We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but a bit "sterile"..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Fairmont Monte Carlo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but a bit "sterile"..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

High quality hotel, in the lower end of the top luxury segment, with excellent reception service, very good restaurants, excellent gym and nice rooms (especially the ones with sea view). However, the hotel is rather formal without any particular atmosphere. A good choice in Monte Carlo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities, including Willow Stream Spa & Finess Center. We are very pleased to announce that the Horizon restaurant will open on April 14th, which will give our guests another dining choice within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    525
    169
    61
    29
See reviews for
224
657
54
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We received a fantastic welcome, from the doormen to the housekeeping staff. We felt treated like royalty, my children loved it! The room was spacious and well appointed with excellent bathroom amenities. The view over the garden and the Casino was enjoyable and was surprisingly quiet. We tried room service & Saphir 24...excellent food and smooth service. The highlight, apart from the staff, was the swimming pool. Imagine swimming with stunning views over the Mediterranean sea and in winter...well 16 degrees(February!!). The life guard spotted my family and provided all the equipment needed for the children, we really enjoyed it! You have some interesting places to visit for families, the Musee Oceanographique(aquarium and roof top play ground), the Old city with the Palais...and again few playgrounds around! We would come back at the next opportunity, thank you for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are spacious and quiet, excellent for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time with your family at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the swimming pool and the beautiful views. Your compliments are our highest reward and it is with great pleasure that I will share your comments with our teams.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo soon.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having read a number of poor reviews of this hotel, particularly around the decor and bed comfort, we had some concerns prior to arrival. However I can now honestly say that we had a fabulous experience. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Staff were always courteous and helpful. It almost seems to us that we have stayed in a different hotel to that in the reviews we had read.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room which had a balcony with view of the harbour and the sea - well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and experience at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. Indeed, we are constantly working hard on these facilities we try to enhance the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo soon.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked a three night b&b stay at The Fairmont, and, having been told by a friend that this is the best hotel in Monte Carlo, we were not disappointed. Perfectly situated on the Grand Prix hair-pin bend, the view at breakfast (if you manage to get a good table!) is spectacular and the breakfast choices were very good. We had a garden view room, which was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble. Food and drink were pretty expensive, but then a lot of things are in Monaco! That said, we will definitely go back to the fairmont, it was a great hotel. The outdoor heated pool on the roof of the hotel was amazing and the gym overlooks the hair-pin. Loved it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room, heated pool, and the beautiful views the hotel has to offer.
We highly appreciate your loyalty and it will be with great pleasure to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in February and had a Riviera Suite; the hotel itself has a great position in Monte Carlo with fabulous views over the marina and Mediterranean.
When you arrive you are greeted by some very nice and friendly staff and all bags sent to your room, in fact I have to say that the staff in this hotel were some of the nicest I have dealt with.
The room itself is actually two bedrooms with a connecting door, but one side is a lounge area, this makes it a bit tricky as you have two entrance doors and two bathrooms, and two balconies separated by a concrete wall, it did lack that suite feeling as other hotels have.
The bed was very large and comfortable, but the bathrooms were on the small side, it had a strange sliding door between the toilet and bath area which made it feel a little claustrophobic.
You need to be very careful about corkage in the room as even bottled water bought outside and soft drinks carries a charge which I find ridiculous as small water is very expensive, these should be provided complimentary.
The breakfast is very good you feel that the restaurant is in a corridor, but the food is very good, and a good selection.
The whole entrance and restaurant makes you feel a bit on show and does not give you a feeling of comfort, it is too open and looks like a street but inside, maybe this was the intention but we did not like it.
The restaurant at night has a good menu and the food is very good, and not too expensive for Monte Carlo, try the toasted cheese sandwich it is wonderful, again staff here very good.
Overall, would I go back, not sure the staff make this hotel but the ambience is lacking, and be careful about top floor rooms as they have an open terrace above them which becomes noisy?

Room Tip: Watch the top floor rooms they have a terrace above them and can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful time at the Fairmont Monte Carlo and we are delighted to announce that the Horizon restaurant will open on April 14th which will provide our guests with another restaurant choice during their stay.

We are continuously improving our standards in order to create a memorable experience for our guests and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I arrived at the hotel early in the morning and while they didn't have my sea view room ready yet, I had a lovely garden view room so I could shower and relax a bit. I loved the decor in that room it was very cute and bright. The staff came to get my bags to bring me to the sea view room where the views off my balcony were breathtaking.

The conference area is probably the best I've ever seen with windows overlooking the sea.

The rooftop bar and pool is really gorgeous especially at night and was equipped with fur throws to keep you warm.

The hotel has a great central location.

The concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked the Fairmont Monte Carlo for two nights using a travel website, plus saved a pretty penny. Our Crystal Cruise ended in Barcelona from there we flew to Monte Carlo to satisfy our dream to see the land of the rich and famous. The property is utilized by Crystal Cruises for pre and post cruise stays so I assumed its' excellence. We were very pleased. We arrived late nite, still our room was ready and waiting. We were greeted by name and assisted with personalized service from the front doors to our Sea view room, an unusually Quiet and comfortable, like new space. We could see the coasts of Italy, Monaco and France from our balcony, every bit worth the upgrade. The Concierge helped us find the perfect outside late nite dinner spot on arrival, then a seashore dining experience on day two, and finally arranged for a taxi at 5:30am to the Nice Airport on our departure. Hats off to the service! We were two minutes stroll to the Grand Casino and a wonderful mall. There's also a full service Casino inside the Fairmount. The grand opening of the Nobu restaurant was a welcomed site; sea food, sushi and a great dining experience but pricey. It was slow season in town but we found our way around. Whenever we return, The Fairmont will be the staging spot for us.

Room Tip: Reserve the Garden view room, then spring for the sea view balcony upgrade on arrival, you could sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted to see that you particular liked our property and we highly appreciate your loyalty. It is a great pleasure to learn that you spent a wonderful holiday at the Fairmont Monte Carlo and I am happy to share your experience with our teams.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,

Louis Starck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.