We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to base yourself for biking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bruxelles

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bruxelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bruxelles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Soldeu
Cornwall, Uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to base yourself for biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great little hotel to use as a base or rest stop if touring on motorbikes. Plenty of parking and a really friendly place to stay with great food served also. The breakfast is typically European, bread, cheese, ham etc but the lunch/dinners are great, especially the onion soup!
6 of us stayed for two nights at the beginning of July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is definitely worth taking the bus into Andorra de Vella and having a rest from the saddle. It's also remembering, I didn't, that it is tax free and if you need to upgrade satnavs/intercoms etc...then this is a great place to do it.
Also worth a trip is the cable car to the top of the ski slope, where you can go on the golf driving range!! An absolute hoot!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    50
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prenton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I were there for 10 days in April '14. On account of the noise into the early hours from the Aspen Bar opposite I asked to be moved to the back. Unfortunately the back overlooked a car park that patrons of the latter bar used, engaging in loud conversation at 2.00 to after 3.00a.m.. In similar vein sound insulation between rooms was very poor and doors to rooms were difficult to close quietly.
Breakfast was a buffet with probably the most limited choice I have ever experienced. A couple of cereals, yoghourt, toast, sliced ham, sliced cheese, one croissant per person (on the table), fruit juice, fresh apples/oranges, tea/coffee.
Wifi had to be paid for - 2Euros/day.
There is no ski room and you are told not to take skis or ski boots into your room. However, there was an arrangement with the ski store just as one enters the gondola station whereby skis and boots could be left for free. Obviously better than carrying skis/boots up and down the hill before/after skiing.
There was a bar but no other common area. Beer, coffee, etc were significantly more expensive than at a poor quality but very friendly cafe across the road (next to the Aspen Bar).
Staff were ok but did not make any particular effort to make one feel at home/welcome.
It is well located for the main gondola lift up to the ski area above Soldeu - just c.200m up the central road.
No lift. No night porter. If you arrive late (as we did from Barcelona) make sure you arrange access.
There is no other facility at the hotel.
Being near the end of the ski season Soldeu (a small place anyway) had very few bars and restaurants open. Surprisingly (in my considerable experience of ski resorts) shop prices for ski gear were not significantly discounted.

Room Tip: Top floor (2nd), rear, is best if you want to sleep, and a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January and we have just booked to return next year. The location is brilliant, literally a 3 main walk to the ski lockers and gondola. The room were small and basic but that was fine for us. The only downside was that the room walls were very thin and you could hear conversations in the next room (we were in the basement so not sure if it is the same in the upstairs rooms). Obviously this hasn't put us off returning. What really made this hotel for us was the food, each evening there is a set freshly prepared 3 course meal, and if you don't like something off the set menu they will happily prepare you something else. Compared o a buffet restaurant we loved it and always looked forward to our meals after a day on the slopes. The staff were very friendly too, overall I would say this hotel is excellent value for money and I can't wait to go back in January!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last year and loved it so much we booked a short break to get in some last minute skiing. We have stayed in many hotels in Soldeu including the Sport Hotel but love this one the most, especially for the price & friendliness!
Yes the rooms are fairly small but spotlessly the clean, the staff are amazing and nice to see the same ones still there from last year. The food is great value and the restaurant is always busy with locals and ski instructors, offering lovely food with a vast menu and so reasonably priced. Breakfast is ideal, not many hotels offer full breakfast and you can help yourself to cereals, toast/breads, ham & cheese, yogurts, coffee, juice and jams with croissants it's all ready when you come down in the morning so quick and easy to get out on the slopes early!!

Another added bonus is the use of the ski lockers at the gondola, we have paid over 50€ for a week before for this staying in another hotel. It's not even a five minute walk but for those of us not liking to walk in ski boots carrying heavy skis, how perfect!

When the weather is fine there is a lovely terrace catching the afternoon sun, perfect for beers or pancakes/ waffles another specialty of the hotel.

Lots of people mention about noise but all hotels are noisy when people are coming in and out this didn't affect us on either visit. Don't be put off and book it! ( I think this hotel is only available through Neilson during the ski season) any more info please ask.

