We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Casale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soldeu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Casale
Save
You added Chalet Casale to your Saves list
El Tarter, Soldeu, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

Thought this chalet was absolutely fantastic, the staff were friendly, the food was amazing hearty homecooked, 3 course meal, with loads of wine.
The chalet was perhaps abit of a walk from the slopes, but nothing compared to some other ski-ing holidays.
Some of the other guests mentioned that they expected more facilities for a '4 star' hotel like tvs in the room, but I thought a communal tv room with bar area was cool.

Id recommed this chalet to anyone, and i read an earlier review that wasnt very good.....those people must have been abit crazy - or stayed in a different chalet????

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The walk up the hill
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I stayed at Chalet Casale for 7 nights as part of a package deal through Thomas Cook in March 2008. Having read all the previous reviews, it seemed like an excellent place to stay and I was looking forward to the ski trip. Unfortunately, I seemed to have a completely different experience during my week, due to the following:

1.All crockery, cutlery and glasses were dirty, even after someone in our group asked for clean glasses.
2.The breakfast was disgraceful – after the first day, there was no tea, no ham, and we had to ask for more bread or croissants or anything else that tended to run out quickly. They provided boiled eggs, but those went pretty quickly too, and it's not like we got to breakfast late – we arrived at 08:00, which is when it starts! On Thursday morning, the albumen of the eggs were runny, which is a poor way of serving eggs. There was also a selection of yoghurts, which we found still left out on the table in the evening.
3.The dinner was even worse than the breakfast, if possible – Tuesday night there was a curry with rice, onion bhajis, creamed spinach and naan bread. Firstly, the bread was more of a cake than naan bread. Secondly, the curry was bland and the rice soaked in water when served. The onion bhajis were also burnt (see photo) and after this appalling presentation of food, I didn't bother with the spinach so cannot comment on that.
4.The tea/coffee dispenser was the most useless contraption ever to grace the earth – if you wanted a drink, you had to stand there for a few minutes pressing the button down over and over until you got half a mug and then gave up because it was too much hassle.
5.The room was very dark – only the bathroom light seemed decent. We were also not told about the cleaning of the rooms, which only happen if you put a sign up on the door handle requesting the room to be cleaned. However, the other side of the sign is a Do Not Disturb sign, so it isn't clear at all what needs to be done for your room to be cleaned. Every guest in the chalet at the time was in the same situation, so the rooms were not cleaned for days before we realised.
6.The lounge area was not cleared/cleaned, as I found out when plates from the previous 1 or 2 days were still sitting on the table. If the case is that we need to put dirty items in the kitchen, then we should be told, but I think it just wasn't cleaned.
7.On Friday morning, the 2 chalet staff who were supposed to put out breakfast had "overslept", so nothing had been put out for us. Luckily, there was a box of croissants that had been delivered sitting on the table, and we managed to get into the kitchen for juice. I had walked next door to the sister chalet that is owned by the same company, and lo and behold there was the person who was supposed to have put out our breakfast.
8.Another point that I didn't see myself but heard from another guest is that the kitchen is in such a filthy state, you wouldn't want your dog to go in there.

I and other people in my group had not seen the holiday rep until Thursday except on the first day (Sunday), although she claimed to have been around for a few days early in the week. On Thursday, the rep took down statements from the guests about any complaints that we had, as there seemed to be quite a few. This seemed like a good step, as there were many complaints to the likes of the above from various guests, but I wasn't filled with much confidence, as the rep kept making unnecessary comments,
e.g. On point 3 above, one guest was speaking to her about the standard of the food not being up to par:-
Guest: I'm no Gordon Ramsay....but I could make better food than that
Rep: Well why don't you then? Do you want to make it tonight?

The rep was being overly defensive in the discussions, making comments such as the above, when all she had to do was say something along the lines of “ok, thank you for your comments, I'll take them on board...”. However, I found out that evening that one of the staff is the rep's brother, so that might explain some part of the rep's shocking attitude.

A last negative point that I would like to add is that they didn't have any hot chocolate – this wouldn't be such a problem if they hadn't had a sign advertising “Hot Choccies here! Made with real chocolate yum yum!”. We brought this up with the rep, and she said that sometimes they put out some powdered hot chocolate but there isn't any this week. Two points to note are – in that case, don't advertise it as being made with real chocolate; and don't have a sign saying this is offered when you know it isn't available.

The surprising thing is that there have been no bad reviews prior to this, and having spoken to another guest that has stayed here before, it seems that this week is much worse than it has been. I don't know the reason for this or whether it will continue, but this has been an unfortunately bad week for a lot of people who stayed here.

One good thing about the chalet is the staff – despite the above points, they were always very helpful when asked a question/request, and I think the problem is the fact that there is no on-site manager to ensure things run smoothly. The staff are contracted out from a company called SHF, and as the manager is off-site, when there is a problem, the only person you can turn to is the rep, who in turn tells the staff what needs to be done.

