We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral

Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral
4 rue Colonel Bellando de Castro, Monaco-Ville 98000, Monaco
377 93 30 87 70
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral like an insider
Top Rated
$94*
and up
Monaco Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent cathedral, built in 1875, is the final resting place of Princess Grace of Monaco, several important 16th-century paintings and a wooden altar dating from the Spanish Renaissance.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Short walk fom the castle. Impressive cathedral with the tombs of Princess Grace and Princess Ranier.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    168
    48
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Monaco Cathedral was well worth the visit - it is really quite beautiful!
We didn't realise that this was the the final resting place of many of the Grimaldi Princes, as well as Prince Rainier and Princess Grace.
The bank of wide steps leads up to the main, arched entrance which is flanked by 2 smaller arches - beautiful indeed in the sunshine!
There seems to be quite an unnatural amount of natural light inside the cathedral and the well-placed interior lighting does a great job of lighting up more recessed parts of the church. On my first walk round I actually missed the granite stone of Princess Grace's grave: engraved "Gratia Patricia," so I am so glad I did the circle again!
There are some beautiful side altars, and religious works of art within the cathedral, and once at the top I looked back to see the rose window, then the wonderful organ.

During my visit I discovered that St. Devote is the Patron Saint of Monaco, and that the building is dedicated to St. Nicholas.It was built in Monaco during the 13th century.
From September through June, "Les Petits Chanteurs de Monaco" sing Mass every Sunday. The Cathedral is open virtually every day from 8:30 am to 6:45pm. I'm just sorry I missed the singing!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Go see the tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Be sure to visit the tombs of rainier and Grace Kelly in the back of the cathedral with all the Grimaldi family. The marble floor in front of the alter is incredible, the colors are amazing. Photos are permitted.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Old in the new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a historic visit I within the principality..there are not many.
A small church under the bridge. If you take the train to Monaco exit on the lower level. From. In front of the church Bus 1 or 2 take you everywhere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had the chance to visit this landmark while I was on a French Riviera tour...Princess Grace is buried in this church...it is free and you can take photos inside..definitely worth a stop

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco St Nicholas Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.