We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel to your Saves list
Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel
Carreterra General, Soldeu, Andorra   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here with my family on an Adventure Company holiday for a week. I agree with the other(favourable) comments relating to this hotel. Everybody was really friendly and helpful despite the, unusual, 35 degrees of heat. The food; what was wrong with it? Yes, not every meal was to everybody's taste but it is a tall order catering for the tastes of circa 20 people from the ages of 9 to 50. In my view the food was fine; varied from day to day and plenty of it for hungry mountain walkers.

As previously reviewed, this is a 2 star hotel and has to be judged as such. On that basis it is absolutely fine. If you want 5 star luxury, go up the road to the sports-spa hotel but you'll have to pay e200 per night for a double room.

I have to say that for a 2 star hotel to have, free wireless Internet access, a table football table, big screen TV in the bar, playing cards, board games etc is excellent.

Small gripes; our double room had its bed against the wall which meant that anybody getting up in the night had to crawl across their sleeping partner. Not ideal. Perhaps the towels could be replaced more than once a week bearing in mind how dirty you get walking on the dusty mountains. I would also suggest money is saved on not replacing soaps every day. Our shower head kept slipping down the vertical pole which was a little irritating.

Also, although very welcome, I would not necessarily expect shower gel and shampoo sachets in a 2 star hotel; in fact you do not get them in a Premier Inn in Britain.

A clean and very welcoming hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
14
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We (family with two teenagers) stayed here in August 2012 for a week through the Adventure Company. For a 2 star hotel this place is good - very clean rooms, good hearty food, and pleasant staff. Good location for walks and other activities. From here it is easy to get to the rest of Andorra by bus if you need to. Don't expect a pool and spa - you can get that up the road in one or two other hotels for a small fee if you want. Don't expect sofas and a plasma TV in your room - you can get that in hotels up the road - for five times the price ! Our rooms (compact and practical) were fine to sleep in - you are out enjoying the country for most of the time anyway. The rooms were always cleaned and tidied-up daily. The small in-room TV had at least one BBC channel - useful to keep up with the news (and GB Olympic medal tally). The bar had everything you wanted and has an outside terrace. Owner and staff all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

i stayed here for a international ski instructors exam and it was clean, great food staff very helpful nothing to much troublefor them.

when we there the sun shine for week one and second week it dumped it down and the staff still happy to help out in any problem friendly chatty and great food :)

cheers guys will be booking again soon for a staff trainng session out their and you will hopfully be our accomodation

Room Tip: the staff are helpfull and im pretty sure if they is a problem they will do their upmost to sort out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Like many other reviewers we stayed here as part of an Adventure Company holiday. The hotel is located just below the village of Soldeu and is no more than a 10 minute walk into town, although it is uphill.

There are a number of walks into the Incles Valley that start directly opposite the hotel. There is also bus stop just up the hill that has buses into Canillo or Pas de la Casa about every 30 minutes.

The rooms were basic but very clean and included tea and coffee making facilities and had excellent showers that were hot and had plenty of pressure. The hotel bar is nice and user friendly and has a fussball table that was a real hit with the kids. The meals each night were from a set menu and while simple were just what was needed after a long day of walking or mountain biking.

Nick and his team made everyone feel right at home and the activities provided in the summer time are excellent.

Room Tip: The top rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed there for a few days as a family holiday. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well kept and tea and coffee making facilities were provided which was great !The food was plentiful but I wished we would have had less but of better quality. The ingredients were generally really cheap and badly cooked ( apart from a few puddings) . It's a shame because there was obviously a lot of effort put into it.The staff was so nice that we ended up eating there every night despite the poor quality of the meals. This was the only complaint, otherwise the place is great and very welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 weeks while doing a ski instructor course. Was offered a discount for the long stay, making this hotel excellent value. It would still be good value without the discount. The set menu every evening was plentiful and varied - was good to have a roast on Sunday nights. The free lift up to the gondola every morning was very welcome, even after a 50cm snowfall the night before! Ski/boot lockers at the gondola can be rented for €75/week (discounted for longer).

WIll definitely stay here again if I come back to Soldeu.

Room Tip: I had the room above the bar and like to sleep with the window open a little, so a few nights were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

10 of us stayed here at the end of feb 2012 and we had a great time, Nick picked us up from barcelona and had our lift passes waiting for us . the hotel is clean, serves good food in the restaurant and the staff go out of their way to help with anything you need. Good week of boarding and some great nights in the bar. Will definitely stay here when we return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Address: Carreterra General, Soldeu, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a two star chalet hotel in walking distance to the ski slopes ofSoldeu, Andorra. We pride ourselves on a warm and friendly familly run hotel, giving you the best value stay in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.