We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to celebrate New Year's Eve in style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Monte Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Fairmont Monte Carlo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Flatts Village, Bermuda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to celebrate New Year's Eve in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and i spent a couple of days/nights here in Dec. 30-Jan.1st. The hotel is in an amazing location. Well worth upgrading to the sea view rooms. Absolutely outstanding views. Service was also outstanding at the Fairmont. The staff really do a great job. We didn't dine at the restaurants in the Fairmont, though we did have room service for breakfast and lunch. Very nice.
The only problem encountered was booking on the Fairmont site. In ordr to get a certain rate, we had to pay for one night in advance - non-refundable. About a week before our trip, I went back on the site and the rates were considerably lower and there was no need to book a non-refundable rate. We did get our rate changed to the lower rate. However, I will think twice before booking a non-refundable rate in advance again with the Fairmont!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have also taken notice to your comments concerning your online reservations. Rates do vary according to the hotel and destination activity. I would be happy to discuss this particular situation with you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo in the future.
Sincerely,
Louis Starck - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    473
    139
    54
    27
See reviews for
202
586
49
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Most likely I would have written a nice review about Fairmont hotel, unless I didn't have this bad experience.

We arrived to Fairmont on New Year's Eve around 17 o'clock. Last two nights we had spent in another hotel, but for the last night in Monte Carlo we moved to this one.
The first unpleasant surprise was the long cue of cars in front of the hotel entrance, which was blocking the whole main road. It was surprising how helpless in this situation was the staff. There were two guys trying to organise this chaos, but it was pretty useless. I wouldn't complain about this situation, as it is understandable - the town was overcrowded and the hotel was fully booked. But in my opinion, this kind of situation, especially in the busiest night in the whole year, is not acceptable from the largest hotel in the town, which has similar situations from year to year. Later, the manager at the reception confirmed that the hotel usually gets booked out only for this one particular night. Obviously, they are not learning from the mistakes.

Second nasty surprise was waiting for us in our room. The room was dirty. There was little black hair in our bed and lots of long curly hair (definitely not mine) on the bathroom floor - basically everywhere I looked, there was some hair!
Even though the bathroom looked like being cleaned, all the hair on the floor was just too terrible. After having informed the manager, he sent the cleaning lady together with a whole group of inspectors to sort this out. Response was good and they left some complimentary wine for us, which we appreciated, but quality control needs obviously improving.

And the last surprise we discovered was returning to our room after watching the fire work. Before leaving, I had asked the reception to bring us another duvet, because the room felt a bit cold. On our return we found not only an additional duvet, but a 3rd camper bed in our room, making it so crowed you could hardly move anymore! As mentioned before, it was the busiest night of the year and mistakes can happen, but I do expect a 4-star hotel to be able to handle such a night super smoothly without any negative implications for their guest.

Otherwise the hotel was ok. The room was nicely decorated, we had a separate terrace with a view to the courtyard. The breakfast was nice and generous.
The bathroom was ok, but not anymore to todays expectations.

Based on this experience and the wonderful nights we spent before in the Port Palace Hotel (see review), I would clearly recommend anybody to first consider the Port Palace Hotel before opting for the Fairmount.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Every single guest is important to us and I am sincerely sorry we were not able to deliver the experience you were expecting from us. I would be available to discuss your stay directly with you. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at your convenience.
Thanking you for your understanding, I am very much looking forward to speaking with you and to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Monte-Carlo.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week here for business and found the bilingual staff to be very kind and helpful. The quality, size and cleanliness of the room was expected and the gym was very well decked out with a nice variety of equipment offerings. Given the hotel is right next to the over-the-top decorated Monte Carlo Casino, it made the building's appearance appear to be overly simple, dated (old looking) and at face value, not attractive (despite the luxury cars out front for rent). However, once inside, the views out we're incredible from the various tasty restaurants and bars. wish the pool was open till later hours. Concierge staff exceptionally helpful!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We're lucky enough to have stayed in most of the best hotels in Monaco, all of them amazing in their own way. The Fairmont is our favourite. It is a bit more relaxed, a bit more modern, and has the best views from the bar and breakfast area across to Menton and on to Italy. The welcome is warm and friendly, our room has a balcony out over the sea. The room is spacious and luxurious. The food in the bar and at breakfast is delicious and plentiful. We didn't eat in the main restaurant this time but have done in the past. It is top-notch. The staff in the bar and lounge are attentive and friendly. The Concierges are very good, recommending local restaurants, especially some more affordable ones. One tip would be to drink in local bars and restrict drinks in the hotel bar to one or two. Like all Monaco hotels, it is very expensive (€21 for a glass of pink champagne, €16 for a glass of wine.) The Fairmont is a wonderfully friendly hotel. If you are lucky enough to stay in Monaco, you won't find a better choice.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at a premium but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the same to share your kind comments on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities.

It has been a real privilege to have you as our guests at the Fairmont Monte-Carlo and we thank you for having given us the opportunity to be at your service.

I have shared your experience with my team and they are grateful for your valuable comments.

In the hope to welcoming your back soon at the hotel,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food was excellent, wonderful staff in all areas, very friendly and helpful. I had a room on the first floor with fantastic ocean view. He sea was right below/under me( literally). It had a nice patio and you could readily enjoy the view and fresh air. When the rocks near the shore hit into the pilings because of wave action, it was quite loud. It impacted my ability to sleep when the waves got large. The music from the lobby level bar also filled the room at night. If you want a quite room stay off the first floor. The Casino was somewhat small but had adequate table play and started at 10€. Very easy walking to Japanese garden , marina, convention center and the shoreline walk. I would go back, but next time ask for a room in the upper level.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for a conference off-season. My rate was very good given the location (159E). The hotel rooms have newer furnishings with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were quite clean and ergonomic. The hotel lobby was very functional with a couple of restaurants, a small casino, and bar area. The breakfast available with my rate was quite good, and better than most breakfasts I get in Europe. The hotel location is great - on the water (without a beach), 5 minute walk to the Grimaldi Center and 15 minutes to the main harbor. The exercise facility is very nice for a hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative is if you get a room facing the road. I had a "hairpin" room named for the famous turn of the Monaco Grand Prix. The road noise is a bit louder than I wished. Other people told me their rooms facing the water were very quiet though.

Room Tip: Just avoid a road-facing room and your sleep quality should be better than what I experienced
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed there in business. Clean room, nice sea view, helpful staff. Lobby is full of the usual "local attractions".

The building is ugly, like most buildings in town, probably built in the 1970s, but is renovated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.