Overall one of the worst experiences I have had and I will never book a package holiday again. The resort itself is also poor, as there wasn't much choice if you wanted to eat out, or do anything else for that matter. I do not recommend this accommodation.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — The rep, the food, the uphill trek from the slopes
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma90, OWNER at Chalet Casale, responded to this review, October 4, 2009
We were sorry to read of the of the terrible time experienced at the Chalet Casal in 2008. We have taken over the running of this Chalet in the last season 08/09 and have had positive reviews. with no such experiences that you suffered in the previous year.
Our menu has been updated and staff selection is a stringent process using qualfied chefs and experienced hosts to deliver food and service. We also offer a shuttle service to the slopes to save your legs on the walk to and from the slopes.
We run the Chalet Casal and Motxo (next door) and the aparthotel hort de popaire in Soldeu and would welcome you back again if you wished to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

There is no doubt the outstanding feature of this chalet is the Staff.

The chalet itslef is very clean, the food excellent, good wholesome food just what is needed after a days skiing, unlimited wine with the meal.

The buffet breakfast is also very filling.

you could argue it isn't a real 4 star in terms of facilites, ie no hairdryer or tv in rooms, but the staff give you 5 star treatment throughout.

the rooms are a good size with a powerful shower, unlimited hot water and a nice bath for soothing limbs.

it is a little walk (5-10 mins)up hill from the lifts at the end of the day, but the afternoon tea and cakes make the walk worth while.

my tip is spend 30 euros on a locker at nordic sports for the week. store your gear there and walk to and from chalet in your normal shoes. Nordic sports is right by the chair lift up to main ski area of el tarter. if your an absolute beginner the gondola is only a 5 minute walk away.

i was impressed with the ski area, it compares very favourably with the alps.
El tarter chairlift and gondola take you to main area, where there are very good beginner slopes including a magic carpet and a couple of useful chairlifts for beginners.

there are two other longer lifts that take you to the very top from which you can explore soldeu, pas de las case or canillo.

there are two blue runs that take you right back to nordic sports. these are good if there is enough snow, a bit patchy when we were there. the esquirol, leading of the beginner slope is not ideal for absolute beginners as there is a steep bit at the end,

El tarter is a very quite resort, one pub (peanuts) not very busy at all. one local bar, very smoky, but still friendly, and the local nightclub opposite which we went to once, i dont think it gets busy util about 3am.

Soldeu is much livelier but its a longish walk back or a taxi.

overall this chalet is without doubt the best i have stayed in during 8 yearr of sking in europe, and that is because of the attitude and friendliness of the staff. A definite recommend
probable best for thirtysomething plus couples/groups. a group of lads looking for somewhere lively would be better off staying in soldeu.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Having just spent a fairly traumatic week on holiday at Chalet Casale (lost case and broken knee ligaments) I can truly say we had a wonderful time. The Chalet is clean, tidy and well decorated; the room size is also good. It is however situated up a hill, but don't let that put you off.

But what makes the Chalet so wonderful is the staff that run it. All the staff are helpful, friendly and will go above and beyond their role to help you (more than I can say for the rep!). I have never stayed anywhere so welcoming.
The food is also great! Tasty, well prepared and plenty of it! Wine is plentiful and they also have a great little bar.

The only small downside of this Chalet is that it is opposite the local night club, which you can sometimes hear.

The resort itself is also lovely. Even though the snow wasn’t great, quite a lot of the piste’s were still open. All of our party (four of us all at different levels) went to ski school, which was wonderful. All the instructors were excellent and the lessons were fun.

All in all I would highly recommend this Chalet and resort.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The Night Club across the road
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We booked a last minute ski trip for four adults to go to Andorra and I must confess we were fairly sceptical about what the quality would be like. The Chalet is fantastic - the best staff ever with amazing food and wine. Really was unbelievable value for money. The staff could not do enough for you - we were so impressed. Skiing out of El Tarter was also really good with easy access across the resort and a good bus service to run you around if you didn't want to ski.

  • Liked — The staff at the chalet
  • Disliked — Sorry - can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

Just returned from my first ever skiing holiday and like all the other reviews for Chalet Casale it was fantastic!! This place will set the standard for future skiing holidays for me. I went with my boyfriend who'd been skiing to several places before and even he said it was his best yet.
The staff were so helpful, friendly and genuinely great people. Everyone sits together for dinner so you can get to know your fellow skiers and we made some lovely friends (very excite!). The food was SUPERB thanks to Bruce the Irish chef… a breakfast buffet, afternoon tea/coffee and cakes at 4:30pm and a three-course dinner served at 7pm. There was also free wine served with your evening meals which you can take up to the lounge after dinner to finish (which a few of us did most nights). Bruce catered for everyone's food requirements and even made a special 50th birthday cake for a guest.
Already planning to go back next… can't wait !!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

have just returned from the casale and must say it was the best skiing hol i have ever had. this is great praise indeed as i have been skiing for 7 years in many places and i am very excite the staf were superb and went that little extra to make the stay special even going out of there way to make a guests 50 birthday one to remmember bruce made cake candels and champers for itout of the goodness of his
heart bless if you want aplace with great atmosphere great people and
and unbeatable food this is the place to be we will be back i hope this make you very excite bruce

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — walk to the slopes
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Casale

Address: El Tarter, Soldeu, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soldeu
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Chalet Casale Soldeu
Chalet Casale Hotel Soldeu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.