Thanks to all at the hotel for another fantastic stay
Sarah & Gary (Room 11 - 1st April) xx

Room Tip: All rooms seem of similar size but the back ones face the slopes and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel and staff great, food in the evening was good but breakfasts were very poor, toast, coffee out of a machine ham and cheese only. Hotel room walls paper thin so it was difficult to get any sleep, shame as the hotel is in an ideal location and the staff are really great.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are going to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A small hotel and bar and restaurant, 20 rooms only. The top room was great albeit some headroom restrictions but reduces night time noise. No lift so 3 flights of stairs can be tough in bringing luggage up.
Breakfast from 8 am which comprises cereal, toast, ham and cheese etc and this was ok although cooked eggs etc would be nice.
Dinner was restricted from 7 to7.30 for guests and was standard fare eg steak, spare ribs etc but reasonable quality, 3 courses. Options and alternatives are available. More green vegetables would be good.
Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Popular bar for non guests with lovely outside patio space.
Coffee and orange and snack set out for early breakfast start for end of holiday.
Nice hardworking team to try and keep you happy for your holiday

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We initially booked this hotel due to the price and location to the ski resort's Gondola.
We prefer ski in ski out locations, but this is the best alternative. The hotel has it's own ski lockers at the Gondola Station, which is a few hundred yards up the road. No walking in ski boots up the hill!
The rooms are small, but be honest, if you are on a ski holiday and you think the room is small, you aren't skiing hard enough during the day! Non of the rooms have balconies which is a pity as the back of the hotel gets the sun all day. Many of the rooms are interconnecting. This can cause noise problems, but if you are a noisy person, then you need to keep quiet. The owners of the hotel live on site and there are enough signs asking you to be quiet. The back of the hotel does look over the main runs back into the town and as they get pisted at night you can hear them. This is normal in a ski resort, they wouldn't piste them during the day because you want to ski! If you can't sleep for the noise, then take ear defenders, or ski harder during the day so that you are tired at night. What do you want? Well groomed pistes, a hotel near to the lifts or badly groomed runs and a very long walk in ski boots to the lifts! You can't have it all ways.
Thanks to a previous review, we noted there wasn't a kettle in the room, so we took a travel kettle and some coffee and hot chocolate etc.
Someone else said that you couldn't have the windows open. At night we closed the shutters, so that the gaps were showing ( you'll know what I mean when you see them) then we opened the window and put the (false) curtain behind it to keep it ajar. The ventilation was great this way.
The rooms are kept every clean and tidy and, no, they don't change the bed during the week, but how often do you change your sheets at home? This is a small family run hotel, not a 5 star luxury hotel!
Food, nobody as far as I could see had any complaints whilst we were there. We certainly didn't. Breakfast was continental, croissants, toast, cereal, jams, honey, cheese, ham, orange juice, tea, coffee. Enough to get you going, if you want more, then go to a more expensive hotel.
Evening meals were based on their 3 course meal at €13.40: soup; meat with vegetables and a small pudding. But for a supplement you can have anything off the evening menu. Well worth the extra €2.70 for a steak with pepper sauce! I am vegetarian and the choices were wonderful for me. Many of our fellow guest had the burgers, which (to me) looked huge. The roast chicken dinners went down well and ice cream for pudding was definately a favourite. Be warned, this hotel is every popular with non guests and you are asked to go to dinner between 19:00 and 19:30. After this time your table will be given to visitors. Many of our fellow guests fell foul of this and had to eat in the bar area. We even came down and had lunch here on one of the days (it was snowing and a storm had come in and only one run was open) we weren't disappointed. Between us we had a pizza €11.00, enough for two. The crepes are a favourite with visitors and I can recommend the Nachos as a cheap filler! On the lunch menu sandwiches are €5, Chicken and chips €11 to steak at €19, burgers (no salad) are €6, pasta €10, crepes €3-6. They boast having 50 varieties of sandwich! The terrace is always full on sunny days and gets the sun from 11am in the morning to 6pm in the evening, but if you want a cheap beer the Aspen over the road is cheaper ( but no terrace).
My only negative, and it is a small thing, is that there is no where to go in the hotel after your evening meal. The hotel is very well patronated by locals and guests of other hotels, so it gets busy in the evening. But there were plenty of (cheaper) bars nearby to sit and talk about the days skiing.
Things to remember about this place should you be going. Firstly, the wi-fi is €2 a day, but we managed to get 3 devices on this each day, the safe is also €15. The TV in the room has limited channels, in fact only 2 English ones and they are news channels. Not that I watch TV when on holiday, but a music channel would be nice.
But, all that said, all in all, a great home from home, family run, clean hotel. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we are going back next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruxelles

Address: Ctra General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bruxelles 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruxelles Hotel Soldeu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bruxelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;