We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at the Fairmont Monte Carlo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Monte Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Fairmont Monte Carlo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Venice, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay at the Fairmont Monte Carlo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I did an European getaway this summer and Monaco was one of our many stops. The hotel is beautiful in and out. Service is exceptional too. Remember to ask for free internet!
We could walk everywhere just get to the hotel 7th floor and Voila!
Monaco, the city of cars an everything luxury is worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor.
It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time with your husband at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, from our central location and friendly staff to the 7th floor. Your compliments are our greatest reward and we hope to welcome you and your husband back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo again on your next getaway trip to Monaco.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    474
    140
    54
    27
See reviews for
202
586
49
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were at a business conference. Conference accommodations are outstanding. Entire back wall of hotel is a view of the water! Pool on an upper level has beautiful views of the Mediterranean. Easy walk to casino area and hotel de Paris. Nice walk to harbor area also. While you are there go on the hop on hop off bus tour - good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor.
It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time, at the business conference, at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay in Monaco and were able to enjoy both the hotel and the surrounding sites.
Your compliments are our greatest reward and we hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo again either for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved this hotel. I felt like I was back home in the US with the big beds. The room was comfortable and clean. Had an ocean view room with a big patio. The patio had table, chairs and lounge chair. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the 7th floor was so good. They fed you plenty of delicious food. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner there. During dinner we had a wonderful view of fireworks. The wait staff was so friendly. Had champagne one night at the champagne bar during a rain storm and it was the best location to watch the storm. Our hotel was right next to the famous Monte Carlo and a shopping mall. Next to the harbor where the ships come in. The hotel is in a perfect location. I can't wait to go back. If you are a fan of the grand prix the hotel is right in front of the hair pin.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. It's a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor.
It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. We work hard on our facilities we try to constantly enhance the satisfaction of our guests. Your compliments are our greatest reward and hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo again on your next trip to Monaco.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Always made to feel at home here. Everything that you need is provided for. Great too now that Bob de Niro's Nobu restaurant has arrived.
I always enjoy the rooftop swimming pool and champagne bar, and the piano cocktail bar in the evening.
Great staff, great location, great hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor.
I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, from our champagne bar to the roof-top pool and central location. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to your second home at the Fairmont Monte Carlo again on your next trip to Monaco.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a Fiarmont, so right off the bat you know that it will be good. The Fairmont Monte Carlo is no exception. Good rooms, good service and a terriffic location. The restaurants on site weren't the greatest, so you may want to wonder the neighborhood for dining.

Room Tip: No real beach at the Hotel... but thee are good beaches within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time at the Fairmont Monte Carlo.
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, from our central location and guest service to the rooms and beautiful views. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo again soon.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Firstly the positive, the hotel is in a great location, fantastic views of the Mediterranean , fairly clean rooms and a elegant decor. However , the customer service was all but non existent.

As a traveller who regularly frequents 4 to 5 star properties, I have never had such poor service or had to seek alternate rooms.

We stayed for three nights on the weekend of the 20 July 2014. Having booked over a year ago, requesting a non smoking room we were placed in a smoking room. After speaking with front desk several times, each time getting a different story about availability of non smoking rooms , we were finally advised a room wouldn't be available until the next morning.

That night while out to dinner , our room was spayed with a deodorant to remove the smoke smell, so that night instead of smelling smoke , we had to endure the over powering smell of the deodoriser sprayed in our room.

The next day after lunch when we arrived to collect our new room key, we were advised no rooms were available despite a gaurantee a room would be on hold from 9 am. We then went back and forth, waiting over an hour before finally settling into a non smoking room.

The new room was nice , untill about 4 pm that afternoon when the Dj at the pool, directly above our room got going. The music was going until 2 am, and it was so loud that the bed literally vibrated. After contacting reception they suggested we wear ear plugs. At this point I had lost all inspiration to seek another room and decided to bunker down for the last few nights.

While the hotel does provide a great location and view , For a fairmont hotel, which charges on the top end , and claims to provide a superior service , our stay was disappointing.

Adrian and Steph

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I regret to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured of our constant willingness to offer the best service at all times. While I understand you have been disappointed, I would appreciate to be in contact with you at your convenience, trusting that we will yet give us another chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back again to the Fairmont Monte Carlo. I would therefore like to invite you to contact me directly, at your convenience, at Louis.starck@fairmont.com, so we can speak in further detail about your experience.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality product and service the Fairmont Monte Carlo prides itself on having.

Thank you & Regards,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very good facilities in a spacious hotel with good atmosphere. Immediate access to an adjacent Casino. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped although you could tell it wasn't a new hotel. Front of house staff were friendly and helpful.
In a property of this style and cost structure [lowest rate Euro 459 per night in September ]you would however be disappointed to find you have to pay for Wifi in your room !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially our colleagues' service.
Please note that WiFi is complimentary for all Fairmont President’s Club members and we invite you to subscribe the next time you stay with us and you could benefit from the different advantages the membership has to offer.
Thank you for your time and consideration, and I sincerely hope to be welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo soon.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.