunately the free WiFi was insufficient for my needs (FaceTime my kids back home), and although I upgraded to the superior package, I was still unable to get a proper connection to contact my kids. When mentioned upon checkout, the clerk was quick to cancel the charges. Due to time restraints we were unable to avail ourselves of the included breakfast, but when I popped in to pick up two coffees to go....from what I saw, I wish we had time to stay. The hotel was clean and not tired at all. I would recommend this establishment AND I would definitely stay there if we ever passed through Monte Carlo again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest, very kind from you to have forwarded your kind comments onto Tripadvisor with such compliments and informative details. This will be very helpful for our future guests, especially as we have quite a lot of guests staying here before leaving on a cruise. We are sorry to hear about the disfunction of the WIFI, most of the time it is working very well, it can be slow at certain periods. Again many thanks. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    280
    95
    37
    16
See reviews for
82
296
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Columbus with my husband and son last week for my son's birthday. All of the hotel staff, and especially Claudine were extremely helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make my son's birthday special. It is definitely the best service and reception we have had from staff in any of the hotels we have stayed at, and we have stayed in more expensive hotels which did not measure up to the Columbus. We had a great room on the 7th Floor with a lovely view over the Princess Grace garden. The buffet breakfast was also very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a relaxing stay in a lovely quiet area. Thank you for a great holiday to remember.

Room Tip: higher floors have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest, well what I can say, just a huge thank you for your kind comments for the staff and me in particular :-)) we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and gave your son a nice birthday ! see you back to Columbus very soon. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel room was quite nice although we found it incredibly hot in our room. The air conditioner was not active (they have only heating in November). We had to sleep with our window (and curtain) wide open in order to feel remotely comfortable at night. The free wifi was a little annoying. It required you to login every time you used your device. The hotel is located in a quieter area of Monaco and our room had a lovely view over the Princess Grace gardens. Car parking was an additional cost although the provide valet parking in their secure underground car park. Staff were fabulous and provided excellent service. All of our encounters with staff were very positive and they were all very friendly. We would stay here again although it would be good if each room had control of the temperature controls and not dictated by the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and experienced a nice welcome from our staff. Regarding the heating system in your room, we can assure you can manage the temperature from your room as you have a thermostat to regulate the heat or the air conditioning. We hope to see you back to Columbus very soon. Kind regards, Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at least 10 times in the past year and a half. The hotel is very good. Maybe a bit out of the center but hey, this is Monaco everything is close by. On the other hand it is just next to the sea on one side and rose garden on the other.
The rooms are spacious and quiet and the beds comfy. Now to spoil the picture a bit: there are some rooms that are not so great. So be sure you get a room with a balcony and that this is a proper balcony with a table and chairs. The ones without a balcony have small windows which make them rather dark and in the summer they can be stuffy.
Breakfast is OK. Nothing fancy but the restaurant is nice and the staff nice.
There is an outdoor swimming pool with a sea view and it is big enough to actually have a swim.
And if you like jogging there is a great path along the sea. Just cross the rose garden and the Cap d'Ail marina.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind and detailed information to our future guests. This is always helpful for them to read some comments especially hearing that you have been a regular guest and can therefore point out the different services experienced at several visits and different times. with kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice helpful staff, good breakfast. Slightly dated - if you need to charge your phone the plug sockets are all a bit behind the furniture, but this is a good hotel in a quiet part of town. I prefer to have a kettle to make my own tea which they dont provide, but I would recommend the Columbus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments which will be helpful for our future guests. We have taken good notice of your remarks and hope to see you back in the near future. with kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet and nice rooms. Fair priced for Monaco. Well situated at the Fontvieille marina with nice restaurants close by. The hotel should be owned by David Coulthard (the F1 driver) and during the Monaco GP several of the drivers stays at this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest. Great to hear you appreciated your stay with us. We do host several drivers during the Monaco GP, as our hotel is located in a quiet area, that you can reach at any time during the race and the tests, whereas some other hotels directly on the track are difficult to reach or leave when the roads are closed. For info, DC is no more our owner but still a regular guest of the hotel. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

While the hotel was clean and our room comfortable, it was a shame to see badly marked walls, chips on doorframes, threadbare carpet and a lampshade scorched from the heat of a light bulb. Our door knob came apart completely when we left our room on one occasion, however we were able to restore it to working order ourselves. While the hotel does have good amenities you needed to search them out - ie no information in our room on the swimming pool or internet policy. A shame because with a little TLC the property would have made a much more favourable impression. Having said that, the staff were helpful and the location was pleasant, close to the harbour front and the Princess Grace Rose Garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest. We thank you for forwarding your comments to Tripadvisor. We are aware some of the hotel's area and rooms do need a renovation and be assured this is done on a regular basis. We have a maintenance team on site and the painting / maintenance is taken care of. For the change of certain furniture (lampshades, carpet) with 181 rooms, this is an ongoing task. For all infos (swimming pool and wifi) everything is entered on the guests info on the plasma screen (to avoid too many papers) and in accordance with our Green initiatives. You need to connect on your TV to have all questions answered. Many thanks for your kind comments about the staff that we as usual have forwarded to all teams. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Monte-Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.