We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chez edgar, 11 quai albert , monaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Edgar

Chez Edgar
11 Boulevard Albert 1er, Monaco-Ville 98000, Monaco
+377 93 50 10 10
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 81 Restaurants in Monaco-Ville
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“chez edgar, 11 quai albert , monaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were on our way home from Italy, and visited Monaco, stumbled across this restaurant, waiter spoke good English, informative about the F1 racing, which the grid is right outside the restaurant, clean inside, toilets clean and MOST important the Pizza's were FANTASTIC. Highl recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Tasty, simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate here on 2 evenings as the restaurant is well located just off the port and offers reasonable value for money. Service is welcoming and friendly with good, freshly cooked food. We had pork loin with harissa sauce, served with ratatouille (delicious!), beef fillet with frites – very nice but did need some seasoning and the next evening we shared a pizza as we had had a substantial lunch elsewhere. We enjoyed a pichet of wine and shared a tarte tatin which was gorgeous! Overall, a good option in Monte Carlo at sensible prices – enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Simple and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Go for it, if you want to have some seriously good food on the harbour: steaks are amazing and service too! The restaurant is tiny so make sure you get there early to get a little, squeezed-in table and enjoy the meal. If you are into sugar bombs, go also for the tiramisu!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A chef who can't cook”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

average service average surrounds well we both ordered medium steak one was the rib eye the other a pepper steak only to be told ten minutes later they only had one rib eye left,the waitress looked bored and uninterested eventually came back with our steaks and when we cut into them we found they were both blue. I think the chef must have waved them over the pan for five seconds.we sent them back and had to wait ages for them to be brought back medium rare and extremely bloody.The waitress didn't seem to care and looked disappointed when there was no tip.Got a dirty look form the chef as we left I'm guessing they heated up out steaks for their next victims. DREADFUL

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“absolutely top food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

pizzas thin crispy big size, salad and tiramsu was incredible. Great value for money. In the harbour good central location. Nice family restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Edgar also viewed

 
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
 

Been to Chez Edgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Edgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.